We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Floating Rock Cafe

Floating Rock Cafe
30 Riverpark Drive, Kuratau/Omori, Turangi 3381, New Zealand
+64 7-386 0806
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 16 Restaurants in Turangi
Cuisines: Healthy, New Zealand, Winery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Floating Rock Cafe/Winery is situated on the banks of the Kuratau River in the South Western corner of Lake Taupo. The Cafe is open for business 10am till 4pm during school and public holidays or by appointment. When open we serve delicious thin crust pizzas cooked in our new wood fired oven on decks above our boutique vineyard with expansive views down the beautiful river valley and of the ranges beyond.The property has two luxuriously appointed chalets within the vineyard which are available for rental (see bookabach listing numbers 4916 and 4917 for further details.4500 Pinot Noir and Pinot Gris grapes provide the juice for our award winning single vineyard wines. All wines are available for tastings and sale at the Cafe.You definately won't be disappointed in a trip to our place!
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Highly recommended! The guys working here will look after you big time. Have a glass of wine, their Pinot Noir is pretty nice.Nice setting in a vineyard. Truly enjoyed my visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Relaxed, cheerful, and friendly with great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The range of food was confined to pizza and sides or cookies. These were fresh and tasty. The setting was elevated and provided a commanding view over the vineyard and environs. Very informal and relaxing - high recommended if you are looking for something nice and casual. Longer opening hours would be nice.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Lovely cafe set amongst their own vines with wood fired pizza oven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary weekend with family at Pukawa Bay on Lake Taupo. For Saturday lunch we booked virtually the entire restaurant putting tables together on the decking by the pizza oven for our party of 21. The weather was great and we had a brilliant very relaxed 3 hour lunch. The children were able to wander around in safety and so the parents could relax. We had 2 of every pizza they did fresh from the oven with some fish bites, wedges and breads. They have good puddings too. Our drinks included some delightful bottles of their own Kuratau wines of which the sparkling rose was the best, It could not have gone better. Many thanks to Will Shirer and his small team.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A tiny piece of paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Again visiting the team at floating rock cafe delivers a great result. The service and food match the location. It's a wonderful piece of paradise. Well worth the visit

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A little piece of kiwi heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We've stayed at Floating Rock / Kuratau River Wines three times and can't wait to come back again. The chalets in the vineyard are peaceful and beautifully appointed. They're spacious and comfortable.

It's great to borrow the kayaks and float down the Kuratau river to Lake Taupo.

The food at the cafe is delicious and the wood fired pizzas are certainly worth a visit. Their wine isn't well known but it should be. The pinky hue fizz is lovely and the Pinot Gris a delight. Their superb and easy drinking Pinot noir works very well with all of their pizzas.

Stay here. Eat here. Try the wine.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Floating Rock Cafe also viewed

Turangi, Waikato Region
 

Been to Floating Rock Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Floating Rock Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.