We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most hospitable and pleasant fishing base in Turangi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River Birches Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added River Birches Lodge to your Saves list
River Birches Lodge
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   19 Koura Street | Taupo District, Turangi 2751, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Turangi B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Most hospitable and pleasant fishing base in Turangi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Just spent a week here. Great food, great location, great people, great hospitality. Nowhere else could come close. Where else does the hostess produce a bottle of Rockford Basket Press to accompany two types of roast lamb on your last night? Unbelievable!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    6
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
54
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The weather was perfect, the river sang all day, the Lodge and the Cottage both provided excellent accomodation for the wedding; and the outdoor setting of a raised deck in a walled garden flanked by the Lodge was truly wonderful. Great to set the tables outside under all the umbellas to keep us in the shade, flowers in the frame, and the bride and groom just so attractive! You don't need to be a fisherman to stay here. Everyone will find friendliness, peace and comfort.

Room Tip: Depends whether you want the works- for newly weds - Lodge ensuite off living room. Share with fami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Excellent Accommodation and the air was so fresh coming from Auckland I really noticed it.
The highlight for me apart from attending my Sister's wedding which was an experience in itself, is the location of the river. I got some wonderful pictures which will remain a treasure to me till my dying day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Anthea and Bill made us feel welcome and looked after us. So much great food, luckily there's plenty of bush walking and mountain biking close by, so I could come back the next day and eat more great food not feeling too guilty!
The hosts have lived in the area for a long time, and are a great source of information and stories.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Our time at River Birches was amazing, such a beautiful place to stay with a gorgeous garden and even nice interior! We enjoyed the bath with candles each night, woke up to breakfast waiting on the table and the lovely Anthea waiting to cook us a cooked breakfast and the same at dinner! I was blown away by Antheas cooking and her hospitality she made us feel so at home. Highly recommend River Birches! Such a stunning place! Thank you Anthea!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The River Birches is an absolutely lovely cottage. We rented it in October with dreams of doing the Tongariro crossing. While the weather is fickle in New Zealand, the River Birches is an absolutely place full of comforts. The grounds are absolutely stunning and the owner was excellent to make recommendations on things to do in the area as well as the best places for food. We did stay in and cook one night at the cottage has its own lovely kitchen and barbecue. The cottage is approx 30 minute drive from Tongariro National Park and is a great place to stay to start your activities.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Staying at River Birches was the absolute highlight of our honeymoon!!! I cannot speak highly enough of the place! It is situated in the most idyllic place in the world - Turangi. We enjoyed hiking along the river, and just relaxing in the gardens, or in our room (although we didn't stay inside much, there was so much to see and do). It was one word - perfect. We stayed for 4 nights during our journey from Wellington to the Bay of Islands, in November 2011, and can honestly say it was our favourite location. The service we received was also impeccable.

First, we were upgraded to the best room in the house, which was a lovely surprise. It was just beautiful! The room was tidy, comfortable and welcoming. The bathroom was amazing, even with heated floors! and provided access to a private, outdoors hot tub! We were never cold, and always had our privacy when we needed it.

Our host, Anthea treated us to some AMAZING cooking, and shared the local knowledge of places to visit, and what to expect. She told us about the best tourist spots, recommended places that were not 'touristy' as such - but well worth a visit. She also shared her knowledge of where to dine in the local area, and always catered to my dietry needs, even alerting the restaurants for me so that I could be guaranteed something to eat! (Being allergic to the things I am, can prove tricky when eating out).

River Birches is located close enough to tourist locations that travel is never a challenge, and far enough away to feel exlusive.

Thank you River Birches! We hope to visit again soon!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River Birches Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Birches Lodge

Address: 19 Koura Street | Taupo District, Turangi 2751, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Turangi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Turangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — River Birches Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located for the Tongariro crossing, fishing, and skiing getaways. River Birches is an Exclusive retreat alongside the Tongariro River. Listed in Travel & Leisure magazine’s Best of 2007. It features luxury accommodation equipped with Wi-Fi, fitness room and onsite chef. Qualmark: Five Star rated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your River Birches Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Birches Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.