We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Piece of Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Caicos

South Caicos
South Caicos
Improve this listing
Type: Islands, Reefs
Activities: Scuba diving, Fishing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Island in the Turks and Caicos island group best known for its fishing, yachting and scuba diving.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Little Piece of Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

South Caicos is a lovely, charming island that, if you're not careful, will steal your heart. This was our third trip over to the Big South and we will be going back again and again, planning to make our home here for a part of each year. Our first trip was just a day trip, but the last two years we spent five glorious days each trip enjoying the magic of South.

TCI in general is a wonderful place to holiday and Providenciales (Provo) with it's fabulous Grace Bay, along with the many resorts, golf couse, casino and shopping, etc, is by far the main tourist destination. But for the adventurous day trips are possible to the neighbouring islands of North and Middle Caicos.

However, for the really adventurous take a 20 minute flight (Air Turks and Caicos) or a 90 minute ferry (Caribbean Cruisin) to South Caiocs. Either way you will be transported back in time to a friendly, quiet and quaint Caribbean island that time seems to have forgotten.

Yet before the days of the airport and Club Med on Provo, South Caicos was the going concern of the Caicos islands. They had the only international airport, a fuel depot, a US coast guard station, a thriving fishing industry not to mention that HRH Queen Elizabeth II visited back in 1966 (the annual regatta in May of each year celebrates this event). Also for well over two hundred years South Caicos had a big part in the TCI's salt industry which ended in the early 1960's, and many of the historic builds are still standing, some in the process of being restored.

The International School of Field Studies is also on South where marine biology students from many different universities study in this unique school for a semester.

There is presently one hotel, South Caicos Ocean and Beach Resort (managed by Cleo Cox) with it's great ocean side location (and view) along with good rooms, a friendly atmosphere and a good restuarant, The Dolphin Grill. There are several other resturants in town serving local foods and Darryl Forbes' Sunset Grill is very much a favourite of ours. Cleo and Darryl are both very friendly gentlemen who will ensure your time on South will be the best it can be. The local stores, of which there are several, can provide most everything you would need.

There are also three developments on South in various stages of completion. The East Bay Resort is all but ready to open, The Caicos Beach Club Resort, midisland at High Point, has been under construction for a while but hopefully will open some time in the next few years.

On the northern portion of the island Sailrock Development is building private villas (with two finsihed and one under conctruction) along with a Great House/Hotel complex (with accompanying beach villas) which are all about to start construction early next year.

All of this bodes well for South as there are limited tourist facilities at the moment but that is most likely to change as amenities are added with more people visiting.

But for the moment the biggest attraction, along with the friendly people, is the beauty and wide open space which allows you to simply get away from it all. Arrange for local guide Tim Hamilton to tour you around the island in his boat and you will quickly get a sense of the tranquility of this beautiful place. Any beach you choose to visit will almost guaranteed to be yours alone, with the possible exception on a few of the many local wild donkeys (there are also a number of horses ambling about the town) from the salt industry days.

For us, the peacefulness and serenity of South Caicos is it's charm and attraction. Sit out at night away from the lights of town and you will be dazzled by the array of stars seemingly so close you feel you could reach out a pluck one for the sky.

The other reviews of South give a good idea of the island but nothing compares to coming over and spending time here to appreciate this little piece of paradise.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Everything is just beautiful! Visit this beautiful island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We have been to Turks and Caicos 5 times, this was out first visit to South Caicos and won't be our last! I only wish we were able to stay longer. When we went, we were not sure what actually we would do on the island but figured it would be something different to see.
How fournate we were when one of the staff at the resort we were staying at was from South Caicos. She made a few phones call and had somone meet us at the marina when we arrived.

