We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castaway, Salt Cay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salt Cay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castaway, Salt Cay
Save
You added Castaway, Salt Cay to your Saves list
North Beach, Salt Cay   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Salt Cay B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A slice of heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

It is hard to find a place that is off the beaten path, but Salt Cay delivers, and Castaway is the perfect place to stay for your visit. The only property on north beach, it is secluded, and you'll likely be the only person on the beach when you go for a stroll. There was another family staying at the other bungalow (in both rooms), but we didn't see them unless it was on purpose. It was quiet, secluded, and the only sound was the surf, aside from the occassional donkey. (Our neighbor learned why there are chains on the porches--they like to come visit!)

The property is exceptionally clean, and it doesn't even have that musty smell you usually come to associate with any tropical property. Kazie (the caretaker) is always behind the scenes and there to fix a buggy flat tire or get you some water. You won't always see him, but if you call, magically whatever needed fixing will be fixed. Porter and Haidee are a delight, and we enjoyed socializing with them and the others we met on the island. You don't even have to close (let alone lock) your doors, and I get the sense it's because Porter's the boss and no one on the island messes with his guests. (He sells them liquor, why would they want to piss him off?) I felt unbelievably safe the whole time I was there.

As others have mentioned, there isn't much on the island, but Haidee can order supplies from Grand Turk if you give her notice, or you can bring stuff with you from Provo. I brought just a few snacks and was fine with dinners/lunches at one of the two restaurants. You can also buy alcohol from Porter's and bring it back to your room with you.

I'll review Porter's Island Thyme (the restaurant owned by the same proprieters as Castaway) separately, but that place is a joy as well. Porter has a story to tell for everything, so it's a lot of fun hanging out and chatting with Haidee, Porter, the local residents, and the other guests.

I loved it so much, I am already planning a girls' getaway in the next few years. We're hoping to go in the winter (probably not this winter but the next) to see the whales. I just hope it Salt Cay can always stay the serene paradise it is now!

Room Tip: We were Crusoe suites (the room facing east) and I think that room gets the best breeze. Also, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pwiii, Owner at Castaway, Salt Cay, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
We look forward to having you back on Salt Cay! Rates are going up modestly September 1, so if you can finalize your plans before then you will save a little.

Thanks for the great review and we look forward to having you back on Salt Cay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
58
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Hard to top the already glowing reviews for Castaways. Suffice to say that there isn't a word of exaggeration in any of them. The units are beautiful, perfectly decorated and equipped (including high speed internet); the service is superb and the location absolutely idyllic. You can be as private or engaged as you choose and Haidee, Porter and Cazzie are the perfect hosts. We will definitely be back (often!)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pwiii, Owner at Castaway, Salt Cay, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Castaway's is the best kept secret in the Turks & Caicos. North beach on Salt Cay rivals Grace Bay on Providenciales with one exception the only footprints you may see will be your own.

Our TEAM strives to provide unparalleled service as well as your 24/7 Concierge on Salt Cay.

Thanks for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

First time to Salt Cay. We stayed at Castaway for a week and loved it. The room was comfortable, clean, quiet, and just right. So much better than a big resort or large hotel. Proximity to the beach was our main reason for wanting to stay here. The beach itself is superb and the snorkeling right of the shore was much better than expected (especially on the ocean side of the reef). Saw a stingray, several barracuda, and dozens of other fish species big and small. The continental breakfast was just right, especially the bread and muffins. Castaway is somewhat removed from the "action" of Salt Cay but for us this was no problem. Biking to town took about 15 minutes and was easy (but hot during the day). Hope we can come back soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pwiii, Owner at Castaway, Salt Cay, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thanks for staying at Castaways - Salt Cay and the great review! We strive to be your 24/7 Concierge while on Salt Cay. Our goals is for Castaways to be a place to re-charge, away from the hectic world around us...or maybe better said the Caribbean of yesteryear.

We look forward to your return to Salt Cay! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed at Castaway for 2 nights and loved it! It's located on a pristine secluded beach that has some great snorkeling! We could see the ocean from the bed and walked right out onto the beach. Haidee was a wonderful host and made sure we were well taken care of. We're spreading the word that this is the best place to be!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pwiii, Owner at Castaway, Salt Cay, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
We agree Castaways is the nicest place to stay on the beach in Salt Cay!

We strive to be your 24/7 Concierge and provide a Holiday experience unlike any other.

