We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT VALUE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Settlers Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Settlers Motel to your Saves list
Settlers Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   24 Arahori Street, Turangi 3334, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
TONGARIRO ALPINE CROSSING
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Turangi
Waiouru, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“GREAT VALUE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Even though I left my booking to the very last moment my host could not have been more obliging. I arrived to a friendly welcome and was shown to a very clean and relatively spacious unit with a park view. On site I had ample space for my boat and was lucky enough to use the fish cleaning room following a days fishing. For kids there is room to play and a spa to relax in. All things considered this is great value accommodation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    29
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
27
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed in unit 8 which sleeps 7, and were very comfortable. Excellent quality linens, super clean, lovely leather sofas, good stuff all round. It also has a private hot tub room which you can reserve and a place to wash your car, which were nice touches.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa, Kentucky
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The motel was within easy walking distance from town. I was surprised that a lot of the shops closed up early on Saturday afternoon. The owners of the motel are very friendly. I was traveling with a group and she had made arrangements for our dinner at the motel. The food was exceptional, especially the Tiramisu dessert. The rooms were very clean, quiet and plenty of room and I had a great night's sleep. Back in the States I call these Ma and Pa motels and in my opinion they are far better than the chain motels or hotels. I enjoy the friendliness of speaking with the owners and learning about the locals.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Thank you Settlers Motel, Turangi. You made our weekend very pleasant. A group of us had travelled to Turangi to take part in the Taupo Length of the Lake Relay. We arrived to a lovely, quiet, clean, tidy, cosy motel. Helen and Wayne are awesome people and very friendly. We will definitely use Settlers again. Thanks from the Cambridge Cougar Team.

Room Tip: Unit 8 was closest to the entrance, upstairs/downstairs family unit that suited us 6 ladies perfectl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Settlers motel is centrally located near the town center. The owners are super nice and gave us a ton of info on local hikes, the crossing, food, etc. She booked our shuttle to Tongariro which will pick you up right on the street. Bed was pretty comfy, but a little smaller than a queen, lots of pillows, big kitchen area, OK water pressure, but nice hot water. Free, limited wifi. The decor is a little outdated, but it is very clean and everything works. They warned of hearing the fire station alarm, but never was a problem for us. No problems during our stay, but I have full confidence that the owners would have taken care of anything.
Amenities that we didn't partake of was trampoline, fish cleaning room, car washing equip, spa bath, laundry (for a fee).
Ate at parklands across the street which was decent for the price. So much to do near Turangi, we could have easily stayed longer! If I am ever back in NZ, I WILL be back to Turangi and Settlers!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Owners Helen & Wayne are super friendly and gave us maps and tips for viewing the mountains. You can expect retro but clean accommodation. Close to town where you can get bakery treats, use the New World supermarket for your forgotten dental floss and a well stocked tourist info bureau. For all of this, the low prices at Settlers are just right.
I would vote for Air-con as your next upgrade :-)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Settlers Motel was the perfect location for our trip as we came to Turangi to go white water rafting. The owners were very helpful, suggested some walks we could take if we had spare time and even loaned us some towels to dry off with for after we went rafting, and that was after we had checked out!. OK so you have to bring your own shampoo - but who doesn't pack some anyway.
It was clean, and comfortable which at the end of the day is what you want.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Settlers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settlers Motel

Address: 24 Arahori Street, Turangi 3334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Turangi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Turangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Settlers Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make Settlers Motel your home to "stay and play" while you enjoy your Turangi Tongariro experience. Within 1-2 hours drive are the major tourist attractions of the Rotorua & Taupo regions. Turangi is on the North-Eastern boundary of the Tongariro National Park world renowned the 'best one day walk in New Zealand', The Tongariro Alpine Crossing. During the winter season we also have the Whakapapa Ski Fields (the biggest in New Zealand). A few minutes walk from our Motel is the famous Tongariro River, home to Trout Fishing, Kayaking, White-Water Rafting and beautiful walks. We can arrange and ticket any of the activities available in this area, including shuttle buses to the Mountain for Skiing or hiking. Our amenities include our Hot Spa, guest laundry & drying room, in room DVDs and 100+ DVD library, Sky TV with 50+ channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Settlers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Settlers Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.