We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning property, fabulous hosts.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matahui Lodge

Matahui Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Katikati
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Matahui Lodge
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   187 Matahui Road, Katikati 3178, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Marlborough
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Stunning property, fabulous hosts.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We arrived at 5pm in time for drinks with the neighbours. What a wonderful introduction to the outstanding hospitality we enjoyed throughout our stay. Superb meals, a stylish and comfortable room, wonderful views from the deck, strolls through Trevor & Kay's boutique vineyard and tastings of their own wine. We will return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We had a lovely stay at Matahui, Trevor and Kay are fabulous hosts. Their property is absolutely beautiful, everything has been thought of in every respect. We loved it so much that on the way back up from the South to Coromandel we stopped and stayed again at the lodge. Perfect! We absolutely loved it!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nethertown
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

if there was such an award I would give it to Trevor and Kay they are fantastic hosts who make you welcome from the moment you pull up outside their beautiful home. You would be wise to book in for dinner as the food is delicious and the wine is free flowing ( thanks to Trevor who has a dislike of empty glasses, so be warned!!!) The rooms are also very nicely decorated and despite the bad weather we still managed a dip in the hot tub !!
A truely memorable few days in great surroundings and exeptional company where we definately left as friends
Andrea & Stephen Rose

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

An absolute gem. Beautiful house with two stunning suites. Fabulous grounds and views. Kay and Trevor so welcoming, and great fun. Delicious breakfasts and dinners. Perfect

Room Tip: Both suites are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

We drove into the driveway and had no clue what we would find and when we came round the corner we saw the most beautiful home with a vineyard outside!
Our room was very tasteful and clean.
Trevor & Kay are great hosts and did everything to make our stay wonderful.
We recommend staying for dinner-Kay is an excellent cook and Trev serves the best wine and has lost of stories to tell!
Lots of places to see near by and we would most certainly go back!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

Are you looking for comfort, delicious food,a glorious setting and true Kiwi hospitality?
Then try Matahui Lodge.
Trevor and Kay gave us a perfect relaxing four night stay which was the culmination of our month's tour in NZ.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

Kay and Trevor made us unbelievably welcome from the very first minute and the purpose-built accommodation is really top class, with beautiful views over the gardens to the bay and its wildlife. The food was wonderful, as was the wine. Staying at Matahui is something of a social event, as the neighbours are likely to drop in to share the hospitality and watch the cricket/rugby. It's well worth staying in for dinner, not just for the food and wine but also to be taken through the history of the lodge and its vineyard. We really should have stayed for longer to enjoy the area to the full.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Matahui Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matahui Lodge

Address: 187 Matahui Road, Katikati 3178, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Katikati
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty lodging in Katikati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Matahui Lodge 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matahui Lodge is situated in the privacy of six acres of manicured grasslands and vineyards with tranquil inner harbour views. Architecturally designed to make the most of stunning harbour views, and elegantly furnished to provide maximum comfort and relaxation, we offer superior accommodation, whatever the occasion. Tarriff includes Continental and/or full breakfast as well as a complimentary mini bar in each room and pre-dinner drinks. Spa, gym, library, golf driving range all included. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matahui Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Matahui Lodge to your Saves list