We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parrot Cay - So lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parrot Cay by COMO

Save Saved
You added Parrot Cay by COMO to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parrot Cay by COMO
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Parrot Cay, Parrot Cay   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Nights
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Parrot Cay
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Parrot Cay - So lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I adore Parrot Cay - it is a perfect balance of beauty, hospitality, amazing spa and fantastic staff! I am very excited about my return trip back in May! The spa is a must - it is nothing short of perfect. The entire environment of Parrot Cay - is pure understand elegance - island style!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantnoble, General Manager at Parrot Cay by COMO, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you so much, and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and very excited that you have decided to return.

I look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Best Wishes

Grant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    388
    90
    30
    23
    13
See reviews for
62
326
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Although experienced travellers to high class resorts we were "First timers" to Parrot Cay
The Long journey from London had us wondering would it be worth the effort
in a word absolutely
Our big take home memories will be the amazing healthy Como menu and the Fantastic Yoga Classes with Deborah - Take a bow guys, we have been impressed

Next time we will avoid the US Spring Break as there are a few too many "free" under 12s for our liking but the island is big enough that one can always fine a quiet space like the Boiling Hole Meditation hut.
We are feeling so very relaxed and totally rejuvinated
Thank you form the bottom of our chakras

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantnoble, General Manager at Parrot Cay by COMO, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review, and for making the long trip from across the water. it is very much appreciated, and i look forward to your next visit.

Best Wishes

Grant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Parrot Cay - this was our 3rd visit....and 10 days isn’t too long!

So third time back they must be doing something right. Well they are and nature is too.

The location is just amazing. The sand and the sea incredible. There’s nothing to the island - but if you are looking for soft warm sand and a beach where you can walk out 500m and still just be at your tummy - this is it. Look out for the sand dollars and the star fish!

The pool is just great too - we avoid school vacation time so can only guess - but at adult time - after the beach it’s just great.

The rooms. We have stayed in an ocean view room and twice - including this time - in an ocean view suite. The rooms are minimal, clean, fresh and cool. Sadly ‘modern’ rooms are so hard to find in the Caribbean - but this is pretty close.

The food and drink.
The food at The Terrace (Italian / European) has improved significantly since our last visit and we alternated with The Lotus (asian fusion) which overlooks the pool. It now means there really are two good choices. The bar near The Lotus always has a buzz and the bar above The Terrace is always empty and dull. It’s a good space and a real shame it hasn't been utilised - come on Parrot Cay this could be a great bar / tapas (?) area.

The room menu has all the usuals and staff are happy to serve you a burger or caesar salad - or indeed anything they can make for you in either of the restaurants.

One warning on the meal plan - we opted originally for the half board meal plan - but realised that even the most gluttonous traveller couldn't eat enough to justify it - on our 10 day trip we could have ended up paying over $600 more than we did, if we had stayed with the meal plan. After a bit of work the resort agreed to allow us to revert to the B & B rate with meals additional.

Personal touch - the staff are friendly and helpful. Smiles and yes we can do that. However even this resort has its limits - people don’t really remember you and what you like. Being asked everyday for 10 days by the same person whether you would like coffee at breakfast - answer yes but a little later - is a little sad. (See my recent review of 21212 in Edinburgh - asked once on first morning - next day - ‘would you like your coffee a little later?’). But that said, staff do try their best - just think that management has a rather light hand and are not visible.

For UK travellers - do consider going via Miami - if you can bear immigration and customs - as UK flights are limited.

Free Wifi in room and public areas.

The transfers could also do with a bit of a revamp - the boat to and fro from the mainland is great, as is the jetty on the mainland - but the large Suburban people carriers are really a bit naff and on our way out - there were 8 of us crammed in one - liveried as a local taxi firm. At the airport we noticed a white Range Rover pull up - one couple go out - oh that was the Aman! There is competition!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantnoble, General Manager at Parrot Cay by COMO, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you very much for you kind and very constructive review, I am very please that afer visits you still enjoy your time with us.

We certainly have a few things to work to to perfect our service, and myself and the team are very commited to this.

I look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Best Wishes

Grant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My wife and I spent 4 nights here to get away from it all and relax and be pampered.
This is an amazing property located on its own island on a beautiful stretch of powder white beach.

No rising at 6 a.m. to get a spot in the shade. There are plenty of umbrellas and chairs available any time of day on the beach or at the pool.

Accommodations are either in hotel rooms which consist of small houses each with 4 individual rooms or in villas on the beach.

We stayed in a room. Each has a large balcony, is well appointed and very comfortable. Not over the top luxury but certainly more than adequate for the discerning traveller. No musty Caribbean odours in the bathroom. We were able to sleep with the doors open which is a real treat.

