We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ow.. my back! bad mattress.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of YHA Waitomo Juno Hall Backpackers

Save Saved
You added YHA Waitomo Juno Hall Backpackers to your Saves list
YHA Waitomo Juno Hall Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
YHA Waitomo Juno Hall Backpackers
600 Waitomo Caves Rd, Te Kuiti 3977, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Oakland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“ow.. my back! bad mattress.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

The place was clean, and beautifully located. My bed was so uncomfortable I was awake much of the night. The "mattress" was totally flat and I could feel all of the slats supporting it. The lodgers were quiet, which was nice, but they were not friendly, too busy watching tv. Okay if you need a place to sleep, so long as your back is made out of steel. At least our space heater worked.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    12
    19
    12
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
20
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

It looks a good budget place to stay at the first sight, as it has this lawn outside, with picnic tables... The room is not bad, but if you are looking for a place to sleep, and enjoy the day in the caves, run away from this backpacker...
The whole building sounds (and loud) when people walk in the corridors, and clearly there are no rules for silence, or if there are they will not be followed, coz staff dont give a damn. If you get a bunch of teenagers in the same night u are there, there is no sleep.
There are other good options of accomodation you can find in waitomo and even cheaper than juno hall. Try the Top 10 holliday park.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

I wanted to stay at the one in town, but that was full, so I ended up in Juno Hall. But it's a nice place! It's clean and the rooms are spacious. There is a big TV room. If you're travelling by bus, they will drop you off across the road. Waitomo Adventures is next door for your caving craving. Only drawback is the 15 minute walk to the town on a through road.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

Nice lodge on beautiful farm setting and great location for going to the caves (accross the road). 20 minute to walk into town/village where there is bar etc.

Rooms were small and basic (we have ensuite double), any noise will come from backpackers staying there - the noise from outside is none existent so there is potential for a good night sleep.

Agree with other reviews regarding beds - need to be updated as i was sunk in the night!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

This hostel sucks. Room didn't have working heat. Staffed by an incompetent traveler who ran out of money and who hardly ever manned the reception desk. Hard box springs and threadbare mattress.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Juno Hall for one night in October, before checking out the caves the next day. Juno Hall was the most basic hostel we stayed in our whole trip. We had an ensuite room, with a bunk bed & another twin bed. It was freezing, although eventually the space heater in the room heated up the room. The bedding was meagre, and the beds were awful. We would've been better off staying somewhere else, and paying more. Juno Hall is a part of the BBH network. I thought it would be better than the YHA's, but I was wrong. We stayed in several of each network, and the YHA's were far superior and reliable.

  • Liked — not much.
  • Disliked — everything.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2008

A caving activity in Waitomo was on our list of 'things to do', so we decided that spending a night in Waitomo was the most convenient option.

Juno Hall is located very close to the Black Water Rafting cafe, and the surrounding scenery is reminiscent of the shires in Lord of the Rings.

The surrounding gardens are by far the hall's best asset, spending a summer evening lazing in one of the outdoor hammocks was the highlight of our visit.

The hall itself was disappointing - clean and tidy, but not up to modern hostel standards. The same can be said for our double ensuite room. Facilities were ok, but the swimming pool looked decidedly dodgy.

Those going the self-catering route should come prepared as there are no shops near by. Although the hostel did have some basic supplies - that were at a reasonable cost.

Overall, would not recommend this accommodation - consider staying in one of the larger towns nearby.

  • Liked — Beautiful gardens
  • Disliked — very basic and dated
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to YHA Waitomo Juno Hall Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Waitomo Juno Hall Backpackers

Address: 600 Waitomo Caves Rd, Te Kuiti 3977, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Te Kuiti
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty lodging in Te Kuiti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waitomo has been entertaining guests for decades with its deep caverns, luminescent glowworms and dark waterways for generations. YHA Waitomo offers the perfect base to experience all this spectacular place has to offer. The hostel is situated on a farm and has stunning views and native forest as your backdrop. Relax in a hammock by our large swimming pool and unwind from the adrenalin activities on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your YHA Waitomo Juno Hall Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YHA Waitomo Juno Hall Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.