We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Anglers Paradise Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Anglers Paradise Motel to your Saves list
Anglers Paradise Motel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   57 Raukura St | 3334, Turangi 2751, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Turangi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Bad experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

A very disappointing stay it was. My boyfriend and I started our vacation here. When we booked our room, we got the dates mixed up so instead of booking for 1 night only, we booked for 2. 5 minutes later when we realized this, we called the motel (nobody picked up so we left a voicemail) and also sent an email to let them know about the mistake. When we arrived, we spoke to Lyn the host that we might not be able to stay the extra night, and she told us if we let her know the morning after, then it'll be fine. After we entered our room, we were sure that we don't want to stay for another day. The room was very basic, the carpet, the bathroom, and everything else seem to have not been renovated since 1980s. We were greeted by a huge cockroach crawling on the old old TV that terrified me. The room was freezing cold and overall we couldn't wait to get out of there.
The next morning (at 9 o clock) we packed everything and went to checkout but we were informed that it's too "late" (even though the checkout time is at 10 and Lyn told us as long as we tell her we want to leave in the morning there would be no problem). Rob (the husband) told us that we've already paid for 2 nights and since we paid through AA, he can't give us our money back as he hasn't received it yet.Being someone who travels all the time for business, this excuse was beyond meaningless. AA would have eventually given their money for the two nights, so he could have easily give us our money back, OR he could have offered to refund our money when he does receive the money from AA. As I said before I travel a lot, and sometimes we overbook and pay for extra nights, but if we leave sooner, they always pay the money back even if it has been booked through agencies. The motel was literally empty, there were so many rooms available that they couldn't even claim that because of our booking they lost other possible guests.
In any case, it was a very disappointing experience and I hope they treat their future guests better.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robwilliams1, Manager at Anglers Paradise Motel, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Bad Experience, Shahrzad Parandeh,
We do remember this couple who stayed with us six weeks ago, as they were a “no show” for the first night of their reservation but did arrive for the second night.
We believed at the time that they had accepted that the first nights reservation was not refundable; they would have to “wear it” were the words that they used. We also spent some considerable time talking to them during the time they were with us, regarding activities to do, (fishing was discussed) and no mention of problems with the unit was made during their stay so we are surprised to receive this very negative report. We do apologize for any problems with the unit, but do ask that guests let us know if there is a problem so that we can put it right if possible.
With regard to the message left on the phone, Lyn believes she may have deleted a very garbled message which she could not understand, at or about that time, which could have been the voice message they left. There was no message that we could have replied to.
An email from their I Phone received at 2.05pm on the 22nd April, 24 hours after their expected arrival time, and also after they had arrived, was a copy of the reservation they made through AA Travel for the nights of the 21st and 22nd April. This was the only email we received from them.
Having realized that they made a mistake with the reservation “5 minutes later” after making the reservation at 1.07pm on the 21st I would have expected them to have made a more positive attempt to correct their mistake…. either by contacting AA Travel with whom they made the reservation, or to speak with us directly. A voice message which could not be understood or replied to was not effective and it was 24 hours or more after their expected arrival time, 2pm on the 21st April, before we were aware of their mistake although we were aware that they were a “no show”.
Although we did not feel obliged to do so, we did offer them a 3rd night free of charge and they were to let us know the following morning if they wanted to stay. They decided not to stay which was understandable as they probably did have a reservation elsewhere.
We are disappointed that they felt that they needed to respond in such a negative manner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    27
    9
    6
    1
See reviews for
16
43
2
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

My little family of 4 were happily surprised to see that I had actually been here 14 years earlier as a teenager with friends and well, it was lovely then so much so we stayed for an extra night. The pool had a gate erected and pergola over the spa bath since and was just absolutely LOVELY! Hubby and I along with the children took advantage of the spa bath, a balmy 40 degrees mmmm .... Our room #9 had all the staples of a room, 2 bedrooms able to sleep 5 comfortably, good heating, clean cooking facilities, shower and loo facilities, electric blankees (essential for cold places like this durng winter especially!!). Good value and place to stay, very family friendly. Stock up on food from the super market and bunker down if you prefer. Theres a Bk and a lovely cafe "Thyme For Food" that was just delicious and cute.. Id defo g back if I need to stay in Turangi x

Room Tip: The rooms on the office side (rooms 1-4,5,6 ) of the motel is the closet to the pool gate if you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robwilliams1, Manager at Anglers Paradise Motel, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Quiet and cosy,
Thankyou for your very kind review of your stay at Anglers Paradise Motel and memories from the past, your effort on our behalf is much appreciated and we would love to have your family stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Lyn and Rob wonderful hosts of Anglers, nothing was to much or to difficult even when they were flat out attending to other guests and their needs,, Good homely atmoshere , has everything for the family, hiker to the angler , plenty of advice for interesting trips and experiences to suit all. They organised transport to and from the motel for us to undertake theTongorio crossing ensuring that we had no hassls to contend with. Thank you Lyn and Rob for a wonderful experience whiole staying with you recently.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robwilliams1, Manager at Anglers Paradise Motel, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for your kind review, you are always most welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avignon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

