We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real Kiwi slice of heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Katikati Bird Gardens

Katikati Bird Gardens
263 Walker Road East | RD2, Katikati 3178, New Zealand
+64 7-549 0912
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 10 things to do in Katikati
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A beautiful and extensive park on the edge of the inner Tauranga harbour; the bird gardens feature a range of both native and exotic birds. Set in delightful gardens of mature trees, lily ponds and wetlands. Gift shop. Cafe. Golf car hire. A great family day out and place to unwind.
Tauranga
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A real Kiwi slice of heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Having moved to New Zealand from the UK 4 years ago with my family, I was starting to miss the elegant beauty and tranquility of the good old fashioned English country garden. This was until we stumbled across Katikati's hidden gem. Katikati Bird Gardens is just a wonderful place to spend a few hours with your family, my little girl loved feeding the ducks, swans, chickens and other birds and she enjoyed mimicking the squawks of the Kea and Cockatoo's. The gardens are manicure just enough to give it a natural feel and the range of flora and fauna are a joy to behold. Admission was not expensive either for the whole family and they have a delightful cafe which and although service was somewhat as sedate as the setting, serves great coffee and food. We will definitely be back. :)

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    17
    10
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
1 review
“Great, even on a rainy day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Katikati Bird Gardens are a peaceful and wonderful place to catch up with friends and family and have a relaxing time walking around the beautiful gardens to see the wildlife. The food is lovely and the birds and people are very friendly. Kids love the playground by the cafe and a fluffy with a marshmallow always goes down well. The golf cart is a really good idea for elderly people who still want to see the garden but aren't up to walking it or even just for a more relaxing time going around the gardens. Overall, highly recommended for anyone of any age

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty,NZ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Katikati Bird Gardens”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

All a bit run down and sad really. Birds did not seem healthy or happy.
Our morning tea at cafe (very Pricey!) was spoilt by an over eager peacock who was very keen on a lady with me

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Charming and tranquill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

For a sedate paced nature experience this is lovely. it is not a hyped tourist stop but a very natural encounter with some local wildlife.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A great place for young and old”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We spent part of Waitangi Day there as a large 3 generation family group and we all loved it. We were pleased we had bought some packets of bird food at the counter. Spent nearly 2 hours wandering around the beatiful gardens and lakes with goldfish and eels and tadpoles. Just loved the birds. The little ones loved the high playhouse too. We stayed for lunch - lovely meal - something on the menu for all ages too. The service was good and friendly.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Katikati Bird Gardens also viewed

Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Katikati, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Katikati, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Katikati Bird Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Katikati Bird Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.