We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, friendly vibe!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Judges Pool Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Judges Pool Motel to your Saves list
Judges Pool Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   92 Taupahi Road, Turangi 3334, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
OFFICIAL SITE BEST DEAL
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Turangi
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great value, friendly vibe!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The owner greeted us warmly upon arrival and was very helpful and welcoming. The unit we got was cosy but spacious and had a separate bedroom. The bed was very comfy, the kitchen was well equipped and everything was clean and well kept. We loved the beautiful surroundings, it was so peaceful and close to the surrounding nature while at the same time just a short drive (or walk) to the supermarket, petrol station etc. Guests can borrow dvd's from the reception and the owners are happy to help out with tips and useful information about things to see and do in the area. Unfortunately our tv didn't receive a signal, but I'm sure the staff would've helped us had we asked them. We didn't have time to watch tv anyway during our busy two night stay. They provide free wifi, and it worked very well. Would stay again for sure next time we visit Turangi!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    24
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
31
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Hosts were friendly and accommodated our need for an early checkout. Limited wi-fi (100mb per person). Dated furniture/decor. Shower floor was a drain in the bathroom floor. Parking was cramped, glad we had a small car. Not located on the main road, found it by accident as smartphones didn’t have service here. Know where you are going. Cinder block walls. Decent location to Tongariro Crossing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judgespoolmotel, Owner at Judges Pool Motel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Point 1. We have unlimited wi-fi access free.
Point 2. We have just refurnished our motel units, so not sure why you are saying it is dated?
Point 3. In the 10 years we have owned the motel we have never had anyone comment on the car space, not sure what your problem was.
Point 4. The showers in some of our units are walk-in which some people prefer, not a drain in the floor.
Point 5. The walls are very soundproof which people really like.
Point 5. We find people like this place BECAUSE we are off the main highway.

We are disappointed you gave so many negative reviews when nobody else has.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Waikato NZ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Top quality & exceptional value. Exemplary service - Yes!! Chris & Jill are Super Hosts / Owner Operators. Nothing was too much trouble. Luv'd all the quirky plaques about the complex & adored the cats. As for our motel units (stayed on the way South and again on the way back home) - once again faultless. Spotlessly clean, very spacious, extremely comfortable beds & couch, great bathrooms, lots of extras such as 50+ Sky select channels which is becoming rear in motels; a lovely deck at the back; carport; lovely undercover bbq area, good security lighting. Great place for our next time-out trip away & many more stays in the future. Thanks folks, you both made us feel very welcome. :):) We'll be back before Xmas - lol!!

Room Tip: All units / rooms are awesome. Some have wet-area showers which is a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judgespoolmotel, Owner at Judges Pool Motel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will visit us again in the future and then try our free range eggs from our backyard chooks!!!
Chris and Jill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I had booked 1 night here but unfortunately I became here while staying and had to extend my hosts were great and not only very helpful and understanding but very caring, they are perfect for this business and are great hosts and people. I will tell all that I see that this is the pace to stay, the room was very clean and self contained with everything that anyone would need in the unit including a selection of over 50 channels as well as dvd player. The bed was comfortable and the room warm what more could you ask for its a great spot for taking time out. Thank you for your help.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judgespoolmotel, Owner at Judges Pool Motel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind remarks. We do hope that you got better after a couple of days. Maybe we will see you again sometime and enjoy your new job.
Thanks again Jill and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed at the Judges Pool Motel (named after a nearby fishing spot) for three nights and would definitely stay again. The units are extremely clean and comfortable, with hotel standard sheets and bathroom. The unit was serviced each day while we were out enjoying the many local attractions - Turoa and Whakapapa Skifields, the Chateau, Tokaanu Hotpools, Taupo etc. The owners and their three gorrgeous cats were very friendly! Our one bedroom unit was large enough for a family of four as kids can sleep on the two single beds in the lounge. Flatscreen tv, dvd player, heatpump and microwave were all up to date and made our stay more comfortable.
There is a covered bbq area with seating close to the units. You can borrow their dvds and even buy free range eggs for 30c each - a real bargain!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judgespoolmotel, Owner at Judges Pool Motel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
We are pleased that we could could accomadate all your needs and on your next trip hope to see you.
Thanks Jill and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Very surprised at the great value for money unique features available for fishermen (people?) and the really nice owners.
An Aussie and his delightful Kiwi wife.
He is a keen fisherman so Everything you might want is thought of.
It will be my Turangi stopover from now on.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We checked in today rooms are very spacious having two 2brhk providing complimentary dvds central location well equipped kitchen ennnnjoying stay. Looking forward to water rafting in tongariro river one of the best in the world....dr ashok lodha in newzeland

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Judges Pool Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Judges Pool Motel

Address: 92 Taupahi Road, Turangi 3334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Turangi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Turangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Judges Pool Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence Winner 2014. Just a stone's throw from the world-renowned Tongariro River at the southern end of Lake Taupo, Judges Pool Motel offers comfortable, quiet place to stay. Stroll to the river pools to fish for big Rainbow and Brown Trout or venture to the nearby Tongariro National Park with its alpine walks and ski fields. Judges Pool Motel provides the perfect base for your activities or the ideal stopover with no traffic noise on your travels, with affordable family accommodation in our fully self-contained units. We're one of the area's most popular motels and the owners-operators Jill & Chris Hill have a wealth of local knowledge to share with you. . All Units Serviced Daily . Free WIFI and Internet kiosk . Heat Pumps / Air Conditioning . Laundry and a Drying Room . Sky TV Guest Select with 50+ Channels . Undercover BBQ Area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, EasyToBook, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Judges Pool Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Judges Pool Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.