We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, welcoming and helpful hosts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   174 Vista Paku | Pauanui Beach, Pauanui 2850, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pauanui
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Friendly, welcoming and helpful hosts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Spent 3 enjoyable nights in this functional motel. What made our stay here memorable was the advice and guidance from Garry and Jan. Nothing was too much trouble, advice on restaurants, places of interest and even the supply of body board to take advantage of the waves. The rooms were clean and had everything necessary to self cater. Garry helped with lighting the barbecue one evening and we had a great steak meal (beware local Tairua butcher overcharging for meat!) ps bring your own tennis balls to take advantage of the court.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    31
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
26
83
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

My husband and I finished a week long visit to the North Island with a stay at Pauanui Pines Motor Inn. To be honest, I was concerned before I got there due to the other hotels that our travel agency had reserved for us. Pauanui Pines was a welcome relief.

We stayed for two nights. We had what was essentially a one bedroom apartment. It was immaculately clean and very comfortable. Our hosts, Jan and Gary could not have been more accommodating. The Inn offers everything a guest could need even down to the shovels needed for the hot water beach. There was even a grill available for those who wished to prepare their own meals and bikes if you wanted to ride or golf clubs for those so inclined.

While we were there the guest WiFi was not working one day. For us, this was not a problem as we are retired and did not need to check in anywhere. Nonetheless, Gary was very concerned. He called the provider several times and then offered the use of the hotel's connection, which we refused as we really did not have anything pressing to send. He continued to pursue it relentlessly.

I wish we had stayed here longer. Pauanui is a well kept secret. It is a beautiful, out of the way place to unwind and de-stress. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

We arrived in New Zealand on a Sunday and headed to Pauani the next day for two nights. To our dismay, we had seen on the news that there was flooding and I immediately started calling around for backup lodging in Auckland before calling Pauanui Motor Lodge. When I called the lodge Garry had assured me that it had all ran off and everything was ok. You couldn't even tell there had been a flood the day before. What I thought was going to be the beginning of a disastrous trip turned out to be so wonderful. We weren't expecting all of the free amenities. Like others I wish we would have been able to stay longer. Jan and Garry are wonderful. My mom had lost part of an earring, told Jan, and housekeeping found it. Everything is so convenient and within walking distance such as shopping center and beach. We were there for New Years Eve and the fireworks were great along with airshow with vintage Russian planes. our timing was perfect by catching all the sights and sounds. Thanks to Jan and Garry for sending our adapter to my daughter in Auckland.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

My partner and two teenage children stayed here for 2 nights in January. However, I wished we stayed longer. We had a two bedroom and 2 bathroom accommodation. What a bonus the second bathroom is when you have teenagers. We had access to a guest laundry and WIFI. We wished we had booked more nights because there is so much to see in this area.The hosts were lovely and provided tennis racquets,balls and bikes plus spades for hot water beach all as part of their service.

.

Room Tip: I would always add an extra 1 or 2 nights more to really enjoy your stay, The Cathedral Cove and Hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Värnamo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We got on very well here. Great service attitude.Fine orderly and tidy cottage. And in the morning before we left Pauanui we also had a dip in the resort pool. Overall a very good place. A place we hopefully, sometime, will come back to.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

My wife ,daughter and son in law spent 2 nights at this fabulous set up.
Our host Jan was lovely and made sure we had everything we wanted.
The rooms were spotless and the set up of interconnecting rooms / villas is really well planned.
Free use of bikes made life easy in this lovely location.

Can't wait to go back

Room Tip: Any room will do but don't expect Sky TV. it's the only thing missing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Jan and Garry were really welcoming and very friendly and helpful. We were absolutely thrilled to find that we could cook for ourselves after days of eating out/hotel food.

Lots of ideas given by Jan whilst we were there and informing us of the best way to go round the peninsula if we wanted to do this or that.

Chalet very comfortable and clear. Well equipped and there was a laundry facility which was 2NZD for the washer and the same for a dryer.

I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge

Address: 174 Vista Paku | Pauanui Beach, Pauanui 2850, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Pauanui
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pauanui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pauanui Pines accommodation consists of 18 one and two bedroom self-contained motel units, each one offering superior decor and spacious functional living. One bedroom and two bedroom units have full kitchen facilities, large bathrooms, lounge and dining areas. Some motel units have the ability for alfresco dining. Cooked and continental breakfasts can be delivered to your motel unit on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pauanui Pines Hotel
Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.