We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably Good - Average prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Valentinos Italian Restaurant

Valentinos Italian Restaurant
Town Centre, Turangi 2751, New Zealand
(07) 386 8821
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 15 Restaurants in Turangi
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Reasonably Good - Average prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

This restaurant is reasonable value if you are a visitor in the area. There are better and more expensive restaurants in the area but they are not always easy to find, and depending on your taste may not be worth the extra $.

The Valentino's menu had good variety, and our group ordered a range of the available dishes. The quality for the pasta and meat dishes was better than we expected (our expectations were not high - as the entrance and decor is a bit tired).

Service was good, except the front desk / manageress a couple of times seemed to think she was a teacher addressing young children - rather than her restaurant customers - which one of our group thought was poor.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    4
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oamaru, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Dessert and wine stop in the Turangi mall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Nice service, good range of authentic Italian dishes, cosy atmosphere and family friendly. The wine selection was fair and midwinter opening hours very suitable.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Italian surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

From the street it looks like you could be climbing the stairs to meet with an accountant. Once you've entered, nothing could be further from the reality of what meets you.

The food is just amazing. Perhaps Italian cuisine is better in Italy. If that's true, then Valentinos in Turangi is still outstandingly good. Front of house service is friendly and helpful.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Home-made fast food for exorbitant prices”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

No Italian would like to eat here! Even I as a german without much gourmet cuisine experience can tell that. My girlfriend and me went there today. We got Spaghetti Carbonara and the Pollo di Marsala. The first one were a small portion of simple spaghetti from the discounter with undefinable sauce and bacon that had never seen a pan to a price of 23 bugs. The second one were two pieces of deep-fried discounter chicken fresh out of the microwave and french fries (both surely from the discounter, too) for 27 kiwi-dollar. Toilets were dirty, but we got the clue where to search for the ingredients for this cheap and delicious meal: A New-World discounter bag dressed the garbage can in the toilets for each gender.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Completely unexpected experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011 via mobile

We showed up late as they were the only restaurant open. We didn't have decent expectations going into the meal and ended up being blown away. The carbonara as an entree would have been beautiful as a main and the lamb and chicken Marsala mains were out of this world. The portions were perfect as we didn't leave hungry and the service was amazing. It was a holiday and the staff could have rushed us through the meal but they took their time and made sure we were looked after. Everything came together for an unforgettable experience. Valentino's should definitely not be missed.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valentinos Italian Restaurant also viewed

Turangi, Waikato Region
 

Been to Valentinos Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valentinos Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.