Thanks for the great review and we look forward to having you back on Salt Cay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

It is my fourth trip to Turks and Caicos- so far, I've been in Provo, Grand turk, and now finally in salt cay! The north beach at salt cay is so pristine and beautiful, it looks like it came right from a picture. I snorkel in the beach right in front of the Castaway every day, and it is really a great snorkel spot with lots of marine lives to see. So far, I've seen nurse shark (they are the bottom feeder so they don't bite), several barracudas, lots of parrot fish, yellow goldfish, snappers, blue tangs, and so on. Castaway is not only a great location for snorkeling and relaxation, it also has the best look and condition among all the villas and cottages in TCI. The outside looks great, and the inside is just as great as any other 5-star villa I've stayed. It has a nice and firm bed with drapes, soft sofas, a kitchen area with refrigerator, a keurig coffee maker, shower areas with great-smelling mango shampoos and vegetable soaps. The whole place was kept clean and beautiful by Cazie, who is a wonderful guy with possible six-sense (that is another story). This place requires a 12-15 minutes golf cart ride to the nearest restaurant (Porter's Island Thyme or Debbie's Coral Reef bar), so do yourself a favor, don't try to bike there, the road is rather bumpy. We came here during the middle of July, since the whale watch season is over, we have the whole place to ourselves, it is like having your own private beach. We did not see another soul for 4 days on the beach during our stay in Castaway. The beach here is really Buck Island quality (a National Park in St. Croix), and I really love the environment here. Don't listen to people who complained that the time stopped here in Salt Cay, if your goal is to relax, snorkel, or dive, the ocean is always active! The people who are in charge of restaurant and diving are hard-working people (so are the people who work for them), I've never felt neglected here. Salt cay is one of a kind.

Room Tip: choose shipwreck #1 if you can. it is right in front of the path to the beach. otherwise, all four...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pwiii, Owner at Castaway, Salt Cay, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
We strive to provide 5 Star service and amenities on the small island of Salt Cay. We feel that we have one of the best teams in the Caribbean and offer a value in our accommodations and at Porter's Island Thyme.

We have lived on Salt Cay for many years and are experts on the island...thanks for letting us be your 24/7 Concierge while on Salt Cay.

Thanks for the great review! We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This little hidden gem is a great spot for people looking for a low key, un-resort like vacation. You will get great service from the owners and their staff, they are extremely attentive and friendly. The beach is amazing, the water was great, although not totally flat or smooth. There's a fair amount of wind on that side of the island, but beautiful either way. Great snorkeling too. The little town has more donkeys than people. We were there in early June and it was low season. Not a huge variety of food to choose from which was a little disappointing, but each of the 3 restaurants had their own charm. The bungalows are really nice, first class in my opinion. There are 4 on the beach, two in each structure. If it's just two couples, for example, they're good about dividing them into the two buildings, so you have more privacy. If by chance you end up with another couple (or family) next door to you, I can imagine the seclusion would feel compromised some. We spent a fortune on bringing food over from Provo. If we had to do it over again and if it weren't low season, I'd probably just have all the meals on the island. We rented a golf cart which was great. If you're more athletic, I'd say rent bikes. I recommend hiking around the island perimeter, there's a different feel for every coast on the island.

Room Tip: They're all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pwiii, Owner at Castaway, Salt Cay, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thanks for the great review! Castaway is for those who want to "get off the grid"...however there is high speed internet access and one of the finest beaches in the world right out your door.

At Porter's we strive to provide the unexpected for a small remote island. Our new menu and updated web site will go "live" the end of August 2013.

Thanks again for visiting Salt Cay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed in Castaway this last easter time and we had such a great holiday that we absolutely want to come back during Xmas.
Great beach and sea just 10 steps from the property.
Incredible long walks without anyone for miles. And good fishing too....
The island is wild and with a great nature.
Lovely dinners with Porter and the good company of locals on his restaurant. It's like to go back in the past where everything is good and simple.
Our young guys loved it too, so happy to be in contact with the whales, the ospreys, the dolphins, the horse-eyed jacks, the barracuda and the terrible snappers too strong for them.
See us soon Porter !

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pwiii, Owner at Castaway, Salt Cay, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thanks for the great review! We strive to be the "experts" on Salt Cay and look forward to being your concierge 24/7 on your return trip.

Thanks again for staying at Castaway and dining at Porter's Island Thyme.

Look for our new web site to "go live" the end of August.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castaway, Salt Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway, Salt Cay

Address: North Beach, Salt Cay
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Salt Cay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Salt Cay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only accommodations on Salt Cay's pristine North Beach!Breezy, beautiful accommodations only steps from the azure seas of Salt Cay. King-sized bed, full kitchen and sitting room with large beach deck overlooking the ocean. Continental breakfast on your porch. 24/7 Concierge Service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castaway, Salt Cay Turks And Caicos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castaway, Salt Cay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.