We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant times in a beautiful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tongariro River Rafting

Tongariro River Rafting
95 Atirau Road | The Rafting Centre, Turangi 3353, New Zealand
+64 7-386 6409
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 10 Attractions in Turangi
Type: Tours, Boat Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A visit to the Lake Taupo area is not complete with out visiting this Oarsome attraction.Tongariro River Rafting offers one of the best rafting adventures in New Zealand. The rapids are Grade 3, ideal for expert or first-time rafters alike. Navigate over 60 roller coaster rapids. You'll see plenty of spectacular scenery & wildlife. All our guides are fully trained rafting professionals, our equipment is top quality and the company is 100% compliant with all safe rafting requirements. We also offer Family Float Rafting, Fishing and Mountain Biking.
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Brilliant times in a beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Wow, just plain awesome is the best thing to say about this trip.

Jazz and Ryan are fantastic guides, totally safe, full of local knowledge of the river, the wildlife and the native plant species, and funny!

The trip itself was great, good rapids and something new around the corner meant that there was always something to see and do.

Definitely check this crew out, they've been doing this for a long time and really know their stuff.

Can't wait to get down there again and go hard!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TongariroGarth, Manager at Tongariro River Rafting, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Hi, Thanks for your great review. We are very lucky to have dedicated staff like Ryan and Jazz working for us. I will pass on your remarks to them. We look forward to sharing our beautiful part of the world with you again.

Kind regards

Garth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    5
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kiama, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Best fun on water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We had an excellent day of rafting. The weather was perfect and our guide Ryan was great fun. I had been rafting before but my husnad had not. He loved the whole experience and cannot wait to go again on another river somewhere. We felt safe in the knowledge that Ryan knew exactly what to do all the way. The hot chocolate and chocolate fish were a great added extra along the way, as was the opportunity for some (not me) to jump in from the shore into a lovely pool. A soak in hot mineral pools afterwards finishing with a great hot soup to finish was just a great way to end the trip. All in all a great experience, fun and safe.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TongariroGarth, Owner at Tongariro River Rafting, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hi thanks for your great review. I'll pass on to Ryan that you enjoyed your time with him on the river.
I'm so glad that we got to share the river with you.
We hope that the rest of your trip goes well.
Kind regards

Garth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great experience, awesome team!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This has been my 2nd time white water rafting with TRR and it was as much fun as, if not more than, what it had been the first time. That first time, what stood out for me was everyone climbing up this boulder, which wasn't very high but was fairly high, and jumped into the river. Unfortunately we weren't able to do that the 2nd time around as it had been raining thus the water was not that clear, and also probably because it was colder that time. During the colder days, at the end of the trip they provide you with soup back at the base, and during summer/ warmer times they provided sandwiches. Every single one of the team was awesome, especially Mike our guide. Definitely a must-do while in the region!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best experience in NZ!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We had an amazing time rafting. For our first time, we were both nervous and apprehensive, but once in the raft and quickly gaining some confidence after wing taught some basic moves, we had an amazing time. A lovely bunch of photos were taken for us and we learnt a huge amount of new information from our guide Jimmy. Tasty treats mid way through the trip was just another nice thought out into making a good day great.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papeete, French Polynesia
1 review
“Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We had an excellent fun family experience, very friendly welcome and professional team. We did the family floating rafting with our fabulous Guide Mike! Thank you for all the fun and the fabulous memories.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tongariro River Rafting also viewed

Turangi, Waikato Region
North Island, New Zealand
 
Turangi, Waikato Region
 

Been to Tongariro River Rafting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tongariro River Rafting, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.