We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kaimai View Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kaimai View Motel to your Saves list
Kaimai View Motel
78 Main Rd | State Highway 2, Katikati 3166, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Katikati
Miami
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Excellent bathroom, shower, clean and friendly, all very good! Spacy room, pool, good beds, best to take a room little of the road in case you want to sleep longer. Owner is frienldly. Even wirl pool in bath

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
13
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Wonderfully surprised at how modern and comfortable these rooms were. Perfect after a few hours in the car from Auckland. Katikati is a wonderful town with an amazingly alive and creative main street. the hotel was right in the heart of the restaurants, shopping and sights. Wonderful staff who were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We were given the room at the back, away from the main road... so it was private, quiet and our car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaimaiViewMotel, Owner at Kaimai View Motel, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
As new owners..Look forward to seeing you again Thankyou..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porvoo, Finland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I had allways been sceptic about motels, having the impression they were dirty, old and stinky. Well this one definitely was NOT! I spent 2 nights in Katikati and don't regret a bit for choosing this motel. It's cheap but the rooms are big and so are the bathrooms. When I first entered I thought "wow, this is like a small apartment". I felt like home! The front desk guy was friendly and really helpfull.

On my first night I left opened candy bags of the kitchen table, only to find a bunch of sugar ants on them in the morning. My bad. I used a wet towel to get rid of them (and put everything in the fridge after that). The remains (of the ants) were cleaned during the day when I was gone :)

The location was excellent too, being on the main road in Katikati. I do know it's a small place but still. Everything you needed was on the left when leaving the motel (no need to bounce back and forth the street).

Warm thanks from Finland!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaimaiViewMotel, Owner at Kaimai View Motel, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and pleased i could help you get to your destinations. I hope your rest of your stay in NZ was enjoyable..(no more ants!!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Can't remember exactly how much we paid or exactly when, but it was around $125 for two of us.
Yes you wouldn't describe it as plush but everything you need is there and it is the cleanest and best kept motel one would ever want to stay at.
A great nights sleep as well.
Tony had obviously been in the game for a long time and has seen all sorts!!!
Mike and Linda Hughes

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We stayed at the Kaimai View motel last August for our wedding and all our guests as well. We all had a fantastic time and were amazed at the service and quality of Kaimai View. I have stayed in a lot of motels over the years and I can truely say that the standard there is amazing. I think this is a great place to stay and will definitly be back.

Room Tip: all are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Stayed for Waitangi weekend to attend a wedding. Owner is not friendly or helpful and was dishonest with pricing. Charged credit card with disputed amount and without permission and does not give you any paperwork. Rooms are very basic and for same price can get much better 15 minutes down in the road in tauranga. Take a miss - you have been warned!

Room Tip: No good room, go for another motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catxj6, Owner at Kaimai View Motel, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
We are very dissapointed that this review has been posted. We are sure that others will see that this review is certainly not in character with all the other reviews that have been posted. we are sure that common sense prevails. Obviously we dispute the contents of this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed at this motel a while back and have just got around to writing a review! This is a clean and tidy motel reasonably handy to the town centre, hosts were pleasant and helpful. Can't really go wrong with staying here.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kaimai View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaimai View Motel

Address: 78 Main Rd | State Highway 2, Katikati 3166, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Katikati
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Katikati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kaimai view is a modern high quality motel offering only the best service and amenities. Fourteen high quality units all with kitchens. Just 20 min north of Tauranga. Kaimai View is very unique with it's original art works in every unit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Kaimai View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaimai View Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.