We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lime Room

The Lime Room
Shop 10 | Shop 10, Pauanui Shopping Centre, Pauanui 3546, New Zealand
+64 7-864 8649
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Pauanui
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: Pizza, Seafood, Vegetarian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Lime Room is a friendly bar located in the heart of beautiful Pauanui on the Coromandel Peninsula. We have an extensive menu which changes seasonally and caters to all tastes including allergy friendly foods. We feature many of the popular sports on our large screen and have a wide array of beers, wines, and spirits. Join us on your next night out in Pauanui, we are sure you won't be disappointed.
Pauanui, New Zealand
1 review
“Love the place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

In the area for a weeks vacation and just been for our second visit as it was so good first time.

Food and drink, service and atmosphere are great and we will certainly return when next in the area.
The pizza, which has been mentioned in another post, was superb and probably one of the best we have had. We travel extensively throughout the world and have eaten pizza in lots of lovely places.
Internet access is a big plus.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLimeRoom, Owner at The Lime Room, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your fab review. It was a pleasure serving you and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    15
    6
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Sub standard food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We ate at this restaurant this weekend on our first visit to Pauanui encouraged by the good reviews we had read. The service was excellent in that the serving personnel were most friendly and accommodating. However, serving a drink in a glass cracked from top to bottom is not a good look.
Food was served in good time, with a smile, and was reasonably priced. We had prawns and fettucine and a meat injection pizza. The pizza earns the title of the worst pizza I have ever eaten. Not only was the base burnt black around the edge the thick combination of sauces and pineapple rendered the meat impossible to taste. The fettucine similarly suffered from a citrus sauce which was inappropriate. We did notice another table with a pizza left almost untouched.
There is not much choice of eateries in Pauanui so maybe this is why the takeaway bar next door was so extremely popular. I do not know whether the cook is in a 'sweet taste' phase or an experimental phase but our limited experience would suggest it is not working.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLimeRoom, Owner at The Lime Room, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
It is with deep regret to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us. We work hard to ensure an all round pleasant experience and reading your review comes as somewhat of a shock. You mention the cracked glass; we would never intentionally serve a drink in a cracked glass. If you recall I did replace your drink immediately and at our cost.
Our pizzas are cooked in a traditional Italian stone base pizza oven that runs at 350-400 degrees. It is perfectly normal for the cheese on the edge to be burnt a little and I know for a fact that it was not the entire base. In fact no pizzas were returned, one customer requested to take the remaining half pizza home for the next day.
The Prawns & Asparagus fettuccine is advertised on our menu with a citrus sauce so it would be inappropriate to not include it. We actually have many requests to purchase the sauce individually.

Again we are sorry we did not live up to your expectations. We hope that you visit us again and try our other delicious dishes, and please note that if you do not like any ingredients we are happy to accommodate changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“The best bistros we've visited in NZ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I'm coeliac and I have to say that the general level of understanding and food provision for us in NZ is superb. The Lime Room exceeds these general levels by a country mile. Almost everything on their varied menu is GF or can be modified with the least level of fuss. The lady proprietor is a gem, she understands the needs of wheat intolerant folks - she produces lovely puddings with GF biscuits, GF chocs and rich fruit sauces to die for. It's a very relaxed place and no one gets stroppy if food takes a little longer to prepare because in the end it's of excellent quality and produced freshly and to order. Well done Lime Room.
PS have you ever thought of setting up business in the UK?

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLimeRoom, Owner at The Lime Room, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thanks for your excellent review. Our gluten free expertise makes us a unique eatery on the Coromandel and I am so glad that we were able to accomodate. We have thought of moving on in the future although I don't think the UK was on the radar, sorry :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerald, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Used this restaurant several times.The food was well presented, well cooked and at an excellent price. The staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them; even got offered coffee when the restaurant was closed while using Internet hotspot.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLimeRoom, Owner at The Lime Room, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review. Our excellent staff work hard to ensure you have the best experience possible and I am so happy that we have provided that to you. We look forward to you next visit :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new plymouth
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Yummy Seafood Chowder !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We had lunch at The Lime Room and was a wonderful experience. Sat outside and ate gorgeous yummy seafood chowder accompanied by bread rolls washed down with a large flatwhite which was very well made. Would go back again.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLimeRoom, Owner at The Lime Room, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for you awesome review. We hope that you enjoy every visit to TheLimeRoom equally as much. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lime Room also viewed

Pauanui, Coromandel Peninsula
Pauanui, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Pauanui, Coromandel Peninsula
Pauanui, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to The Lime Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lime Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.