We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turangi Bridge Bar & Restaurant

Turangi Bridge Bar & Restaurant
4600 State Highway 1, Turangi 3334, New Zealand
+64 7-386 8804
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 15 Restaurants in Turangi
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner
Description: The Turangi Bridge Bar and Restaurant offers a stylish and welcoming atmosphere for sampling mouth-watering New Zealand cuisine. A Turangi icon since 1931, our restaurant has a genuine history and ambience unlike anywhere else. The large open fire makes it the perfect spot for a cosy, lodge-style winter dinner. Or in summer, you can sit on the deck to enjoy a glass of wine and a view of the Tongariro river and New Zealand landscape. The restaurant is also available for hire as your New Zealand wedding venue, conference venue or function room. We can cater to groups of different sizes with our buffet or a la carte options - please talk to us about what you need and we'll make sure you and your guests have a memorable evening. Please take a look at our seasonal menu - we have something to suit everyone's needs or budget.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

My husband and I visited this restaurant based on the reviews we read on tripadvisor and were glad we visited. I ordered the pasta of the day and hubby had the steak sandwich, both were delicious but the highlight was definitely dessert so we were glad we skipped the entrees to make room for it! The kahlua cheeseake was to die for and so was the chocolate tart. One of the best desserts I've ever tried. Big portion sizes and absolutley divine. The service was great as well and the restaurant had a lovely chateau style decor right next to the river which we felt would make an excellent wedding or function venue. I can imagine it would be a lovely place to go in winter with the fire going as well. We really enjoyed our meals and would definitely visit again!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    19
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Arrived just after 19:00, got a table by the skin of our teeth, because they had a large party in.
Ordered fish & chips (first of our holiday). Despite the large party the service was very good, and the food arrived promptly.
Fish & chips was up to expectations.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tolaga Bay, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Tasty Seasonal Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

On a cold August night we enjoyed our evening with a log fire burning in the bar and tasty food at an affordable price.
We shared a Calamari entrée which was simply cooked but tender and tasty and served on a fresh salad.Our mains of lamb Rack and Lamb Shank were cooked to perfection and just right at this time of year. Both meals were served with fresh, seasonal and perfectly cooked vegetables.
We would definitely return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A real find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I was surprised by this restaurant in all the right ways: while the restaurant’s appearance is pleasant but unassuming, the food is remarkably good.

The menu (http://www.turangibridgemotel.co.nz/menu/) had many enticing offerings. On the first night, I hadcarrot and ginger soup as an entree. It was delicious, with flavours that were present but not overpowering. At $8.00 for a bowl, this was an exceptional deal. For my main, I ordered one of the specials – the scotch fillet – which also was very nicely prepared and presented.

Our experience made it easy to return the second night. This time I opted for the pasta of the day, a homemade meat ravioli with mild chilli flavours. Again, this was excellent. I chose the chocolate brownie for dessert. This was served warm, and came with a small jug full of chocolate sauce, Chantilly cream and ice cream. Perfect for chocolate-lovers, like me.

Portions are generous, and thankfully there is no compromise on quality. Further options for vegetarians might be useful, but this is merely an observation. Overall, the menu is excels in its simplicity – the restaurant has picked a few dishes, and does them well.

I should also note that hosts Kent and Lyn clearly realise that hospitality is more than providing food and lodging... so do yourself a favour and stay a night or two. There's heaps to do!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“A very satisfied stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed at the Bridge Motel for only one night having to go to Turangi at short notice. At it turned out we were the only guests for the night, and the owners made us feel extremely welcome and were very supportive in meeting our needs. We booked on line without any problems. The room whilst compact meet our needs, was very warm and clean.
The lounge was warm and inviting and we spent a reasonable period around the fire. We stayed for the meal which tasted absolutely great but unfortunately caused some to concern to both of us during the night. It was the only blemish on an otherwise enjoyable stay. We would definitely stay again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turangi Bridge Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Turangi, Waikato Region
 
Turangi, Waikato Region
 

Been to Turangi Bridge Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turangi Bridge Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.