We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Honeymooners” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parrot Cay by COMO

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Parrot Cay by COMO to your Saves list
Parrot Cay by COMO
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Parrot Cay, Parrot Cay   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Parrot Cay
Dallas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great for Honeymooners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2007

We went to Parrot Cay for our honeymoon and had a fantastic time. The
room wasn't exactly extravagant but it was appropriately decorated. The beach is spectacular and the water activities are nice. This resort is great for celebrity sightings. The pool and spa facilities are definitely worth a large investment of your time. The staff was quite courteous, as you'd expect for the price you pay. The resort staff respect your privacy. The breakfast was actually quite good but
other than that the food was mediocre for vegetarians. You must try the home-made chocolate ice cream! As other reviews have mentioned, bugs are a problem. The resort tries to alleviate this with OFF spray
and mosquito coils. With proper precautions bugs aren't a problem in the room. However, don't go to the beach at night, the bugs will feast on you. Speaking of which the nightlife is sub-par. This resort
is really only for couples/honeymooners or groups. The boat ride to the resort on the first night was pretty bad considering the usual 30 min trip took over an hour! No apologies were offered for this inconvenience but the champagne at check-in was great. If you're still reading this, my best advice is to try Parrot Cay at least once.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    102
    32
    23
    13
See reviews for
74
361
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2007

I"m starting off as many recent reviews have .... somewhat concerned before departure about what people (primarily American reviewers) had to say about the Parrot Cay experience. I thought it was an absolutely lovely destination with fabulous service and I am already planning a return trip. We actually extended our stay an extra night because we couldn't stand the thought of leaving that small piece of paradise.

The real deal is as follows; if you don't know how to truly relax and have an exaggerated sense of self-importance then you will not enjoy the Parrot Cay experience. That's not to say that there isn't someone around every turn to fulfill your requests because there is, however the service is executed in a respectful and laid back manner. The spa and the grounds are unpretentious in the characteristic style of Balinese resorts, but at the same time immaculate and serene.

This resort is not designed for excellence and luxury in every individual element, although some such as the Javanese bath spa treatment were amazing. Agree that the snorkeling was a let down and I didn't enjoy my pedicure, but the total experience far outweighed any isolated complaints we may have had during our stay.

Go!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2007

My husband and I recently returned from our honeymoon, where we spent 6 nights at the Regent Palms on Provo (refer to that review posted on 9.7.07) and then transferred to Parrot Cay for the last 3 nights of our trip. Parrot Cay is on a private island about 30 minutes from the main island of Providenciales, and you definitely feel the seclusion, which can be refreshing and wonderful. The resort is very minimalist and natural, which we weren't expecting after staying at the ultra plush Regent Palms. My husband and I wished we would have stayed here first because we would have more appreciated the isolation and been less apt to care about the resort accommodations. We spent the first night in a garden room, which was ok in size, but very rustic feeling, especially the bathroom. After coming from the Palms where everything is marble, crown moulding, fresh and clean, this was an adjustment. The guestroom facilities feel tired and could use a facelift to match the 5 star service and location. Even after we were able to secure a complimentary upgrade to a one bedroom beach villa with private plunge pool, we still agreed that the bathroom and kitchen were cheaply done (i.e., particle board cabinets, ceramic tile, etc). and could feel more luxurious (granite and better appliances to start). The only appliance in the kitchen of our 1300 s.f. suite was a giant toaster- no microwave, nothing. And where would I buy bread to toast on a private island anyway with no store?? Despite these flaws (which I know can seem nitpicky, but I have high standrads for a 5 star resort at the prices we were paying), the island is stunning and service top notch. The food was very good albeit tiresome even after 3 days due to only 2 choices in restaurants for dinner and just 1 for breakfast and lunch. Drinks at the pool are pricey but not unexpectedly so. The spa was great as well. Skip the pricey snorkel trip- we didn't get a chance to snorkel on Provo for free in their reef area so we paid $180 to snorkel for 30 minutes just off the island and it was pretty uneventful. Overall I would come here if I was looking for the ultimate in seclusion, natural beauty, and service. My husband and I preferred the Regent Palms and will be returning there instead- more luxurious feel, awesome spa, fabulus food and more restaurant choices on the island, and overall better experience.

  • Liked — Pool, Asian restaurant, beach
  • Disliked — bathrooms and kitchen
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2007

In June we went to Parrot Cay for the fourth time. In the past we loved everything about the resort. This trip proved otherwise. The food was horrible. From brown lettuce to over cooked meat. What made it worse was that the management didn't seem to care. For the price of this resort, everything should be fabulous, which was definitely not the case.

  • Liked — the beach
  • Disliked — the food
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2007

After reading some reviews I was slightly scepticle as we on our honey moon. I wanted everything to be perfect and perfect it was!!
We were greeted at the airport and transfered to the marina (this part could of been nicer) wear we got the boat to parrot cay! It is so beautifull on arrival. You get such a feeling of paradise. Check in was great and it was nice to be given champagne! The rooms are shabby sheek, clean and the products are great. The pool area is breath taking and very intimate. You don't often see many ppeople around. The beech is by far the best I have ever seen. It's just gorgeous. The wine is expensive but not ridiculous. The food is lovely although after a week we just wanted some "normal food!" The breakfasts are the best i've had.The staff are trained to a very high standard. I loved this place and would go back tomorrow. I will deffinatly go back!

  • Liked — the beautifull setting and intamicy!
  • Disliked — The transfer from the airport and the guy Dave that sits at the bar and pretends he owns the place.... most annoying!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2007

I just returned and I will never go back. I went based on the reviews
I read here. I guess if went with a boyfriend or husband it may have been bearable. As a single woman looking to get away,,bring lots of books and pesticide. Either the bugs or the sheer boredom will kill you. The staff is almost as sleepy as the island itself. I've been to better Spas in the states and spent half the money. The rooms were sub-standard for the price and the island itself is overrated. The food was outrageously expensive and mediocre at best. Say Nay to Parrot Cay.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — the bugs
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2007

fantastic hotel great style and lots and lots off great stuff. loved the diving and the totaly relaxed atmospher. top place

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Parrot Cay by COMO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parrot Cay by COMO

Address: Parrot Cay, Parrot Cay
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Parrot Cay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Parrot Cay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Parrot Cay by COMO 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parrot Cay by COMO in the Turks and Caicos is the northern Caribbean’s preeminent private island. It combines nature—1000 unspoilt acres, a mile-long powdered beach—with relaxed luxury and the multi-award-winning COMO Shambhala Retreat, which offers a range of holistic, Asian-inspired therapies as well as yoga and Pilates with world-class tuition. Accommodation, comprising whitewash interiors with chic teak finishing, includes beachside houses and villas. The island also features private residences, offering absolute privacy away from the main resort. The island’s two restaurants serve gourmet and easy dining as well as healthy COMO Shambhala Cuisine. Watersports, diving and island adventures complete the Parrot Cay experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Despegar.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Parrot Cay by COMO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parrot Cay Providenciales
Parrot Cay Turks Caicos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parrot Cay by COMO, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.