We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best venison I have ever tasted” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Argo Restaurant and Wine Bar

Argo Restaurant and Wine Bar
328 Ocean Rd, Whangamata 3620, New Zealand (Formerly Oceanas Restaurant & Bar)
0064 7 865 7157
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 19 Restaurants in Whangamata
Price range: $8 - $26
Cuisines: European, Coffee Shop, English, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Argo Restaurant and Wine BarOpen for Brunch, lunch, and Dinner 7 days over the summer period. Serving award winning coffee La La and local Coromandel Craft Beer. Argo is the perfect destination for those who love to soak up the sun while enjoying awesome cuisine. Call in for a meal or relax in the sun drenched courtyard for a few wines on your way back from the beach. A must stop in Whangamata!!!
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best venison I have ever tasted”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Amazing food, I now know why they are always busy. The best venison I have ever eaten, my husband even got food envy! His duck was delicious but the venison was amazing. They even have a kids menu. Can't wait to go back

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    19
    3
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“HUGE wait for food, poor communication”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Very friendly on arrival, seated quickly and ordered from teh small but well formed menu within a short while. Then waited and waited for the food. The waiting staff started avoiding eye contact - obviously embarrassed by the poor service they were able to provide. No explanation was given, though eventually we managed to get someone to tell us that our food was still 10 mins away - which turned out to be accurate.

The food was good, well presented and thoughtful in preparation when it - eventually - arrived.

Summary - A kitchen which produces good food but couldn't - on the day of my visit - cope with the volume of business.

Go only if it's quiet!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful food in a great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This a lovely place to eat. The decor is subtle but beautifully done. The food presentation is first class and the food itself is gorgeous. Very welcoming staff, good advice on food and wine choices. Just excellent.

We were travelling extensively on three continents for three months and ate out many, many times during the trip both before and after our visit to Argo - this restaurant gets our vote for being the absolute number one by a long way.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great meal and great environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Four of us had dinner on an Autumn Saturday night, during awful weather that kept most of the 3000 permanent population in Whangamata home. Surprisingly, the restaurant was mostly full, and now I understand why. The menu is sophisticated simplicity. We all enjoyed our meals and commented on how much we enjoyed them. The food was beautifully presented, with adequate portions, cooked well. The service was slick and discrete without being fawning. The waitress was able to answer all our queries when we were choosing menu items and wine. The tables are well spaced so you feel that you have sufficient space to enjoy your meal without feeling that the next table customers are part of your group. A great place to dine for that special occasion. We will be back. The new owners have made an impression with us.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Argo opened especially for my hens do (wine and nibbles with the ladies!) They were very accommodating, provided lovely food and very good bubbles! Thanks team, you helped kick off some fantastic friendships and a great long wedding weekend!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Argo Restaurant and Wine Bar also viewed

Whangamata, Coromandel Peninsula
Whangamata, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whangamata, Coromandel Peninsula
Whangamata, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Argo Restaurant and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Argo Restaurant and Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.