Taking the ferry from Provo with Caribbean Crusin who were all great, we arrived at South Caicos after 9 AM. Mr. Parker met us there with all smiles. He introduced us to Timothy Hamiliton who was our guide for our day. Tim is the man to meet when you arrive. Whatever you want to see and do he will take excellent care of you. Diving, Bonefishing, Snorkling, Beautiful by Nature Cay, he is your man!! He pulled up with his boat and drove us around the island which was incredible, I have never seen such beautiful colors of blue in my life, we stopped to do some snorkling and explored the island by boat. Simply breathtaking.
South Caicos is not full of tourist at all. It is so peaceful and beautiful. It is the fishing capital of TCI. They welcome tourist and hope more would come to the island. Do your part and go!
After our boat ride and snorkle trip we went back to shore and had lunch at Darryl's AKA Sunset Cafe Bar and Grill. It was fantastic-what a warm and friendly person. We asked what kind of fish he had for lunch and his response "what kind of fish do you want?" CLASSIC! :)
As lunch was prepared Mr. Parker drove us around the little island a bit to show and tell us about his home. I just loved it. You could not ask for a better host.
Our ferry left at 3:30 PM back to Provo it truly was a special day. Next time, I want do some fishing with Tim for sure, and stay a few nights in peaceful South Caicos. They say it is the perfect place to see the whales during the season, another reason I want to go back.
You won't be disappointed! Support the beautiful locals of the island and visit South Caicos! Your heart with smile :)
A big thanks to Lynn for setting everything up for us and of course Mr. Parker, Mr. Hamilton, Darryl and all the lovely people we met on the island! We will be back!
To reach Tim for tours of the island You can email him at vonne_hamilton@hotmail.com

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providenciales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Day Trip to South Caicos, Turks and Caicos Islands on the TCI Ferry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We had a fabulous day visiting South Caicos, TCI! We started on the morning ferry departing from Provo at 7:30 am. Christina of Caribbean Cruisin Ferry company had organized bicycles for us and our lunch arrangements. She met as at the dock in South Caicos and we walked over to Darryl's restaurant and bar, where we picked up our Huffy bikes. Christina gave us the basic orientation and layout of the town and we were off. South Caicos is very flat so biking is a pleasure. We toured all the old historic buildings in town, wandered around by the salt flats and biked out to the airport! After making our way back to town we started up the hill to the Ocean and Beach Resort Hotel for lunch. We made a brief stop at the local cemetery and saw stones from the 1800's. A short walk to the East Bay Resort which will open sometime soon.
Our lunch at the Dolphin grill at the hotel was fabulous! Fresh steamed grouper- delicious. Our host Cleo Cox was very gracious and filled us in on all the local news. Our lunch was served poolside with a gorgeous view of the Ocean. We swam in the pool and cooled off before a bike back toward town. We stopped to visit the School for Field Studies where students from all over the world come to do enviornmental studies. Back at Darryl's Christina met us for cool drinks on the porch while waiting for the return ferry at 3:30. We have visited the Turks and Caicos for many years but truely enjoyed this day trip to the Big South! Go and see another part of this great country!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North America
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Worth a visit to this off the beaten path island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

This is not a tourist-y area but is worth a visit if you like a place that is more quiet and has a lot of local flavor. We watched fishermen clean their catch right on the town dock. Everyone was very friendly and helpful including offering rides in their cars. Nice local eateries with very fresh fish! Beautiful turquoise water and lots of old colonial houses.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Crystal clear Turquoise waters as far as the eye can see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

A stunning approach into Southern Caicos where we were mesmerised but the amazing colour and clarity of the water. A terrific place to snorkel on reefs and explore. We saw the biggest ray we have ever seen just float past our boat. If you need to check with customs leave the dinghy in the 'marina' and head to the local village store, they will call his mobile and he will meet with you in the store. Immigration is about a mile away so take water and be prepared to hike. If you are lucky you may get a lift with a local.

The locals are very friendly and the village store has a good supply of just about anything you might want from Wavy Line Cruising charts to Santa Clause hats and a good selection of grocery and vegetable and fruit provisions.

A good place to relax, enjoy and stock up before heading out across the 60 mile reef or head south. A great place to get local fish and lobster at very good prices. An amazing gathering of migratory birds here and on Great Cay too.

Take time to stop and look around at the beauty of this place.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Caicos also viewed

Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Middle Caicos, Turks and Caicos
 
Grand Turk, Turks and Caicos
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 

Been to South Caicos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Caicos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added South Caicos to your Saves list