We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Founders At Turangi

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Turangi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Founders At Turangi
253 Taupahi Road, Turangi, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Turangi B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“A Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Our stay at Founders was absolutely magic. A great choice and location for those doing the Tongariro crossing, or those not. Chris and Peter are exceptional hosts, we loved getting to know them a bit and so appreciated their tips and advice for taking advantage of the Turangi and Taupo regions. The beds and the breakfast are exceptional, the area tidy, and the atmosphere cozy- making for a well-rounded B&B. The small Kiwi touches like the bedside Whittakers chocolate and Manuka honey toiletries also added some true New Zealand charm to the experience!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pukekocentralNI, Owner at Founders At Turangi, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thanks Jen !
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us !
We enjoyed meeting you both and hope you can visit again in the future !
Kia Ora ,
Peter and Chris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    0
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
27
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Inkpen, null, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Chris and Peter were excellent hosts, with nothing too much trouble. They made us feel so welcome and allowed us to use the house as our own. The whole property was well thought out and spotless. Chris even got up extra early to give us breakfast so we were stocked for our day's Trek up the mountain. We were also encouraged to use their mountain bikes for a fantastic ride along the river.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pukekocentralNI, Owner at Founders At Turangi, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review for us.
So glad you enjoyed your stay here at Founders@Turangi !
We are pleased you took the opportunity to ride on the newly completed Tongariro River Trail. We are all very proud if it and love to share it with our visitors.
Kia Ora and Thank You .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

On our Trip south we discovered Founders - so when we headed north we had to stay again.
Chris and Peter are great hosts and run a charming B&B. Each room is extremely well appointed, sparkling clean and the most comfortable beds. Breakfast is too good.... but I have exercised that off nearly!
Founders would be the best accommodation for the Tongariro Crossing and a wonderful stop off on the Wellington to Auckland journey - being exactly mid way on the 8 hours drive.
Turangi is lovely too without the hype that is Taupo and a magic place for a spot of Trout Fishing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pukekocentralNI, Owner at Founders At Turangi, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Hello to you two !!
Thank you ! Your review is great and well appreciated knowing your background and the very special BnB you had in Christchurch and your own high standard and style !
Hope you can pop in again when passing this way !!
Special thanks,
Peter and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed two nights and the place is wonderful. It is on the edge of town and you have a pleasant view of the countryside from the entrance. The bedroom was not large but fine. The furnishings and fitting of the whole place are very good and tasteful. There are two very comfortable lounges with good WiFi. The hosts are great and very helpful. One of the best breakfasts of our month in NZ. Turangi itself has a rather limited choice of restaurants but is convenient for the mountains. The walk beside the river is pleasant and is close to the house.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pukekocentralNI, Owner at Founders At Turangi, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you for posting a review. Good to hear that you both enjoyed your stay !
Thank you and Kia Ora.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Chris and Peter run the perfect B&B. It is spotless with everything in its place. We were given the run of the house and made to feel totally at home. Our 4 days there just flew by.

We were able to use their mountain bikes and enjoy their lovely garden.

The room was well appointed and comfortable. The location in a quiet street off the beaten tracks meant there was no noise to disturb us yet we were close to everything we wanted to do.

We would definitely stay here again if the opportunity arises.

Thanks Chris and Peter for a very relaxing 4 days.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pukekocentralNI, Owner at Founders At Turangi, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you both for your great review !
Hope the Kapa Haka Nationals more than met your expectations !
Kia Ora and Thank You .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester-by-the-Sea, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed in Founders at Turangi for one night in the bloom of spring. Chris and Peter were extremely accommodating. My wife and I were celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary with a 6-week adventure -- 4 weeks in eastern Australia and 2 weeks in New Zealand. So, we certainly had our share of overnight accommodations with which to compare. Founders was at the top of the list for excellence along with a couple of other places. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The breakfast was over-the-top wonderful with Chris as chief chef. I am a retired wildlife biologist and very interested in birds. At this point in our trip, I was looking for the rare and endangered Blue Duck (Whio). Chris and Peter knew where to find it -- at least they were able to tell me where they had last seen the bird on the nearby Tongariro River. They were extremely helpful and drew a map showing me where to go. Unfortunately, no luck. However, their willingness to help me find the bird was so very much appreciated. Guess we will simply have to return one day to take up the search once again! Certainly, we would stay with Chris and Peter at their "Founders at Turangi" -- we could not recommend it more highly or more enthusiastically!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pukekocentralNI, Owner at Founders At Turangi, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Hello David and Kitty,
We enjoyed your visit very much and still talk about you and the Whio Whio, David.
Sorry that they proved elusive but that is one of their characteristics !!
We heard last night that 200 chicks hatched last year in the Tongariro catchment area, so well done to the adult pairs!!
A friend bought us a 'soft toy' whio with it's unusual call so we always have one here !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in Founders early October and had the place to ourselves as it was low season. The house was beautiful - the room was spacious, clean and extremely comfortable, with a beautiful lounge, sitting area and kitchen available for us to use. Chris and Peter really made us feel like as if we are at home, they are like our friends!! They provided us with excellent recommendation on restaurants, helped us to arrange the tour to Tongariro Alpine Crossing (which was excellent too) and really looked after us (I had a bad toothache during our stay and Chris really took care of me and even tried to look for emergency dentist! I'm fine now :-)) O and Chris's cookies and breakfast are excellent - best cookies I've ever had so far! Thank you so much for your hospitality and take care!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pukekocentralNI, Owner at Founders At Turangi, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you to both of you for such a lovely review.
Glad you got good help for the dental problem and good to hear the cookies went down well !!
Yours, Peter and Chris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Founders At Turangi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Founders At Turangi

Address: 253 Taupahi Road, Turangi, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Turangi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Turangi
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the beautiful Tongariro River and the Tongariro Alpine Crossing we offer you a warm welcome to our home on the magic Volcanic Central Plateau of the North Island of New Zealand. (Aotearoa--the land of the Long White Cloud).The volcanoes of Tongariro National Park and World Heritage Park and the caldera, Lake Taupo , our largest lake ( the size of Singapore) are part of an amazing landscape with variety of colour,activity, foliage and wild life and bird life including the endangered blue duck the Whio, which is increasing in numbers on the rivers.We are always happy to answer your questions and tell you about places to visit that you may not hear about otherwise.As well as all the walks in the Nat Park we have mountain bikes and helmets you are welcome to use to explore the cycle trails and of course trout fishing is an added bonus!! So much to see and do we hope you can come by and spend some time with us!Peter and Chris ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Founders At Turangi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Founders At Turangi to your Saves list