Service is outstanding and extremely friendly. The food is outstanding. Not cheap but portions were large and quality outstanding. There are 2 restaurants to choose from. One is general fare and the other Asian. Both however, also have a Spa menu with healthy choices. Don't be fooled though, the healthy choices were magnificent.
Breakfast is included in room rate and is amazing.
One can choose full board at an additional $150 per person per day but we found we could not eat the large breakfast and 2 additional 3 coarse meals a day.

You can also dine in your room for a minimal flat fee.

The Spa is absolutely beautiful and offers a full range of treatments.

Yoga and Pilates are available daily at no extra charge.

There are hobie cats, windsurfing and other boats available at no extra charge.

WiFi is included.

This is a spectacular property that offers everything top notch. If you want to enjoy being pampered in the caribbean, this is a no brainer.

We will definitely return

Room Tip: There are no second rate rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantnoble, General Manager at Parrot Cay by COMO, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you so much for the fantastic, detailed review, it makes all that we do worthwhile.

I look forward to meeting you on your next visit.

Best Wishes

Grant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Late with my review. Stayed here in July 2012. Having never been to T&C before we had no idea what to expect so despite going for 2 weeks we only booked the first week at Parrot Cay and decided we would visit Grace Bay and find a different hotel for our second week. Parrot Cay met us at the airport and having not booked a private transfer we had to wait in the van for other guests to arrive. This was a bit disorganised, hot and no drinks were offered. However, once we arrived at the dock you wait to set off in a lovely air con building where there are refreshments and cold towels. You are then taken by boat to the island - approx 35 mins and you are met in a golf buggy and taken to reception for checkin and a rum punch - yum.
We had a garden view room, we could see the sea in the distance so I doubt the ocean view are too different. Room is all white and blue furnishings, rustic colonial rather than luxurious but very comfortable. It's all very quiet in the evenings so don't go here if you want to party. However, if you want to completely chill out this is the place to be.
Food is very good, we started off with full board but switched to half board when we realised it was too much. Staff on the whole are very good although of course some were laid back to the point of unprofessional and sometimes even a tad sullen. Service can also be a bit hit and miss, breakfast forgotten, 30 mins to bring a drink etc.
The spa is excellent - we had fantastic massages from Siki (sorry might have spelt that wrong). Also had constations and sessions with Dr Pradeep as well as doing the Yoga etc - all very very good.
Beach is beautiful with clear aqua water, likewise pool area is great - lots of comfy beds to lounge on.
In the end having hopped on the boat to Grace Bay and seen a beach with paragliding and banana boats all over the place we dashed straight back to the comfort of PC and asked to stay another week - luckily enough they could accommodate us.
Parrot Cay is truly a place for relaxation and refreshment. The only thing I would say is why on earth do people bring children here? Bythe end of our second week there were too many destroying the peace and quiet and charging about the pool area (they would do better in Grace Bay) shame.

Room Tip: Look at the resort map before you arrive and ask for a specific block - the hotel do try and accommo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantnoble, General Manager at Parrot Cay by COMO, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out to write such a detailed review.

I am very pleased that by and large you enjoyed you stay with us, and that we could accomodate you on your return from Grace Bay.

I do apologize about some of the service glitches you experianced, this is not acceptable to us, and we will work very hard to iron them out.

Best Wishes

Grant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 9 nights in February, I can honestly say we've never stayed in a better resort. The staff are first class, they couldn't be more friendly and helpful, they even step off the path when you are walking by, they can not do enough for you and everything is done without a problem.
The one thing that really impressed us was the quality of food, first class, alot of the chef's come from Thailand so there is a nice asian influence in the food. The breakfast was truly amazing, everything from the normal pastries and fruit to a fully cooked breakfast. They even have specific juices availably for the healthy ones. In both restaurants there is the restaurant menu which always run alongside a healthy option menu which was just devine.
Although we didnt have any treatments at the spa, if you have the time and money treat yourself as the ambience is truly special.
The beach is magnificent, very quiet, there are watersports if you so wish, the sun lounges are spread out nicely so you are not ontop of the person next to you. You receive two large white beach towels daily for use so there is never any concern about your towel not covering the whole lounger.
I think the only downside was we booked the boat transfer for a specific time however ended up waiting for over an hour before the boat left (on the way to the resort), which was an hour after the scheduled departure time.
We had lovey weather the whole time we were there apart from a day of rain and the odd shower.
One thing I would say is unless you are one that eats 3 full meals a day I wouldn't bother going for the full board option as breakfast is included in your room rate. Half board would be plenty enough in my opinion. An afternoon tea is served daily in the library but be sure to arrive early especially if there are kids around.
I couldn't not recommended this resort more, we had a wonderful time and hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Garden view room which was lovely, however I would recommend a first floor room as we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantnoble, General Manager at Parrot Cay by COMO, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
All I can say is WOW, we are all so please that you enjoyed your time with us, and that you took the time to write such a wonderful review.

