We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solitude amongst the trees” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort to your Saves list
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mount Ave | Pauanui Beach, Pauanui 3546, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pauanui
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Solitude amongst the trees”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Nestled amongst the trees, the chalets are private and well appointed with a private deck. The deluxe chalet has a larger bathroom with a sizable bath suitable for two adults. The restaurant serves great food and the Pauanui area makes for a nice break.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear DHC2-Man,
We are pleased you enjoyed your solitude amongst the trees at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort and thank you for taking the time to post your review. We would love to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    177
    96
    47
    26
See reviews for
69
334
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Looking forward to a night out and a good meal, at our local hotel. Sadly, was left waiting for our meal for over an hour, and was in danger of eating the napkin! So had to tell staff of our disappointment, especially as a meal was brought to our table, but promptly taken away as it seems it wasn't our order. Things there need to be more businesslike, and organised before we will try again! 2 out of 10

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear HI25,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort. We apologise for the delay & inconvenience encountered whilst dining in the restaurant. The issues have been addressed with the staff. Once again, we thank you for your feedback & hope you can return to enjoy a pleasant dining experience in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Got a 'Wotif' special bed and breakfast package in a treetop chalet for a birthday treat, and was pleasantly surprised. Had heard the place was well past its best however for the price we were more than happy. The chalet ( no. 1 ) had been tastefully renovated with a great bathroom, comfortable furnishings and a huge tv, and was spotlessly clean. Lovely private setting amongst the native bush with glimpses of Tairua Harbour through the trees. Very peaceful and relaxing. Staff were friendly and welcoming, and the restaurant was excellent for dinner. Breakfast was fairly simple but adequate. The place seemed empty which is a great shame. Facilities are great with a lovely pool, spa, gym and tennis court all set in the lovely native bush. I have never been a great fan of Pauanui but would have to say I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear Fourkiwis,
We are so pleased you enjoyed your birthday treat in the treetop chalet and thank you for taking the time to post your review on Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort. We are glad that you enjoyed the chalet's fittings, and the peaceful and relaxing setting of the property. We'd love to see you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed here at the end of April in two studio rooms as my sister and husband are ACCOR members, OMG where to start i could rave on about this place all day what amazing accommodation, set within the beautiful bushland with amazing views. The rooms are the best i have ever stayed in so clean well equipped, the best bed and shower. Now to the restaurant we ate there two nights and what an experience the food was to die for the flavours, the presentation and the service where fantastic. One small negative would be is that as we were travelling it would have been nice to be able to make your own continental breakfast in your room, ie a toaster would be great. I must say your legs get up work out walking up the hills, which is well worth it and i am sure the staff would run you up in a car if you felt you couldn't do the walk. Highly,highly recommend. Thanks Puka Park!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear Leah H,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort. We particularly like your feedback stating that "the rooms are the best I have ever stayed in", together with your appreciation of the restaurant food, presentation, and service. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Absolutely wonderful. I had read some of the older reviews about the place needing some work, or snooty staff and I experienced NONE of that - they hotel had obviously taken their feedback seriously and made some big changes.
My friend and I were having a weekend away, and stayed in chalet 6 Tawa treetop room. The fully tiled bathroom, with underfloor heating and dual rain/hand shower was immaculately clean and was elegant. I also enjoyed the 'kauri' bathroom products. The room was stylishly decorated, everything was in good working condition and was also clean and tidy. There was a fridge, complimentary tea and coffee including a selection of herbal teas.
When we arrived there were a number of couples just ahead of us. Despite our protests that we could manage to get our bags up the hill to our room ourselves the staff member doing the buggy runs up the hill insisted on coming back to help us, in a way that made us feel important and no trouble all at the same time. I think this was Jocelyn? She was warm and welcoming, while also being very professional. The lady at the check in counter was also helpful, directing us to additional information such as the tide times and availability of spades for digging at hot water beach, or advising us of alternative things to do in the area. She also confirmed a reservation for dinner that evening at Miha, which is not to be missed. The food was excellent and reasonably priced for a hotel restaurant. Again the staff in the restaurant were courteous and professional.
There was a fire burning in the hotel lounge and the rugby on the tv, but not so loud that it disturbed us dining.
The pool was warm enough to swim in, in May which I thought was great, the spa could have done with being a degree or more warmer - but I did stay in an hour gazing at the stars and listening to Ruru (Morepork), so it can't have been THAT cold. The hotel provided pool towels, which was great as we hadn't thought to bring any, and again when requested them the staff were friendly and professional.
It was an easy walk to the beach, 7 minutes at most, where there are bush walks up Mt Pauanui - the summit is not for the faint hearted but the view at the top was spectacular.
Yes, there are still a few pot holes in the driveway, and a few loose pieces of wood on our rooms deck fence - I noticed as I have small children at home, my friend did not - but they have obviously made some inroads into their improvements and it showed. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and would struggle to think of anything that needed work on. Charming place and people, would go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear laidbacknz,
We are so pleased you and your friend enjoyed both the charm of the property and the staff. We are glad you appreciated the decor of the chalet and the many attractions nearby. We would love to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

My husband and I visited what was at that time Puka Park some 21 years ago and we were delighted to see the venue was as stunning as ever. It certainly is a magic spot set within beautiful native bush with a host of tuis.

The chalets have recently been refurbished and have a fresh coat of paint and look like new. Hard to believe it's been open for over 20 odd years.

The staff are all very helpful and obliging. Breakfast in the sun on the balcony was stunning and dinner inside at night certainly lived up to expectations.

No wifi in the rooms... no problem. Glad to get the kids off their gadgets and heavens sake we're all here for a break aren't we? Good reason to unplug for a couple of days. Access is available in the main building if you really need it for work.

Great break away and would recommend to all (ladies leave your highheels at home though, you'll need your flats to get back up to your Chalet - good for the calves!).

Room Tip: They're all lovely but if you do have trouble walking I would suggest you request somewhere as c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear Quest N,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort. We are so glad you've returned after all these years and were delighted with the refurbishment which hasn't detracted from it being a magical spot. We hope to welcome you back sooner next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Simply amazing! We stayed at the Kauri chalet and it was beautiful! I will definitely be coming back! We were welcomed by a very wonderful receptionist (I believe her name was Jocelyn?). The staff were all wonderful, and as my partner put it: made him "feel at home". Service and facility was flawless!Thank you for making our anniversary very memorable!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear MaggieMax0426,
Congratulations on your anniversary! Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort. We are so pleased you were made to "feel at home" during your stay. We'd love to host you again on your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort

Address: Mount Ave | Pauanui Beach, Pauanui 3546, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Pauanui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pauanui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort is located at Pauanui Beach on the Coromandel Peninsula, 2 hours drive south east of Auckland. This luxurious, secluded hideaway features 48 chalets set in 10 hectares of native bushland, an award winning restaurant, guest lounge and sun decks with views overlooking Pauanui and the Pacific Ocean. Facilities include a tennis court, swimming pool and the nearby beach has 3km of golden sand and renowned for surfing. There are many bush tracks to explore and array of activities in the Coromandel region. A ferry service operates to nearby Tairua, home to cafes and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Puka Park Hotel Pauanui
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort Pauanui, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.