We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique, but could be improved” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort

Save Saved
You added Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mount Ave | Pauanui Beach, Pauanui 3546, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Pauanui
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unique, but could be improved”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I'll start by saying that we were only at Puka Park for about 12 hours--we arrived late and left early, and I do wish that we had more time to explore the grounds. However, my impression that was for the price (relative to other places we stayed in NZ) Puka Park was not a great value. The layout in the bush is unique and interesting, but the overall quality/cleanliness was a few steps under what I expected for the price point.

Having arrived late, we did have a very enjoyable late dinner in the restaurant, where the staff was very accommodating, even staying so that we could have a drink after dinner and never making us feel rushed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear MSpencer05,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your dinner at the restaurant during your short stay. Your comments regarding the staff are appreciated and have been passed on to them. Again, thank you for review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    154
    86
    42
    25
See reviews for
57
289
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Savigny, Switzerland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We were very very disappointed in this so-called Resort Hotel. The receptionist was very rough upon our check-in. There is no free or complementary wifi. The rooms were very damp and smelly. Room maintenance was appalling : bathroom not cleaned properly, bed not made up correctly, broken light bulbs not replaced. We were even bitten by bed bugs.
Service at breakfast very lazy. Pool and fitness room outdated. Property not maintained, woodwork and wooden tables\chairs urgently need coating. Would never go there again. Big waste of money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Isis1961,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park. We are sorry to read that you were disappointed with your stay. We do currently charge for internet access. A full review of the current provider is taking place any changed will be implemented during the refurbishment which will take place later this year. All beds are checked regularly for any defects. We can confirm that we have not detected a case of bed bugs in any beds. During the warmer months the area does get midges and sans flies which can come into the rooms if doors are left open.
As mentioned, a full refurbishment of this prime beachside location will commence in mid 2013. The design will be part of our resort series, typically matched to the beautiful surrounding area. The aspects of the design will be focused on achieving a New Zealand lodge atmosphere which will be captured through the central facility with fireplace and stylish furnishings; in conjunction with the use of a classic colour palette, new release bathroom furniture and fittings in the rooms.

In line with Accor’s commitment to environment sustainability all in room lighting will be energy efficient. Bathroom and kitchen tap ware will be all the latest in water efficient design and in room appliances have been reduced and replaced with media hubs to provide instant connectivity of travel technology to the in room TV.

Again, we thank you for your review and apologise for the disatisfaction and discomfort caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We got into our room - which was tiny, there was not enough room for us to put our cases down! As it is called a "resort", we were expecting more resort facilities. There was only a tennis court, a small pool with no towels (and no bar) and an empty gym. As a resort you can spend time in a very small room. For $400(AUD) a night we expected more luxury for an excessive price.

The restaurant was very good, but expensive.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Giselle,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park. We are disappointed to hear that you were dissatisfied with the size of your room, that you were expecting more facilities, and believed the gym to be empty.

We feel that all of the chalets are of a good size. Our leisure facilities include tennis court, solar heated outdoor pool, spa, and sauna. The gym is equipped with a treadmill, bike, weight set and rowing machine. The bar is open until 1030pm every day and often until later is there are guests wanting to stay on.

A full refurbishment of this prime beachside location will commence in mid 2013. The design will be part of our resort series, typically matched to the beautiful surrounding area. The aspects of the design will be focused on achieving a New Zealand lodge atmosphere which will be captured through the central facility with fireplace and stylish furnishings; in conjunction with the use of a classic colour palette, new release bathroom furniture and fittings in the rooms.

In line with Accor’s commitment to environment sustainability all in room lighting will be energy efficient. Bathroom and kitchen tap ware will be all the latest in water efficient design and in room appliances have been reduced and replaced with media hubs to provide instant connectivity of travel technology to the in room TV.

Again we thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for three days during our Christmas vacation. Puka Park has the most idilic private location amongst the trees yet a short walk to one of the most beautiful beaches in New Zealand. The staff are excellent and the meals we had in the restaurant were outstanding. What a pity this establishment is let down by the house keeping!! Our room was not serviced before 4.30pm each day, not all the bins were emptied and we never had a cup or glass washed during our stay. On the final day we made the bed ourselves and changed the towles as they are left in a bag near the front door. When paying over $300 a night I think it is reasonabe to expect better service than this
Unfortunately this is the only hotel in the area and as such have a captive audience, thus believing they can charge international prices and offer substandard service.

Room Tip: Rooms 44 and 45 are close to the restaurant and ar park and don't require much of a hill climb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Meggan H,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park. We are so sorry to read that your stay at this unique property and wonderful location was spoilt by poor housekeeping. This is simply unacceptable and has been addressed with the General Manager.
Despite this experience we do hope that you enjoyed your Christmas break. Again, we thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

hotel is really great, guest stay at the small house up in the mountain, quiet and relax.
walk through the little, cute town, after 6-8 mins you will arrive at the beautiful beach. even during the Xmas time the beach has only about 10 people, really a great place to be if you want some quiet time.
about 5 mins drive, you can arrive at the shopping centre& restaurant of the town.( a supermarket and couple restaurants&cafe)
hotel has a nice outdoor pool,
the restaurant offer is breakfast lunch and dinner, breakfast was simple and okay, dinner is great even though we had to wait for the food for really long,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Yunqi C,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at this unique property. We agree, Pauanui is a beautiful location for a relaxing break.
Again, many thanks for your review. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new plymouth
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We were seated at probably the best seat in the restaurant with a beautiful view of the harbour channel and the township. We started with Canadian Lobster Ravioli ($26) and Hot Water Beach Baby Paua ($30), both had Whole Roasted Quail for Main ($39.95 each) , Sauteed Schwan Chilli Pineapple ($14.50) for dessert and Creme Brulee ($15.50) washed down with Koropiko Wines & local Coromandel beers finished off with flatwhites. Total was $233. Now the food was lovely but extremely small portions ..smaller than other fine dining restaurants serve...the creme brulee dish was only half full and was accompanied by a golf ball size scoop of ice cream. The flatwhites were perfect !! Compliments to Jordan who was in training..only been in NZ for 2 weeks from Canada...gave us an excellent customer service experience. Inside the restaurant was tastefully decorated and sat outside on the balcony also in lovely lounge chairs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear nakibikers,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your visit to Miha Restaurant at Grand Mercure Puka Park. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your meal in our fine dining restaurant. Your lovely comments regarding the great service you received from Jordan have been passed on.
Again we thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort

Address: Mount Ave | Pauanui Beach, Pauanui 3546, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Pauanui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Pauanui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort is at Pauanui Beach, 2 hours drive south east of Auckland. This luxurious, secluded hideaway features 48 chalets set in 10 hectares of native bushland, an award winning restaurant, guest lounge and sun decks with views over the harbour and Pacific Ocean. Facilities include tennis courts, a swimming pool and the nearby beach has 3km of golden sand and surf to explore. A ferry service operates to nearby Tairua, home to many cafes and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Puka Park Hotel Pauanui
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort Pauanui, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.