I am very pleased that we exceeded your expectations, and look forward to seeing you back very soon.

Best Wishes

Grant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumson NJ USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I spent a beautiful, lazy week sitting on the beach at Parrot Cay. The past two years we have spent our winter vacation in Anguilla (Cuisinart/Cap Juluca) but decided this year to try somewhere different. I am glad we did.(My review will highlight some of the differences between the two islands--realize we LOVE Anguilla, but our hotel was under renovation-hence the switch).

We had an easy 3 hour flight from NY and were met at Turks airport and whisked away in mini van to an air-conditioned luxury 'waiting- cottage' Water, beer, snacks were available to us as we waited for the private launch. The waterview was beautiful and we were being addressed by name by the staff--already. Our luggage was loaded and we set off on a good size boat with tables and inside area--one could sit up top if desired, but it looked rough to me, so we sat inside. (Trip to Anguilla is on a smaller boat-maybe 8 people tops, open air and our trips were scary--rough, rocking and rolling!) Dropped us off directly at Parrot Cay dock, loaded in golf carts and away we went! (Entering Anguilla is a process of hostility, slow passport examination and generally indifference--leaving is same bs---score PC).

After welcoming rum punch we were taken to our room. We were in room 508-garden view with slice of ocean view if you craned your neck. So quiet. So peaceful. Our room had a canopied king sized bed which was super comfortable. All decorations at the resort are white and natural. The flowers, orchids and ocean are the stars. Bathroom does need update as others have stated-but it was adequate. We spent minimal time in our room, but loved the daybed on the porch/deck. We kept the sliding doors shut-and did not have any trouble with bugs in our room.

The food was much better than expected. Breakfast buffet had beautiful fruit, yogurt, pastries, juice etc. Breakfast menu was varied as expected, and is included with package. Dinner menus were changed every 3 days and food was fine. We alternated dinner locations and did not get too bored (On Anguilla we went out to the fabulous restaurants every night and I did miss that--going off site).But beware- Wine and liquor prices are RIDICULOUS/expensive-- a vodka and club at the pool was $18--mediocre wine $14 a glass, bottle of Turks (local) Beer-$9. PC is not a party place, and everyone is tucked in tight by 10:00 pm or so (us included)--but we like to have a beer or two at the beach, which we still did, but seriously? As my husband says, you don't go on vacation to save $$, but I thought some of the prices/fees/service charges were just silly.

The spa is lovely. I had two massages and enjoyed them both very much. There is a ladies whirlpool; open air and secluded with orchids surrounding it. The spa is a gem. Be sure to check it out and enjoy the pools and natural environment. Very special. Worth it. Bonus-kids are not allowed. (Yoga but no spa at Cap Juluca)

Two important things I want to mention--there are a lot of stairs without handrails and the pathways are very dark. I commented to my husband that it would have been very difficult to bring our parents there as the paths are steep and uneven. Wear flat sandals or flipflops .
We also heard that the resort is trying to become more of a family/child friendly resort, which would ruin it. There were a few well-behaved little girls there, but they were in the minority, and their parents were extremely attentive. The beach and pool are fabulous, but all of the adults I saw were reading, relaxing, beachcombing couples. Many honeymooners and older couples. Most of the adults obviously spent alot of money to come and relax and either left their children home or sent them on Spring Break somewhere more child appropriate like Atlantis. There is nothing for the kids to do. (Kids were not an issue in Anguilla--I love kids. We have 3. We vacation WITH kids and WITHOUT kids).

We enjoyed our Parrot Cay vacation. We will be back. Next time I'd love to check out a beach cottage-which I heard was fabulous. The water is so blue and the stars are so bright. Very special place which will remain with us for a long time.
Unless they institute a kiddie club--then we are out of there!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Parrot Cay by COMO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parrot Cay by COMO

Address: Parrot Cay, Parrot Cay
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Parrot Cay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Parrot Cay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Parrot Cay by COMO 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parrot Cay by COMO in the Turks and Caicos is the northern Caribbean’s preeminent private island. It combines nature—1000 unspoilt acres, a mile-long powdered beach—with relaxed luxury and the multi-award-winning COMO Shambhala Retreat, which offers a range of holistic, Asian-inspired therapies as well as yoga and Pilates with world-class tuition. Accommodation, comprising whitewash interiors with chic teak finishing, includes beachside houses and villas. The island also features private residences, offering absolute privacy away from the main resort. The island’s two restaurants serve gourmet and easy dining as well as healthy COMO Shambhala Cuisine. Watersports, diving and island adventures complete the Parrot Cay experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Splendia, Tingo, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, Despegar.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Parrot Cay by COMO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parrot Cay Providenciales
Parrot Cay Turks Caicos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parrot Cay by COMO, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.