We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, room and people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Creel Lodge Motel

Save Saved
You added Creel Lodge Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Creel Lodge Motel
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   183 Taupahi Road | Waikato, Turangi 3444, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Located along the river!
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Turangi
Washougal, Washington
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great location, room and people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights and used the BBQ both evenings getting a break from restaurant fare. I managed to get a couple hours fishing on the Togariro River each night, as well. It was just a short walk out the back gate. Having a flyfishing shop on property is a nice bonus for any fisherman.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    31
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
33
88
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

What a beautiful place. Are not fishermen, but we loved the setting and the walk by the river was just beautiful. The apartment was fully equipped and had everything you would need. The people were very nice and helpful and we really enjoyed our nights there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

At check in, the hostess made no attempt at conversation, which led to awkward silence. She showed us to our room, told me that we could walk to the river ,said "Check out is at 10", turned on her heels and walked out. My husband had just parked the car and was walking in as she walked out. Just not very friendly. The grounds are beautiful and there are many birds. The room was sufficient. Only a small love seat for lounging on. I agree with another poster who commented about the excessive posting of the rules. A fee for cooking food in your room, if deemed too odorous. A threat of a fee if you don't leave the kitchen exactly as you found it. Reminders to scrub your pans. Plus, a warning about internet use, with the mention that your browsing history could be reviewed. Really? We stayed one night only. We stayed in room 7 which has a very small space for parking. I had to get out, so my husband could pull in close enough to the bushes that other cars could pass. Also, this is one of the few units that is the middle of 3, so you have shared walls on both sides. Most other units are duplex style, with only one shared wall.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

I stayed here about 15 years ago and decided to come back to do a spot of fishing again this trip.
The place this time looks better than I remembered.
The cottages are well cared for, with all the amenities you could want for a few days. The gardens and grounds are well manicured, creating an oasis to sit, chat and sip a drink or two.
At the bottom of the garden is the Tongariro River. A stroll along the river and local streets is a pleasure.
Hosts are extremely keen about their property and happy and helpful.

Room Tip: Don't think it matters which room you get. All are amidst the greenery and well cared for
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

2 night stay in this relaxing and fantastic lodge with beautiful gardens and a private access to the tongariro river. The hosts are very nice people and willing to help at anytime! They recycle, you can do your laundry :), BBQ, free wi-fi and they give you the newspaper daily. If you plan to do the tongariro alpine crossing is the best place to stay with pick up and drop off directly booked from the hotel. Their expertise is in trout fishing! Next time we will go for it for sure!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holladay, Utah
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

What a delight! We were there for five nights whilst fishing in the area. The rooms were comfortable and quaint, the setting is superb, the hosts are amazingly knowledgeable and birds (wake up calls) were splendid. The river is a short walk away and it is just a relaxing experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is not a bad place to stay in Turangi at a reasonable price (we paid $145 a night for the executive suite). It’s set within walking distance of the river, and the gardens are very pretty (you get a fair amount of bird songs). Sitting out the front of the unit to enjoy the gardens was one option, although we were right next to the BBQ area, and you may be sharing the area with other guests. In fact, the BBQ area and walkway for the neighbouring unit look right into out lounge area and bedroom entrance).

Our host was pretty friendly…although there was a lot of double checking about us two guys sharing a room with a King bed…. but it wasn’t a drama. She gave lots of recommendations of where to eat and things to do while in town. We also got free dvd hire from Civic video which was very handy.

The bed was incredibly comfortably, the best we had on our trip. The kitchenette met our needs, bowls/plates, wine/drinking glasses. The shower was ok, but the shower-head was too low for me to use comfortably.

I guess one thing that turned me off a bit was all of the rules and extra costs that could be incurred during our stay. For example, smelly rooms (from cooking/smoking) may incur a 1 night accommodation fee, failing to wash up dishes may incur a $15 washing fee, additional room service (eg: changing sheets) incurs a fee, no parties allowed, first 200MB of data free then it’s $5 per additional 200Mb, laundry facilities are $9 ($4 a wash, $4 to dry, $1 for washing powder). Also, I’m all for the helping the environment, but these guys are a little too serious. We went out for the day and came back with milk and other groceries which we put in the fridge. After an hour or two I went to get something out of the fridge and noticed it wasn’t very cold. That’s because house-keeping had turned the fridge off when they serviced the room – but we didn’t know. Luckily we noticed before anything went off.

So again, a reasonable place to stay, but if I was in town again, I might try a different option.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Creel Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creel Lodge Motel

Address: 183 Taupahi Road | Waikato, Turangi 3444, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Turangi
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Turangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Creel Lodge Motel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Creel Lodge - Peaceful and quiet away from the main highway, private river access. Tired of travelling? Then visit this oasis on the central plateau, 15 minutes from the Tongariro Crossing. Inspection welcomed. Have a safe journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Creel Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creel Hotel Turangi
Creel Motel Turangi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Creel Lodge Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.