We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Papamoa Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Papamoa Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort to your Saves list
Papamoa Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort
5.0 of 5 Motel   |   535 Papamoa Beach Road, Papamoa 3118, New Zealand   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Papamoa
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Better than expected!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I was booked in to this park with my husband for an overnight stay by a third party. When I heard we were staying at a campground, I wondered what we were in for. I was extremely surprised when we pulled up as this was not what we expected. It was very flash for a camp ground! The resort is beautiful. Well maintained with loads of facilities for all kinds of holiday makers and an excellent play area for children. We stayed in a beach front villa which was excellent. Absolute beachfront, two bedroom, self contained villa. Very modern, warm and comfortable.
The staff were very welcoming and friendly and knew all about the area and all the fun activities.
The resort is only a few kms form the mall and Mount Maunganui.
Great security as you had to have a swipe card to get in and out of the grounds.
The resort is next to a good restaurant too. Bluebiyou. Fantastic views, great menu, good prices. The wine is great too!
An awesome night and I wish we could stay longer. We will definitely be back with our son at some stage. A perfect family holiday location.

Room Tip: Get a beachfront villa for the most beautiful view to wake up to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PapamoaBeachTop10, Reception at Papamoa Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a great review and adding some great photos of your stay in a Beachfront Villa. We are lucky enough to be right on Papamoa Beach and have beautiful views of the ocean and Mt Maunganui. An added bonus is also being so close to cafes, restaurants and shopping! We take pride in providing our guests with a quality product and excellent service. Its great to hear you enjoyed you stay. We look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    26
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
31
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
North Shore City, New Zealand
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Unit small but adequate, tidy and clean. The villas look very nice, we will stay there next time.
The unit was warm and cosy and had everything we needed but was very basic.
Location Is excellent, right next to a beautiful surf beach, a nice restaurant and within easy walking distance to supermarket, food shops etc.u

Room Tip: The villas look to be the best value, a little more luxurious that the holiday units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PapamoaBeachTop10, Reception at Papamoa Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a great review about your stay with us at Papamoa Beach. We have many different types of accommodation ranging from camp sites to luxury villas, we have something for everyone! Many of our sites and accommodation have stunning views of Papamoa Beach. We are lucky enough to be walking distance from shops, cafes and restaurants but have a feeling of being miles away! We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed here in one of the deluxe cabins which overlooked the beach ... Very clean , had everything we needed. The park was clean with great facilities . The position was great though I wonder if in the middle of summer it would be too noisy as the cabins did overlook the car park. The staff however were exceptional . Great service and very helpful and friendly .

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PapamoaBeachTop10, Reception at Papamoa Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
We are lucky enough to have a fabulous location which is the only one right on the beach front in the Bay Of Plenty and still close to everything you need. We take pride in providing our guests with the best experience possible and it’s great to hear you enjoyed your time with us! The Deluxe Holiday Units are located on the beachfront with wonderful views over the Papamoa Domain, the carpark and Papamoa Beach. Many of our guests do enjoy watching all the beach-goers during the summer, however for those that wish to have totally un-interrupted views of Papamoa’s white sandy beach, the Beachfront Villas are the top choice. We hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
213 hotel reviews
Reviews in 196 cities Reviews in 196 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Papamoa Beach Top 10 Holiday Park is located near State Highway 2. The park has the beach at its doorstep. At walking distance you find a shopping mall and a fashion centre.

Arriving at dusk after a day on the road, we were welcomed by the park's receptionist. She quickly checked us in for a powered site and we got a convenient spot. As it was off-season some of the large number of showers & toilets were closed. The communal toilets and showers were clean and well maintained.

The 16 acres large seaside park offers cabins, studio units and powered & unpowered sites. Apparently the park is a popular holiday destination. In summer it must be a crowded place. For cars & camper-vans it has a code controlled entry.

The park hosts quite a number of semi-permanent & weekend residents scattered over the park which gives the park at places a somewhat shabby outlook. Facilities include private spa pools, TV room, coin-operated laundry facility, shared kitchen facility, internet kiosk, mini-pétanque and a BBQ area which we all didn’t use. We had Wi-Fi internet for NZ$ 7 per day.

