We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River Restaurant and Vineyard

River Restaurant and Vineyard
2/134 Old Mill Lane | Grace Road, Turangi, Taupo 3382, Turangi, New Zealand
07 3866 704
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Turangi
Cuisines: Diner, Pizza, Contemporary, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: River Restaurant & Vineyard is a boutique family-owned Vineyard and Restaurant situated in a unique location of exceptional natural beauty on the edge of New Zealand’s oldest National Park and World Heritage area the Tongariro National Park. The Tongariro National Park is recognized for it’s important Maori cultural association’s as well as its outstanding Volcanic features. Tongariro is one of only a handful of sites worldwide to be given dual World Heritage status. Situated a short walk to the Tongariro River and some of the best fly-fishing in New Zealand if not the world makes Tongariro River Estate unique, indeed the much loved River Wine Pinot Noir and Pinot Gris grapes are grown on the stony flats of the old Tongariro river bed and capture the essence of this truly beautiful area.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Surprising find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Considering the population of Turangi and surrounding area we were surprised to find a restaurant of the quality offered during two visits to Rivers. The menu offerings are original and the presentation excellent. This is topped off with the delicious taste. We tried the vineyards Pinot Noir and enjoyed it very much, particularly with the venison dish. The second visit was for lunch and while the menu was somewhat less interesting there was a reasonable selection.

There are three reasons why I am only giving Rivers a 'very good' rating:

1. Service was VERY slow during both visits and this appears to correlate directly with a lack if staff. During both visits we saw two in the kitchen and a pleasant young lady with more jobs to do than any single person should take on at a restaurant of this quality. Among her many assignments we observed were reservationist, hostess, waitress, bus girl, bar tender, cashier AND in between she spent time in the kitchen where we could see she was assisting in the meal prep!
2. The fettuccine dish was served with far too much oil and lacked in character and taste.
3. While the menu is not extensive we were surprised to find that two different items were unavailable at both the dinner and lunch. Maybe with all of the tasks the young lady has been assigned there simply is not time to manage inventory as well!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    25
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Taupo, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

My husband and I celebrated our 31st wedding anniversary and booked dinner here due to the reviews posted on Tripadvisor. It was a very memorable occasion indeed. We had an appetiser, entrée, two mains and two desserts with wine. Could not fault anything at all. Anthony made our day extra special and I cannot thank him enough for the care and attention he gave us. We drove one hour to the restaurant from Taupo and will do so again in future. Well done to the chef too!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“nice food and slow speed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

we celebrate our New Year there.

we arrive late for the long time check-in in our motel, the restaurant called my motel and confirm to reserve the biggest 9-seat-table for us.

the vineyard with white roses is really nice in the sun set.

the Mussles with Galic are really delicious.

the big chess plate give the children a lot of fun.

the service will not be so fast,maybe because they are family owned, not so many cooker.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Dining Out in Turangi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Lovely selection, all top quality and proportions were good. Dessert menu was fantastic and yummy. Only negative is that it is a bit pricey. However, based on other restaurants in Turangi, the extra few dollars is worth it. Blankets available if you sit outside.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Deserving of its rating as no 1”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

We turned off the highway on our way to Taupo to check out Tongariro River Estate - River Vineyard and restaurant. When we arrived there was a Hen's Party on the deck but we were welcomed in anyway. I knew about this place due to the vouchers they offer occasionally on one of those daily deal websites but I have not bought them due to the elimited time to use them. We chose the Estates 2011 red by recommendation of the friendly and knowledgeable waitress. Now for the food I ordered the homemade spring rolls which were lovely. My father commented that even the microgreens were tasty. Herbs etc were being picked from the garden as required for each order just out the window from us. Next was the steak with its herd and parmesan crust topping. It came with yummy fondant potatoes, beans and brocolli.
A beautiful meal in a nice setting.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Restaurant and Vineyard also viewed

Turangi, Waikato Region
 
Turangi, Waikato Region
 

Been to River Restaurant and Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Restaurant and Vineyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.