We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good accommodation but little to do in poor weather, out of season” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marine Reserved Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Marine Reserved Apartments to your Saves list
Marine Reserved Apartments
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   cnr Ocean Road & Lowe Street, Whangamata 3506, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Buonconvento
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Very good accommodation but little to do in poor weather, out of season”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We had booked in here for 3 nights in mid-April. The apartment was very well equipped and very clean. The garage, with remote control opening, was large enough for two cars and also contained a washing machine of which we made extensive use. Whangamata is a small place and seemed somewhat deserted - the season was definitely at an end. Bad weather moved in the day we arrived (rain, strong winds) limiting the attraction of driving along the coast and visiting hot-water beach and other sights. We ended up renting DVDs from a local store. On the second evening we decided to eat out but didn't arrive at the restaurant (Argo) until 8.00pm only to find that the kitchen had closed for the night! Faced with continuing bad weather we cut our losses and moved on to Auckland.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment.
All clean shiny and modern in a great location.

As with this style of accommodation its pretty soulless. Not much in the way of personality.
Annoyingly there are six of everything, 6 plates, 6 bowls, 6 glasses, so after every meal, on goes the dishwasher. Things like fruit bowls, water jugs, serving platters just don't exist. Also if your in a 3 bedroom apartment there's going to be a few of you, so you need large fry pans, large saucepans, stuff that works for a group.

Some artwork, a clock, a map, anything on the walls would be great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This was great accommodation; we loved our 2 wk stay. The apartment had everything you needed - washing machine, dryer, BBQ & real BBQ tools, full kitchen, vacum cleaner, double garage etc & everything was in working order.
The apartment was a really good size; we have just stayed 2 wks & also stayed 2 nights with family end of January. 6 adults can stay here very easily, there is more than enough room and the location is superb; it was a 10 min stroll to shops & 20 walk to supermarket or 4 mins in the car. The beach is about 2 min walk.
We thought prices were reasonable & stepped down quite nicely after busy January.
We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

These apartments are fabulous, very modern and clean, with everything you need. Very large glass doors leading out onto a balcony, parking in garage underneath the apartment.
Great location, a 10 min walk from town centre, but 5 mins away from a lovely long beach. Only 2 problems, firstly it did not have aircon (just ok for us in mid Feb but wouldn't be sure abour Dec or Jan), and secondly the mattress was a bit soft and the pillows too firm for us. Having said that we would not look anywhere else if returning to Whangamata.
The owner was also very welcoming and informative.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stalybridge
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I'm surprised The Marine Reserved Apartments doesn't have more reviews. We stayed there in February 2013 for 5 nights and would thoroughly recommend it.

The apartments are spacious, well maintained and spotlessly clean. They're a stone's throw from the beach and it's possible to walk into town in about ten minutes along the beach or down the road. There are two styles of apartment and we had one over two levels, double garage (with washer and dryer), bedroom and bathroom on the ground floor and two more bedrooms, bathroom, fully fitted kitchen and lounge on the first floor. Ideal for two couples who want a bit of privacy, or for a family of six. The balcony, with BBQ, gets the morning sun for those who like to breakfast outdoors. There's even an outside shower to get rid of the sand from the beach.

There's an exceptional restaurant, Argo, about 100 metres down the road, a few doors down from a good convenience store. Whangamata has a good range of shops, restaurants and bars as well as the harbour. An ideal base for the Coromandel.

Room Tip: We would recommend the apartments on the beach side. Bigger garages, accommodation over two levels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We had apartment # 6, which was really spacious, modern, clean and nicely decorated. There is a garage downstairs and a large balcony upstairs. The kitchen is fully equipped and there is a separate toilet from the shower - handy for a family. The apartments are very quiet and just one block from the beach. Highly recommendable!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We have just returned to Auckland after spending 2 nights in an apartment here at Marine Reserved. The accommodation was absolutey fantastic, just spot on for our needs, travelling with an elderly parent who likes to have their own bathroom facilities does not often meet our requirements here in NZ.
We can thoroughly recommend staying here & will return again in a heart beat!!!

Far enough away from the beach front to be interesting, & such a short good level walk into the shops for an early morning coffee.

The apartment located on two levels was spotless & was on the mark for our standard which is high. Ample dishes in the cupboards, a good oven, hot plates, ample hot water.
A very pleasant outlook & a comfortable enjoyable deck to enjoy the early morning sun!

Highly recommend & we will return! By the way very good hosts, helpful & welcoming!

Room Tip: Quiet & so clean, first impressions are the most lasting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marine Reserved Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Reserved Apartments

Address: cnr Ocean Road & Lowe Street, Whangamata 3506, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whangamata
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Whangamata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marine Reserved Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Marine Reserved Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Reserved Apartments Whangamata, South Pacific

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marine Reserved Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.