Considering its outlook and notwithstanding its ocean side location we found Papamoa Beach Top 10 Holiday Park slightly overpriced for the quality offered. Nonetheless we recommend the park to all who need a site for their camper-van.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PapamoaBeachTop10, Reception at Papamoa Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay with us at Papamoa Beach.
We are lucky enough to be located right on Papamoa Beach, offering many different types of accommodation to suit all. Having Papamoa town centre just down the road from us is an added bonus!
We take pride in providing our guests with a quality product and exceptional service at all times, it’s great to hear such good feedback on this.
We offer a variety of facilities for our guests including a kids adventure playground, jumping pillows, library with TV, internet kiosks and many more. One of our most popular facilities is the private bathrooms which are accessible to those who request the swipe card at reception.
We are sorry to hear that you feel that our fees are over-priced as we feel that our product and services are value for money and we are fully aware that our pricing is very competitive inline with many other parks around New Zealand.
It’s great that you enjoyed your time here and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

This place is too good to be true. I stayed at a beachside spa villa and what a view of the ocean. Very private location. The layout of the entire place is so well thought out. The room, the deck and the view of the sea from the deck is all just amazing. Lovely room. Very classy. If you are staying here then you wont do much at Papamoa coz you will not want to leave the room. One of the 2 days my room was not cleaned. Not sure why. The view of the ocean from the spa tub is blocked by trees. Not much to do around Papamoa though, the city shuts down early.

Room Tip: The beachside spa villa is totally worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PapamoaBeachTop10, Reception at Papamoa Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write such a fantastic review for your stay with us at Papamoa Beach. It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay in one of our beachfront villas. Our beachfront villas offer ultimate sea views and can be enjoyed any time of the day all year round. We offer a daily cleaning service for our villas, however you have the option of placing the no service sign outside the night before. Papamoa has grown over the years with many restaurants and cafes but remains a quiet place to relax on holiday. We hope you enjoyed your stay in NZ and see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Wonderfully laid out so that most sites get a view of the beach. The facilities are amazing, well set out and clean and functional. We were there when the camp was full and it felt like we still had plenty of room and never had to queue for amenities. HIghly recommend. The only problem we had was getting out of the grounds, the gate wouldn't open. There was also a slight mix up over payment as we had booked two sites under two names and ended up swapping them. They thought we hadn't paid the full amount but it just wasn't transferred over.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PapamoaBeachTop10, Reception at Papamoa Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Papamoa Beach. All our sites have that extra bit of room for freedom and relaxation; many of them also have excellent views of the beach.
We have three amenity blocks around the park, making sure everyone is able use the facilities without having to wait in line.
Thank you for writing a great review and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

After the sardine-tin experience of motor-homing on too many over-crowded and over-developed Top 10 sites, the space allowed us was great - as was the view of the ocean waves, breaking on the stunning sandy beach fifty metres from where we were. By far the best campervan experience we had in NZ. Friendliness abounded - in staff and fellow holiday makers (though why one Aucklander supported West Ham I do not know). A great couple of nights - wish we could have stayed longer. Good facilities and useful take-aways to hand. Only quibble - staff need to apply the stated 'no dog' policy.

Room Tip: Choose a site with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PapamoaBeachTop10, Reception at Papamoa Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a great review for your stay with us at Papamoa Beach. We are so pleased to hear that enjoyed staying with us! We are very lucky to be situated right on the absolute beachfront giving our guests the best possible experience when camping at the beach, you feel like you’re miles away but its great being handy to local shops and cafes.
We introduced a Dog Policy in March 2013 for the first time. We allow well behaved dogs on sites between 1 March - 10 Dec provided a behaviour agreement is signed on check in. We were sure that the necessary changes were made to all advertisement mentioning this, however from your comments it seems we may have missed one. If you could kindly spare a moment to email us on resort@papamoabeach.co.nz to let us know where you have seen our old policy, we will have it updated! We have enjoyed seeing people able to holiday with their beloved and well-behaved pets, the new policy has been a real success with no other guests being disturbed or inconvenienced.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Papamoa Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papamoa Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort

Address: 535 Papamoa Beach Road, Papamoa 3118, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Papamoa
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Papamoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Papamoa Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the only real beachfront complex in sunny Papamoa, Papamoa Beach Top 10 provides everything you need for a fantastic New Zealand beach holiday. Come sleep on the beach with us and wake up to the sound of the waves. Papamoa is the perfect location for swimming, surfing, fishing and strolling along miles of white sandy beach. Staying with us means relaxing and enjoying the spectacular panoramic sea views in the best possible way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Papamoa Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papamoa Beach Top 10 Holiday Hotel Papamoa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Papamoa Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.