We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restaurant!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Panorama Motor Inn

Panorama Motor Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Panorama Motor Inn to your Saves list
Panorama Motor Inn
59 Awakino Road, Te Kuiti 3910, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Somerville, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We didn't stay at the motel but ate at the restaurant on our recent stay. The building and decor were a bit dated, but oh boy the food was excellent! The restaurant (as you'd expect0 had beautiful views and the staff was wonderful and inviting. Great dining option in this area!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
4
9
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

It had everything we needed, clock radio, tv, soap, kettle, microwave, hair dryer, mini fridge. Milk in the fridge, that was legend. The view was lovely from Room #4 and I videotaped it all. The pool was clean, kids enjoyed it. I hope he cleans up that walk down to the pool, too many plants mate! Sunrise was behind the hotel. Area around #4 was under renovation, lots of building supplies lying around. Floor was hollow underneath and made sneaking to the fridge difficult at night.

Room Tip: Close to Waitomo Caves if you like tourist traps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nimbin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This place is probably fine for business travellers, but for a family holiday I can not recommend it. The deskstaff were efficient but not friendly or welcoming at check in or check out. The room was ok and clean, but the whole experience was less than desirable. It may not have seemed so bad if we were in a big city, but it was jarring after the wonderful friendliness experienced elsewhere during our trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Stayed here last weekend when we decided to do a family road trip to Waitomo Caves. Found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a family unit which was clean and suprisingly spacious with a lovely view down the valley, also very warm after having all day sun on it. Plenty of room for a family of four. Our unit was set up with what I think was a king bed in the bedroom and 2 single beds in lounge area. Had our evening meal in the restaurant and Sue our hostess was very helpful and was happy to reveal how to cook the lovely salmon that my husband had for dinner. Our boys happily played on the pool table while we enjoyed our meal. We weren't sure of road noise as the motel is on a main route and up a hill but the whole family slept very well and did not hear anything. Would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: We were in Unit 1 but all the family units are in a row and any of them would be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland NZ
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Spouse and self stayed here one time back in the 70’s so decided to give it another go as motels near Te Kuiti, but outside of Waitomo immediate area, are fairly non-existent and we were not interested in Waitomo. It is generally recognised that if one is unable to say something favourable then say nothing so, as a consequence, I will say nothing about the motel. The connected restaurant however is a different story. It is readily accepted, by us, that we enjoyed dinner in the spacious restaurant. Service was very good and food beyond question. In NZ, and no doubt elsewhere, it is often the people who create interest rather than what one is personally about and on this occasion it was a Maori family of Dad and 3 x children ex, apparently, Mum. Suffice it to say the kids appeared to enjoy the evening and what it brought to each ediblewise. From a distance, it was great to see Dad out with the kids who appeared to enjoy his company. Great stuff Dad for you are no doubt a winner.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
138 hotel reviews
Reviews in 140 cities Reviews in 140 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

Panorama Motor Inn is well named. It is situated on the hillside ( easy to miss ) overlooking the town and views to the mountains beyond. Great views from all rooms I had a studio apartment which was small but ok with small bathroom $90. There was a communal veranda with four other rooms, with tables and chairs. A small pool but no pool furniture. Plenty of parking. Large restaurant with balcony to sit out with drinks, a games area, pool and a piano. Good bar. Used by locals so some noise when they depart around midnight ( not roudy just cars.) Some road noise from lorries climbing the hill. Restaurant food was very good and staff very friendly. Rooms not great but worth staying for the views and the restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

We took a group of 30 older people to visit the Aramatai gardens (highly recommended), and a cruise with Mokau river tours. (also highly recommeded. And stayed overnight at Panorama Motor Inn
The motel staff were extremely helpful in booking us a dinner bed and breakfast package. Everyone enjoyed the roast dinner, and yummy desert and continental beakfast in the morning.
All commented favourably on the comfort and facilities in their rooms..
All the staff were friendly helpful and approachable.
We ourselves would definately stay in the motel again, if visiting the area.
Only two small criticisms. Be aware that this motel is situated near a main road on a hill,and some units near the road heard trucks in the night up and down the hill.
Also that some units have hill or sloping access which could be of concern for some elderly people, if they did not have a car to access their unit.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Panorama Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Motor Inn

Address: 59 Awakino Road, Te Kuiti 3910, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Te Kuiti
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Te Kuiti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well established TeKuiti Accommodation, we have comfortable and spacious refurbished rooms with panoramic views of the picturesque countryside. Studio units with king-size beds, units with self-catering facilities, 3-bedroom holiday home with full amenities, suitable for families, with excellent restaurant & Bar. Situated in the heart of the King Country, central North Island on State highway 3, right on the edge of the Waitomo Caves tourism adventures and activities, nestled on the hillside with magnificent views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Panorama Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panorama Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.