We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Settlers Motel

Save Saved
You added Settlers Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Settlers Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   24 Arahori Street, Turangi 3334, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Turangi
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

A friend and myself stayed at the Settlers Motel in May 2013. It was only for a couple of nights but we sure wish it could have been for more. Our unit was so spacious and was great value compared to many smaller places we stayed in.

Helen and Wayne were so helpful and definitely went the extra mile to insure our stay was a pleasant one. We opted for a larger unit but the ones we were shown were all spacious, well appointed and very clean.

If you are looking for accommodation in Turangi I recommend you check out The Settlers Motel first. You won't need to check out anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen S, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
We appreciate you kind review, Carol. We hope that the photographic expedition was a success and you both have lots of photos to remember your time in the Tongariro National Park area. It was lovely to meet you both and remember a summer trip on the river would be another memorable journey I am sure.!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    23
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
24
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Got to stay here for a night. Unit was nice, cosy and warm. Great view of the garden from the bedroom. Nice Deck. All basic amenities provided. Well equipped kitchen. DVDs available on request.Nice value for money!

Recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stopped here for three nights in the 7 bed dorm. The owners are very helpful and welcoming. The detached unit was clean with what looked liked new or recently changed carpets. There was 6 of us stopping. The downstairs had an open plan kitchen/dining/living space. All six of us could fit round the dining table. It is great that it is so clean and everything is provided to keep it clean. The sofas were new as well. Downstairs 2 bedrooms, one queen and one a twin, upstairs a mezzanine floor with 3 single beds. I thought the place was great, it had an on site guest laundry, washing line. You could use equipment to wash your car. Plenty of room for the children to play on the grass with various balls which you can borrow. Trampoline. Plenty of room to park your car. Supermarket 5 min walk or 2 min drive. Hosts are happy to advise on activities in the area and have a complimentary DVD's. There is a hot tub that you can use by prior arrangement and also a fish gutting room. There are lots of little touches that make a difference to a stay and this place has them. It great when places aren't stingy with tea/ coffee/milk and you get plenty here. Lots of towels and if you need anything the hosts will help. Shower great and beds comfortable. There was heating and fans if needed in the unit and our unit had a decking area with patio table and chairs. I think this was the cleanest place we stopped at while holidaying for a month and though we had our four boys with us, I felt very welcome and at ease here. I would definitely recommend staying at Settlers Motel. Even though near main road it was quiet and peaceful and we all slept well. Host will supply breakfast if you want but we made our own. There is no restaurant on site but room guide provides all details of local food outlets. Again I can't emphasise enough how clean, hosts take pride in their motel.

Room Tip: The big seven bed unit was great for us. If there are six of you it is a good option because once a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen S, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your glowing review! We were delighted to host your family and it was a joy to see and hear the boys having so much fun kicking balls and playing on the lawn. Our expansive lawn is certaininly a great way for children to run off their excess energy. We hope other families read your review and realise what a great option our family "cottage" is for a relaxing holiday with children.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We spent one night at the Settlers on our way across NewZ. The cabin was lovely, super clean & comfortable. It had all the usual refinements including heating! Limited but free wifi. We loved our twin cabin (one double and one single) and as I slept in the single bed I can confirm that it was very comfortable and very snugly. Lovely bedding and lovely owner who gave us a warm welcome and a free pen at the end of our stay - still using it to write my journal! Didn't see a pool or a fitness centre but couldn't get rid of the ratings so marked up rather than down.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waiouru, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Even though I left my booking to the very last moment my host could not have been more obliging. I arrived to a friendly welcome and was shown to a very clean and relatively spacious unit with a park view. On site I had ample space for my boat and was lucky enough to use the fish cleaning room following a days fishing. For kids there is room to play and a spa to relax in. All things considered this is great value accommodation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed in unit 8 which sleeps 7, and were very comfortable. Excellent quality linens, super clean, lovely leather sofas, good stuff all round. It also has a private hot tub room which you can reserve and a place to wash your car, which were nice touches.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa, Kentucky
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The motel was within easy walking distance from town. I was surprised that a lot of the shops closed up early on Saturday afternoon. The owners of the motel are very friendly. I was traveling with a group and she had made arrangements for our dinner at the motel. The food was exceptional, especially the Tiramisu dessert. The rooms were very clean, quiet and plenty of room and I had a great night's sleep. Back in the States I call these Ma and Pa motels and in my opinion they are far better than the chain motels or hotels. I enjoy the friendliness of speaking with the owners and learning about the locals.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Settlers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settlers Motel

Address: 24 Arahori Street, Turangi 3334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Turangi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Turangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Settlers Motel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make Settlers Motel your home to "stay and play" while you enjoy your Central North Island experience. Within 1-2 hours drive are the major tourist attractions of the Rotorua & Taupo regions. Turangi is on the North-Eastern boundary of the Tongariro National Park renowned for skiing and hiking. A few minutes walk from our Motel is the famous Tongariro River, home to Trout Fishing, Kayaking, White-Water Rafting and beautiful walks. We can arrange and ticket any of the activities available in this area, including shuttle buses to the Mountain for Skiing or hiking. Our amenities include Spa, guest laundry & drying room, in room DVDs and 100+ DVD library, Sky Tv with 50+ channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Settlers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Settlers Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.