We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent guide and experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Glow Eco-Adventures

Green Glow Eco-Adventures
1117 Oparure Road, Te Kuiti 3985, New Zealand
0800 476459
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Attractions in Te Kuiti
Type: Tours, Adventure
Attraction details
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent guide and experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Paul is a great guide and leads individualized trips tailored to what you would like to do. He is over-the-top knowledgeable about the ecology and geology of the local area and is a true professional. We highly recommend Paul and Green Glow adventures.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic, fantastic, fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

We spent an amazing Saturday recently, caving, abseiling, rock scrambling, bush crashing and taking photographs with Paul as our guide. This adventure had it all. The equipment (warm clothes, helmets with lights, and boots that grip wet rocks) was great, the skills Paul taught us to abseil multiple spots and circumstances made us feel safe, even those afraid of heights, the great photographs he showed us how to take with our camera helped us to capture great memories, and the full on adventure for several hours with just our group made this trip very memorable. The other thing that was above and beyond were the times that Paul talked a couple of us less confident to cross over areas of rocks and cliffsides that we didn't think possible. Anyone up for an adventure that is out of the ordinary, this is it.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Amazing Personalized Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Green Glow was one of our favorite things that my wife and I did while visiting the North Island in December. Paul is very knowledgable and it was a lot of fun. We brought our DSLR and Paul helped us capture some amazing shots. He was also helpful with working around our timing for the day.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wow... best activity of our trip to NZ!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

This was definitely my favorite of the activities my wife and I did over our entire 10 day trip to NZ. Paul is a very friendly, charismatic, and knowledgeable tour guide, and taught us a lot about the cave formation. Both my wife and I were a bit nervous about the abseiling, and Paul made us feel almost instantly comfortable with it, teaching us on a short slope before attempting the big ones. I was also a little nervous about going into the caves, since I can tend to get claustrophobic at times, but this didn't end up being a problem for me at all. Shutting off our lights and seeing all of the glow-worms all over the cave was an amazing and beautiful experience... probably one of the coolest things I've ever seen. And what is even better is that Paul is an incredible cave photographer... and was able to capture that... with us in the image! We got some irreplaceable photos to take home thanks to his skill. This is NOT just another commercial cave tour... Paul has exclusive use of this cave, and will personalize the tour around whatever you want to do. The value is incredible for what you get... I think we ended up staying 4.5-5 hours in the cave! Wish I could give this one higher that a 5 star rating. Highly recommended, don't miss it!

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“OUTSTANDING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

My 14 year old son and I (47 year old dad) agreed that this was the best day of our RTW trip by a country mile
enjoyed this more than the Lost World 4 hour epic tour we did the day before
What makes the day so special is Pauls ability to quickly find your level of skill/ability and then adapt the day to suit you
Our day out was at the end of August but we were so busy both pysicaly and mentaly i cant even remember what the weather was like
Pual is a smashing bloke and the day was worth every penny
if you only do one thing in New Zealand do this!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Glow Eco-Adventures also viewed

 
Waitomo Caves, Waikato Region
 

Been to Green Glow Eco-Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Glow Eco-Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.