We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food in superb setting.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeland House Restuarant

Lakeland House Restuarant
88 Waihi Road | Little Waihi, Tokaanu, Turangi, New Zealand
07-386 6442
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 15 Restaurants in Turangi
Cuisines: Pacific Rim
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Turangi
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food in superb setting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This restaurant is a real gem and a must do if you're in the Turangi area. Great chef who prepares outstanding meals. Setting on lake front is unique and special.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    34
    9
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
St Arnaud, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A MUST-DO DINING EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I have already reviewed this restaurant which I visited in May 2013, and liked it so much I put it on my itinerary for May 2014, and I was not disappointed. I took a guest for dinner this time. The service was faultless and the meal came quickly. I had a small seafood chowder and my friend had the large dish, and I can honestly say it was the best I tried in New Zealand. My friend only had room for dessert, which was raspberry and pistachio cheesecake, which she pronounced delicious, while I had rack of lamb with tamarillo sauce - absolutely superb. I really love this place and would put it on my must-do list for any future trips to N.Z.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Nice food, but weak service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We dined in two "top" restaurants in the Turangi area, this was one of them. Nice "open" seating, this restaurant is right on the shores of little Waihi and would be awesome on a summer's evening!
The meal we had was nice. My husband had the smoked salmon salad and I had the lamb rack which was cooked to absolute perfection!!
On the downside, the service was rather weak. Weak in that the waitstaff were quite soft in their approach, and spasmodic in attendance. On arrival, we were given a pitcher of water but this was not poured out for us!? (have never had this happen at a restaurant before...).
Would like to see a bit more "engagement" from the waitstaff, but maybe this will come with experience because they were all very young.
Would come again though...

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Tasty food and peaceful setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

The food was lovely although we weren't able to enjoy the views given it was dark and raining.

The service however was extremely slow and we had to call wait staff over several times to clear plates, take dessert orders, drinks etc. This is despite there only being two other tables occupied in the restaurant. Improve the service and this restaurant would be a winner.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“As good as the recommendation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We were looking for a place for lunch and as one friend previously recommended this place, we looked for it.It is in a beautiful idyllic setting by the lake.The food is great and generous portion.We loved the cherry crumble with ice cream for shared dessert.Service was fast and efficient.We are pleased to let others know of this place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lakeland House Restuarant also viewed

Turangi, Waikato Region
 
Turangi, Waikato Region
 

Been to Lakeland House Restuarant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeland House Restuarant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.