We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Feed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Craig’s Traditional Fish & Chips

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Craig’s Traditional Fish & Chips
701 Port Road, Whangamata, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 19 Restaurants in Whangamata
Cuisines: Fish & Chips
Restaurant details
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Feed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Had fish and chips for tea while in Whangamata,
We ordered quite a large amount of food, It all came out of the kitchen at the same time and was all lovely and hot.
The chips were great (I think they are Mc Cains that they use)

The only disappointing thing for my partner was that he ordered a hawaiin burger and it didn't have a meat pattie in it.

Very reasonable pricing also :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A long wait!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Our order of 1 portion of fish and chips took over 30 minutes with no warning or explanation as to why. Phone orders seemed to be jumping the queue which frustrated everyone waiting in the fish and chip shop.
The fish was nice but we could have caught and cooked our own during that time! Definitely not fast food. I advise ordering by phone and collecting as this seemed a quicker option.
They need to work on their customer service skills.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Poor Service and Long Wait Time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Awful service and 55 minute wait time for one portion of fish and chips is the longest I have had to wait for "fast food". From the looks of things, other people were in the same boat and there was no explanation as to long wait time. Seemed like they had plenty of staff on 5+, but seemed very poorly organised and too slow to process orders. Food was good, but 55 min wait for fast food kind of ruins the experience before you tuck in. Owners - you could have a little goldmine with a good reputation if you "upped" your game.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howick, Auckland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great takeaways, can get too busy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have purchased takeaways here about ten times. Consistently excellent. Over summer holidays, as with rest of Whangamata, they are overrun with orders 6 to 8pm. However long they say order will be, we usually double - but queues at other take-aways in town are similar. Room for another summer business? Can phone order.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A long, inconvenient wait...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We were sharing a house with a group of 14 people, and had read a review from another website saying that Craig's Fish & Chips had a long wait time. As we had littlies in our group, we decided to do a phone order and then go and pick it up when it was ready. We decided that we would also order Soul Burgers and then buy a load of hot chips to have with our burgers. The grandparents just wanted less fancy burgers, so we also ordered them cheeseburgers from Craigs. We phoned at 6pm and said that we would pick the order up at 8pm. Soul Burgers were ready, so we picked them up and arrived at Craigs. Apparently there is a policy where they don't start cooking your order until you pay for it, so we were left waiting, and waiting, and waiting. They didn't explain why our order wasn't ready, and we asked several times. Other people were making over the counter orders and told there was a 45-50 minute wait. Another family came in with a phone order and they also had to wait. There is no advantage of doing a phone order, we still had to wait 45 minutes while our burgers from Soul Burger got cold. I wouldn't patronise this place again, and would recommend trying the other fish and chip shop not far down the road. $10 of chips wasn't enough, and they recommended $5 was enough for 10 people. We had less than a handful of chips each.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Craig’s Traditional Fish & Chips also viewed

Whangamata, Coromandel Peninsula
Whangamata, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whangamata, Coromandel Peninsula
Whangamata, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Craig’s Traditional Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Craig’s Traditional Fish & Chips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.