We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific View B&B

Save Saved
You added Pacific View B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pacific View B&B
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   125 Pacific View Drive, Whangamata 3620, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Whangamata B&B and Inns
Yiolou, Paphos, Cyprus
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

A very clean & tidy place to stay with excellent amenities & first class breakfasts.Overlooking the town of Whangamata.Kathryn & Peter are very welcoming & like to have a chat to everybody & find out what they have planned etc. (usually over a glass of wine).

Room Tip: Better view from the top bedroom & slightly bigger but more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
111
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Our stay at Pacific Wiew was excellent! We felt so confortable like we were at home.
The room was amazing, very clean, confortable and with a lot of details. We found everything we need.
5 mins driving from the town in a hill, therefore very quiet and relaxing.
Delicius breakfast, much more than we used to have.
Good knowledge about the area and places to visit.
We recommend Pacific View indeed!

Room Tip: We were at King room, absolutely recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Le Willows, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

What a contrast between this place and the previous nights stay at the Copthorne in Hokianga. We stayed here for two nights on our honeymoon. The room was nice, and included a fridge. The fridge contained various things in a mini-bar style. Our room was not en-suite, but the bathroom was right opposite the bedroom door, and was for our sole use. Wi-Fi was available.

Breakfast was shared with the other guests (1 other room I think) and was a good selection of cereal, yoghurt and fruit, followed by something hot. A great way to start the day.

As it was our honeymoon, Katherine kindly gave us two bottles of fizz and a card. Typical of the kind Kiwi welcome we experienced everywhere.

Parking was available on one of the steepest driveways known to man! Thankfully, Katherine & Peter let us park in the garage. They also kindly leant us spades for Hot Water Beach (Thank you and sorry for breaking one).

It's a short drive into town for the beach, shops, bars etc. Beware, even on Valentine's Day the place was empty and we struggled to find somewhere to eat at 20:00 as everything was closed or about to close. The two places we ate in (can't remember their names though) were both nice.

A good base for the Coromandel (don't forget to drive through L&P territory on your way) and a fantastic place to stay. Our hosts, Katherine & Peter were very generous with their home and were able to give good advice on journey planning etc.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

Kathryn and Peter were great hosts. Kathryn couldn't do enough for us and made our short stay so wonderful. The house is clean and welcoming with marvellous view from the lounge and dining room. Kathryn paid a lot of attention to details to make sure that our stay was comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious and were cooked to perfection. We would certainly stay with Kathryn and Peter again when and if we go back to Whangamata again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladera Ranch, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

We stayed for five days in March 2011 and really enjoyed our stay. The B&B is up on a hill with a great view and we found it to be an excellent location to explore the Coromandel peninsula. We booked the king bedroom with en-suite bathroom and the room was very nice with a lot of attention to detail and cleanliness.
Peter and Kathryn are wonderful hosts and they did everything to make our stay comfortable. From a cooked to order breakfast to happy hour to transportation to town they will always be there to meet your needs. This is very different from a standard hotel stay and can be highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

This is a great little B&B Where you immediately feel welcomed as houseguests rather than customers. The owners will go to great lengths to offer everything from tea and snacks to advice and help with anything you might possibly need (even searching the internet to find us a hotel at the Auckland Airport.) The house is lovely, the beds very comfortable, and there are little added touches everywhere. And the delicious breakfast, where we actually had gourmet choices from a small menu, was the best we had in New Zealand.

We've enjoyed staying at B&B's all over the world and consider ourselves connoisseurs. Pacific View definitely gets an A+.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

Book early to avoid disappointment. Wonderful host nothing is too much trouble.eg Reading glasses left but promply forwarded to us at no extra charge. Drove us to a restaurant and picked us up so we could enjoy a glass or two of wine! Superb breakfast. with lots of choice. Five minutes for the center of town. Spectacular views over the bay. Nice sandy beach pleasant to walk on.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pacific View B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific View B&B

Address: 125 Pacific View Drive, Whangamata 3620, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whangamata
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Whangamata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pacific View B&B 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pacific View B&B is a small boutique B&B offering quality accommodation for discerning travellers. Located at the top of the highest hill in Whangamata on the Coromandel Peninsula it has spectacular views out to the Pacific Ocean. Clad in a luxuriant subtropical rainforest and fringed by a necklace of sandy beaches, the Coromandel Peninsula is your PURE New Zealand experience and Pacific View is the perfect base for a 2 or 3 day stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Pacific View B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific View B&B Whangamata, South Pacific

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific View B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.