We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Awesome Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Breakers Motel

Save Saved
You added Breakers Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Breakers Motel
324 Hetherington Road, Whangamata, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Whangamata
Whangaparaoa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Another Awesome Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Thanks Breakers... Another great stay with them. The rooms are always sunny, clean, well heated and spacious.The owners are also welcoming and friendly and go out of their way to be helpful..
The pool and bbq area looks amazing but it seems every time we stay there it in the dead of winter so will have to try to time a visit in the summer next time. The spa bath on the deck are great to slide into to relax and unwind anytime. Thanks again, we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    21
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
51
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Breakers Motel is a great place to stay for a few days, perhaps as a central base for exploring the Coromandel and Bay of Plenty areas. Well furnished/decorated with plenty of towels and bathroom amenities, as well as a comfy bed. The basic cooking facilities, a large fridge, ample crockery/cutlery - and a coffee plunger - in our apartment made preparing light breakfasts/snacks and eating some take-away evening meals a breeze: a real holiday, instead of one spent in the kitchen! Perhaps the only addition to the apartment could be a small dishwasher ... something that I know my husband would really appreciate!
Whangamata town (walking distance if you're fit, otherwise less than a 5-minute drive) has a reasonable choice of restaurants and take-aways - including Indian, Italian, Mexican and seafood - and a large supermarket that's handy for re-stocking grocery/liquor supplies.
Sincere thanks, Marie, for your warm welcome and attention to detail that made our recent stay so thoroughtly enjoyable.
We can't fault the accommodation ... just the unpredictable weather that meant we didn't get to see quite as much of the Coromandel as we would have liked - or a chance to use the hot tub on our patio! Never mind ... that just means we have a good excuse to return sometime :-)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

The rain was pummeling down when we drove into Whangamata, so we stopped at the first place we saw.... and got lucky! With a little coaxing, we got a room with a private spa.... and spent the afternoon enjoying the rain instead of cursing it! There were even some cookies, a little tea and cocoa.. nice! I had a really indulgent day. Walked into town for some takeaway when the rain stopped, (quite convenient). The room had a little table and chairs to eat. Spread out the maps on the giant bed and planned the next day's travels. It was definitely a great choice for us!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed a night and short notice and the owner was so welcoming. Room very clean and doors open onto pool area with great afternoon sun. Lovely spot at table outside door for a wine and relaxation. Great location near marina. Felt the room could have been softened with a rug (has tile floor) and a couch. I find many motels have these firm 'leather' club chairs -x2 singles - which are great in office space but not cozy in a motel. My only issue though. Massive bathroom, powerful shower, kitchenette. All spotless. All the best to the owners.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yankalilla, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

This place was one of my favorites on our recent holiday in the North Island. Marie, the owner, gave us a great welcome. I felt like I had known her for ages. We had booked into a studio room but she offered us a 1 bedroom unit because we were staying for 3 nights and they werent booked out. Both rooms were great but we were more than happy with the studio room. It was very large in size with a kitchenette, huge bed, marble bathroom and a great sized balcony with spa. Our room overlooked a lovely pool area and garden, with a marina in the background. There was a play area for kids and a bar b que area for adults. The rooms downstairs had direct access to the pool. Laundry facilities were available as well but Marie offered the use of the motel machines as they were quicker if we needed. Even though the motel is on the main road into Whangamata it was very quiet in our room. There were plenty of shops just down the road and within walking distance. I have nothing but praise for this motel.

Room Tip: Probably the rooms at the far end of the building miss any traffic noise. The downstairs rooms with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in february 2012. Lovely owners who even did our washing ( the guest machine was 'playing up') very clean, the spa was wonderful. We have just returned after travelling for 8 weeks and this is one of the most welcoming hotels we stayed in, our little bit of paradise. The facilities in the hotel were ideal and the super Market a 5 minute walk away. Hopefully - if funds allow- we will return.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms exit to the pool, upstairs views of the pool and a spa on the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Visiting our daughter in Auckland for a three week holiday touring NZ from Scotland booked Breakers by good reviews on Trip Adviser was not disapointed Marie went out of her way to make our stay perfect and my daughter even got use of the motels canoe . Breakers is a short walk to local shops and restaurants with plenty of variety. the beach walk only a few minutes away was awesome can not wait to go back.

Linda and Tom from Scotland SITING OUR DAUGHTER IN AUCKLAND FOR A THREE WEEK HOLIDAY TOURING NZ FROM SCOTLAND BO OKED BREAKERS BY GOOD REVIEWS ON TRIP ADVISER WAS NOT DISAPOINTED MARIE WENT OUT OF HER WAY TO MAKE OUR STAY PERFECT AND MY DAUGHTER EVEN GOT USE OF HOTELS CANOE SHORT WALK TO LOCAL RESTAURANTS WHICH WERE PLENTIFUL AND BEACH WALK AWSOME CANT WAIT TO GO BACK

LINDA AND TOM FROM SCOTLAND

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Breakers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers Motel

Address: 324 Hetherington Road, Whangamata, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whangamata
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Whangamata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality self contained motel accommodation overlooking a superb pool complex and large BBQ area for great outdoor dining. Spacious studio, one and two bedroom units with private spa and deck, well equipped kitchens, marble & tile bathrooms and Sky TV. Private, luxury honeymoon suite ideal for romantic getaways. Free wireless internet, off-street parking & newspaper. Children's playground and breakfast available. Close to Marina, beaches, restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Breakers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakers Hotel Whangamata
Breakers Motel Whangamata, South Pacific

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breakers Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.