We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Tranquility with the perfect hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat to your Saves list
Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   444 Wentworth Valley Road, Whangamata, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
hamilton
1 review
“Peaceful Tranquility with the perfect hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

We stayed for two nights at this peaceful getaway and enjoyed our time here. The gentle atmosphere and the superb service were parts of our stay that we will remember. There were prts that we enyed also including the fantastic original cuisine that is like nothing else we have ever experienced but thouroughly enjoyed, the glow worms at night and fresh water crayfish.
Hosts Rheinhard and Petra are artists in the true sense of the word. From their fantastic interior decor designed completely by themselves (the rooms are to die for) to their passion for glass creations and the original art work that comes from these designs.
The lodge grounds are suitable for almost any function and we only wish we had not already paid for our wedding venue.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    8
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
71
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, Ca
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2008

We stayed at the Bushland Park Lodge this past January 30/31. The lodge is very nice and the hosts Petra and Reinhard go out of their way to make you feel at home. The best part is the dinner. For $85NZ per person Reinhard cooks a special dinner for you. He is a chef and a very good one. We were skeptical of the price at first but ate there both nights. It was like having our own personal chef. It is out of town but close to some hikes. It is just a relaxing place with beautiful woods and landscaping.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2007

We stayed at the lodge over Christmas last year, and did like the entire stay. The couple running the lodge was very welcoming while still giving us the privacy we wanted. Definitely worth the detour to Coromandel!

  • Liked — the surroundings of the location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2007

This B&B was lovely and I can't believe the other reviews on here (obviously they did not do their research and didn't fit in - anyway).

Set in the middle of nowhere (as detailed on their website) this place is a real treasure. Quiet, beautiful setting with stunning gardens; it was a relaxing place to stay.

The owners were welcoming and the accommodation was very nice. We had one of the smaller rooms which wasn't luxurious but clean and with a huge comfy bed. We also had a nice balcony overlooking the peaceful garden.

We ate in the restaurant, which we would highly recommend as the food (Venison) was fantastic. Nice German beers too.

It is about a 10 minute drive from the town and you drive through 2 fords (not flooded rivers!).

I would definitely recommend someone to stay here - especially if you want to get away from it all and just relax.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2006

Location is waaaaaaaaaaaaaay off the beaten track. You have to drive through cow pastures and over a flooded road to get to it. Once you are there, you can't walk to anything, except for a couple of hikes. They have a dry sauna available, but they charge an extra $20 per person/per night to use it - ouch! Dinners are extraordinarily pricey - $95 per person, and there is only one entree each night. Your only other option is to drive into town. The hosts are both German, and were very friendly to the other Germans who were staying there, and pretty much ignored us completely. This place is now up for sale, so I don't think the owners really have their heart in it anymore.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2004

This was my 30th birthday treat and it really was a treat. The hosts are warm and welcoming and helped arrange a massage as well as the use of the spa and sauna. The food was delicious with wonderful wine. The room we stayed in was clean, bright with a gorgeous balcony. Close to lots of walks and areas of natural beauty. Ideal for rest and relaxation.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat

Address: 444 Wentworth Valley Road, Whangamata, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whangamata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Whangamata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat in Whangamata created its own speciality for a high quality and very personal hosting. The owners "Petra & Reinhard" love to share their passion with their guests for fine dining, glass-art & pure nature with New Zealand "bush & beach". Exclusively only 3 fortunate couples experience this very unique place in the Coromandel Peninsula New Zealand with a variety of attractive features: A private glow-worm grotto just 3 minutes from your dining table. Outdoors, close to the lily pond and with total privacy a "Double Slipper Bath" to gaze at the Milky Way stars with Champagne & Candles. Your "private Chef" offers high class cuisine in the Lodge's dining wine cellar; often on his own created art glass dinnerware. Bush walks to the famous Wentworth Falls start at the doorstep, and glorious white-sand beaches are only a few minutes' drive away. Two golf courses close by. Bushland Park Lodge is not just a stop along the way, but a destination in its own right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat Whangamata, South Pacific

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.