We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay; we were made very welcome by Kathryn and Peter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific View B&B

Save Saved
You added Pacific View B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pacific View B&B
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   125 Pacific View Drive, Whangamata 3620, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Whangamata B&B and Inns
Harpenden, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay; we were made very welcome by Kathryn and Peter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

Kathryn and Peter were great hosts. Kathryn couldn't do enough for us and made our short stay so wonderful. The house is clean and welcoming with marvellous view from the lounge and dining room. Kathryn paid a lot of attention to details to make sure that our stay was comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious and were cooked to perfection. We would certainly stay with Kathryn and Peter again when and if we go back to Whangamata again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
111
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ladera Ranch, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

We stayed for five days in March 2011 and really enjoyed our stay. The B&B is up on a hill with a great view and we found it to be an excellent location to explore the Coromandel peninsula. We booked the king bedroom with en-suite bathroom and the room was very nice with a lot of attention to detail and cleanliness.
Peter and Kathryn are wonderful hosts and they did everything to make our stay comfortable. From a cooked to order breakfast to happy hour to transportation to town they will always be there to meet your needs. This is very different from a standard hotel stay and can be highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

This is a great little B&B Where you immediately feel welcomed as houseguests rather than customers. The owners will go to great lengths to offer everything from tea and snacks to advice and help with anything you might possibly need (even searching the internet to find us a hotel at the Auckland Airport.) The house is lovely, the beds very comfortable, and there are little added touches everywhere. And the delicious breakfast, where we actually had gourmet choices from a small menu, was the best we had in New Zealand.

We've enjoyed staying at B&B's all over the world and consider ourselves connoisseurs. Pacific View definitely gets an A+.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

Book early to avoid disappointment. Wonderful host nothing is too much trouble.eg Reading glasses left but promply forwarded to us at no extra charge. Drove us to a restaurant and picked us up so we could enjoy a glass or two of wine! Superb breakfast. with lots of choice. Five minutes for the center of town. Spectacular views over the bay. Nice sandy beach pleasant to walk on.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

Above the seaside town of Whangamata sits ' Pacific view' a post modern 'Art Deco' house, looking across towards the sheltered harbour and beach now famous for
fishing and surfboarding, attracting people from all parts of the North Island.
The genial hosts, Kathryn and Peter go out of their way to make the guests comfortable
in this most impressive house in which everything is of a high quality. There is also a lift for guests who may find walking up stairs difficult.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

This is a fantasic B & B. Kathryn and Peter are great hosts, very welcoming and friendly and their local knowledge and tips were invaluable during our stay. The bedroom was very well equipped with much attention to detail and many extras were provided which we appreciated. They have even installed a lift to take the luggage upstairs! Free Wi Fi and the use of a lap top were an added bonus. Breakfasts were excellent and we also had dinner with Kathryn and Peter which was very enjoyable - good food and company.
The town is very nice, several places to eat and good shops - lovely beaches with easy access and plenty of places to walk. This B & B is highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

Up market B & B (with lift). Lovely hosts who couldn't do enough for us. View from our room was amazing and the quality of the funishings/fittings were luxurious.
High recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific View B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific View B&B

Address: 125 Pacific View Drive, Whangamata 3620, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whangamata
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Whangamata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pacific View B&B 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pacific View B&B is a small boutique B&B offering quality accommodation for discerning travellers. Located at the top of the highest hill in Whangamata on the Coromandel Peninsula it has spectacular views out to the Pacific Ocean. Clad in a luxuriant subtropical rainforest and fringed by a necklace of sandy beaches, the Coromandel Peninsula is your PURE New Zealand experience and Pacific View is the perfect base for a 2 or 3 day stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Pacific View B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific View B&B Whangamata, South Pacific

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific View B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.