We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much more. than a motor lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   174 Vista Paku | Pauanui Beach, Pauanui 2850, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pauanui
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“So much more. than a motor lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Very well designed complex, individual cabin style units which were exceptionally clean and well equiped.We were there in an off peak time with only a couple of other visitors. The cabins were nicely placed and quite private and the outlook was lovely. a very peaceful and picturesque area,with all you need in walking distance from your room. I would strongly recommend staying here to anyone looking in this area, we were on a road trip of the beautiful Nth Island of New Zealand and found this sort of accommodation so much nicer than motels. There is a laundry for guests to use, ideal when you are on the road for a long time,and self catering is an added bonus. The owner Barry was very pleasant and took time to advise you of all the things in surrounding areas worth seeing,going as far as to lend a a shovel and towels so we could venture off to the hot beach and dig our own thermal hot pool.[something that is really worth experiencing]. We would have stayed longer if time had allowed and certainly hope to visit again in the future. There is also a pool and tennis court if you are there in the summer and the property backs onto a golf course, which is a lovely backdrop.If you are looking for a nice casual spot for dinner try the Lime bar restaurant across the road, excellent food and extremely friendly hosts.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    31
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
26
84
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Whilst this was out of season for Pauanui we had a great if very short stay at this property. Barry met us with all the news and some great local tips then escorted us to the unit. The unit was very well set out and quite comfortable. We had a two bedroom unit which was quite clever in layout to clearly split into two single units if needed. Bathrooms were clean the hot water magnificent.
Easy walk to anywhere, whilst there is not much in Pauanui, what is there works.

Great spot in the lovely New Zealand Coramandel area.

Room Tip: Check with the operators to ensure you get a unit layout that suits you. Very helpful over email
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

excellent facilities
very quiet, picturesque area short walk to beach, surfing, swimming, boating, fishing, golf courses
very close to small village with 2 restaurants, take away food shop, and self catering
clean comfortable facilities
very friendly and helpful manager

Room Tip: rooms all have separate living and bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decorah, Iowa
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Great place - a refreshing change from the hotel bit. Barry Fitzpatrick the owner was delightful to work with...very helpful. We enjoyed using the Bar-B and having breakfast self-catered in our room. The dogs were an added bonus! Fun time and central to a tour of the peninsula. What scenery.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This motor lodge is beautiful, in its surroundings, and its accommodations, The cottage we rented in August 2012 was immaculate and very comfortable with a coziness and ambiance that was delightful. Instead of the usual white sheets and towels of most places, they have beautiful taupe towels and lovely soft creamy sheets. We loved it and highly recommend it. The price is reasonable with a very friendly, helpful owner. It is walking distance to the beach and shopping center. Archies is the fabulous restaurant just a few blocks away from the motor lodge. I'm impressed by their size of the cottage andI look forward to a return visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

In my honeymoon in NZ we arrived late to Pauanui ready to rest in the Pines Motor Lodge with an already booked room. when we arrived, there was nobody there to receive us. My surprise was next day, after being afraid to sleep in the car during a frozen night and finally sleeping in a B&B, the boss told me that he was there all night looking the All Blacks!!! We called, rang the bell all night without any reply. This has been an unfortunate experience and I think that it is not a good place to stay because In the case of being there nobody could have helped me if I was in trouble during the night!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PauanuiRobynG, Owner at Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Hello Fuzzytrip
It is a pity you have written this revue Such a revue requires you to be totally factual. We believe you fall well short of this. Therefore, we will make little comment.
We feel we must point out to readers that we do live on the property, close to our office, and the night you claim we were out we were certainly here, waiting for you..
Regards
Barry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

The beautiful pine lodge is very clean with modern fittings and is very comfortable. Kitchen is equipped for cooking (pots, plates, cutleries). Our host, Barry, is friendly and suggested places for us to visit as well as guided us on the best routes to take to reach our destination.
The lodge is conveniently located across the street from a mini supermarket and a few restaurants. It is also about 5 minutes walk from the Pacific Ocean.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge

Address: 174 Vista Paku | Pauanui Beach, Pauanui 2850, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Pauanui
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pauanui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pauanui Pines accommodation consists of 18 one and two bedroom self-contained motel units, each one offering superior decor and spacious functional living. One bedroom and two bedroom units have full kitchen facilities, large bathrooms, lounge and dining areas. Some motel units have the ability for alfresco dining. Cooked and continental breakfasts can be delivered to your motel unit on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pauanui Pines Hotel
Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.