With clean rooms superbly equipped with all one would need to spenda night or two, we strongly recommend this hotel. The owners were all super friendly and willing to offer their help. Only one note, avoid making any reservations with Turangi Alpine Crossing through the Hotel, as the agency service was abonimable, arriving one hour late and picking up people on the road!! It was not the receptionist's fault though!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robwilliams1, Manager at Anglers Paradise Motel, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you very much for your recommendation of Anglers Paradise Motel. We do like to talk with our guests and assist them where we can.
Regarding the late pick up by Turangi Alpine Shuttle, at the time we received this review I queried them about this and found that the bus had been delayed for some time at the site of a road accident and all subsequent pickups had been late that afternoon. The driver said he had informed passengers of the reason for the delayed pickup but obviously not all. We apologize for the inconvenience to you and to Turangi Alpine Shuttle for the delay in responding to this review. They go to considerable effort to give good service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We stayed at Anglers Paradise for two nights in February this year and had a lovely stay. The hotel is just off the main road through Turangi and set in beautifully kept grounds. Our room was very spacious and spotlessly clean. The kitchen was well set-up with a good range of utensils and complimentary tea, coffee and milk.
The hotel has a couple of BBQ's which you can wheel over to your room and use at no extra charge on the basis that you clean them when you're done. We were very impressed with this and had a lovely BBQ and sat outside our room in the garden to eat dinner.
There is a pool though unfortunately we didn't have time to use this, laundry facilities, wifi and a restaurant on site.

The owners were very friendly and really made us feel welcome, would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: I'm not sure if all rooms back onto gardens but worth asking for one that does.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robwilliams1, Manager at Anglers Paradise Motel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at our motel and for the time you took to write your very positive review, it is much appreciated.Regarding your question, all units other than 10 open to the garden and pool area and 10 which is upstairs has views over the garden and pool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majorca, Spain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

if you are fisherman,this motel will be good choice.We are not,but our stay was ok,room was clean but with older look.Internet was not there for 24hours and wifi was realy bad for important conection,but if you looking for only one/two night should be good.Average hotel

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robwilliams1, Manager at Anglers Paradise Motel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thanks for staying with us and writing a review.I am sorry that our wi-fi did not perform well for you. We have been having problems with the internet connection and are in the process of changing providers with the aim of solving this problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

We chose this place as our base for New Year with some friends, who had rented a house, but we wanted to have a place of our own. The motel has all the necessities, including a pool and spa. The kitchen has all the things you need and the bed is ok. There is a heater in the room as well. The only problem we found was that the bathroom floor kept flooding. We did let the owners know, who came in but did not seem to know where the problem came from. We were not offered to be moved into another room. In fact we had to ask for towels ourselves, to keep the soaking the water off the floor. This was quite inconvenient and I do wish we were offered another room to move into. The spa is a nice idea for the evening relaxation, its under a little roof, so even though it was raining all the time we were there, we still enjoyed the experience - though the actual "bubbles" in the spa did not seem to work. All in all a cosy place in a small town.

Room Tip: We had the studio and it was spacious, nice outlook to the garden and pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robwilliams1, Manager at Anglers Paradise Motel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for for finding the positive dispite a wet time both outside and in it would seem.The leak was found to come from the toilet cystern which was leaking intermitently, strange,but eventualy the leak was located, and fixed, mystery water problem solved.Our normal proceedure in that situation is to offer another unit and I aplolgise if that was not offered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Anglers Paradise Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anglers Paradise Motel

Address: 57 Raukura St | 3334, Turangi 2751, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Turangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Anglers Paradise Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded in two acres of trees and garden, set around a swimming pool, spa and children’s play area, with plenty of room to relax after a busy day, our other on-site facilities include FREE Wi-Fi, free gas BBQ's, guests laundry and drying lockers. Continental and cooked breakfast can be delivered to units and we also have Anglers licensed restaurant serving dinner and breakfast (reservations necessary). Also, we can arrange various activities for you in the area, such as trout fishing guides for lake and river fishing (no experience needed and all equipment provided), rafting, kayaking, skiing and transport to and from the Tongariro National Park, Tongariro Alpine Crossing, Ruapehu Ski Fields,Scenic flights over the volcanoes and other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Anglers Paradise Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anglers Paradise Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anglers Paradise Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.