We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mustard Seed Cafe

Mustard Seed Cafe
91 Ohuanga Rd, Turangi, New Zealand
+64 (0)73 867-377
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 15 Restaurants in Turangi
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: International, New Zealand, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Lovely coffee and food. Watch out though, it closes at 3pm.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    8
    11
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A Nice Breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Pleasant service, breakfast was nice, we had a full cooked breakfast. The cost was reasonable.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Worst cafe service in a long time!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Hi we were travelling Wellington to Auckland and stopped at this lovely looking cafe. I should point out one of my teenage daughters is coeliac (gluten free). So we are used to ingredients etc and asking whats in the food. We approached the counter and asked if the hot chocolate was gluten free, dunno was the answer and no effort made to check. The counter food was marginal and although the family did order the baked potatoes which were gluten free the staff were tired looking and obviously not happy in their work. I was that put off by their lack of service i went to the cafe on the other side of the car park which was FULL of customers and got lovely service and caught up with my family in due course. we wondered if they were doing the old roll your eyes when you mention gluten free, with them maybe not realizing that some people are diagnosed as coeliac.
Or maybe as reading other reviews on this cafe they just can't be bothered!!!!!
My wife did notice the younger lady serving did put on a smile for the strapping blokes that got served after us. Just not a good experience

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, NZ
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

There was a time when the Mustard Seed Cafe was well worth a visit for a fresh and satisfying breakfast or lunch and its coffee was some of the best to be had around Turangi. But I am afraid those days seem to have passed. Then it was run by a group of local women who took pride in their place and in their work, but that cannot be said now. The decor has become tired. The food is run-of-the-mill and there is little, if anything, that is memorable about it or the somewhat lacklustre service we recently experienced.

That said, my wife pronounced her lunchtime bacon omelette very tasty and was glad to be assured that it was made with free range produce. I lunched on a chicken and cranberry panini which was toasted but hardly heated through. It was cut and served without salad or garnish, both of which were simply part of the service in the Mustard Seed's heyday. The pricing wasn't at all inexpensive for what was on offer and we left feeling we simply didn't see value for money.

It feels as if the place has simply not made the effort to keep up with changing expectations. Turangi is seldom thought of as cutting edge and that is part of its charm, but there are more people now investing in the area and the Tongariro Riverside attracts tourists and holiday makers who are willing to pay well for service that warrants it. Unfortunately the owners and team at the Mustard Seed will need to lift their game if they are to get back their share of that trade. At the moment if I had to choose between stopping in the centre of Turangi for a bite to eat at the Mustard Seed, or driving on to one of the places just out of town, I'd do the latter.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Charge as much as they can get away with”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Mustard seed is a reference to faith, even though this cafe seems to lack it. They charged us for the slightest little thing such as butter for a muffin. A child's fluffy (foamed milk) is as much as a coffee and unfortunately the coffee is poor. They do have a lovely rose garden to sit in if it is open for use. They tried to overcharge us the last time we went and did not cope with the holiday crowds.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mustard Seed Cafe also viewed

Turangi, Waikato Region
 
Turangi, Waikato Region
Turangi, Waikato Region
 

Been to Mustard Seed Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mustard Seed Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.