We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second stay - we came back for a reason!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Horizon Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Blue Horizon Resort to your Saves list
Blue Horizon Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Mudjin Harbor, 33410, Middle Caicos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Middle Caicos
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Our second stay - we came back for a reason!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Blue Horizon a few years ago because we wanted an adventure outside of Provo and we loved it so much we went back AND it was even better the second time!

It was definitely quieter than Provo but that was perfect because some days it felt like we had the beach to ourselves. We did a few hikes that weren't flip flop friendly so bring some shoes!

This was my third time to Turks and each time I was eaten alive by mosquitos. This trip was no different. No matter where I go, those little buggers love me. So either be prepared to be bitten or go with someone like me (apparently they're all attracted to me and left others alone). There are also sand flies but they didn't bother me at all. We went at the end of November so the nights were a little more chilly than you would expect but coming from Canada it wasn't anything that wasn't welcomed. Just wore jeans and a light sweater and I could sit out all night.

The restaurant on the resort is new from the last time we stayed there and it's a welcome change! The place is gorgeous and the servers were so great! The view was amazing!!! The food was spectacular!!! We ate there on a few occasions and everything that I had was great. I would recommend the lobster bites, conch fritters, fish and chips, and lobster tail. Lunch was open daily to the public so you could just drop in but for dinner you have to make reservations.

The accommodations were perfect for me and my husband. I'm a city girl and I like nice things so "roughing it" isn't my thing. These accommodations had everything I needed. First off, they were super clean. The sheets, towels, all the kitchen stuff we had, even down to the locally made soap, was perfect. The managers, Matt and Lindsay, just amazing people that were so friendly and helpful, made our trip that much more better!

I would definitely return and recommended Blue Horizon Resort.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    10
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
98
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Just returned from our vacation to Middle Caicos and are excited to recommend Blue Horizon. Over our stay at the resort we stayed in two of their villas, Sunrise and Sunset. Both were very clean and offered well equipped kitchenettes and comfortable amenities. Wireless internet, cable tv and air conditioning were nice touches.
Blue Horizon is not so much a 'resort' rather a small group of cottages located in a rugged and remote jewel of Turks and Caicos, 'Mudjin Harbor'. It is serviced by a small yet incredible group of staff that really help make your staff feel special. The restaurant perched over top of Dragon Cay arguably has the nicest view in Turks and Caicos and prepares excellent food at a modest price.
If you are a Surfer I would definitely recommend bringing your gear. This section of Middle Caicos is one of the few places in Turks and Caicos that will provide you with easily accessible and consistent waves.
Can't wait for my next trip to Blue Horizons!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Remote destination. 2 minute walk to the beach. We were there for 3 nights and had the beach to ourselves most of the time. Water crystal clear. Did some rock exploring. Walking trails along the beaches. Rooms had everything you need. Not a luxury hotel, but the basics and more.... Staff aways making sure you have everything you need. They will even stock your fridge. Lindsey and Matt are really great people and make you feel very comfortable. Food at their restaurant is excellent and prices good. Definitely like to go back. I'm a water person and love the serenity.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King George, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed at Blue Horizon in the Dragonview cottage from July 19-26. This one bedroom cottage had everything we needed; kitchen, A/C, WiFi in the cottage, and a good view of Dragon Cay. The beach here is great. The 1st day we were the only ones on the beach. Over the week, there were never more than 10 people on the beach. Sand is like flour, and the water is crystal clear. You can snorkel right off the beach - not spectacular, but we saw plenty of fish and a nurse shark. For better snorkling take a fishing/snorkling trip with Dolphus (info at Blue Horizon). We went on a 1/2 day trip ($300), which was more like 6 hours. We caught snapper, trigger fish, barracuda, parrot fish, and a host of other fish. Best thing was we took (2) of the Snapper back to the chef at Blue Horizon and he cooked them for us that night for dinner. The only way they would have been any fresher would have been if we cooked them on the boat! The chef made an appetizer for us and (2) entrees out of the fish we provided, and it was probably the best fish dinner we've ever had. Matt and Lindsey (Blue Horizon) were very accomodating and friendly, and made sure we did not want for anything. The on-site restaurant served great food. A bit pricey, but understandable considering logistics. We ate at (2) other restaurants on the island, Ms. B's and Barracuda. Both were good and reasonably priced. These places definitely give you a feel of the "island life." Take the time to plan a trip to Wild Cow Run - about 45 minutes from Blue Horizon. This is probably the best beach we've ever been on in the Carribean, and is by far the most remote. This beach is desolate and beautiful! We also toured the caves - in my opinion a waste of time and money. Bats, rats and mosquitos, but I guess thats what is supposed to be in a cave. Important points: bring your own dry goods in your suitcase from home, bring bug spray, rent a car (well worth it), and check ferry schedule. Overall, this was a great trip. Accomodations were very good, location spectacular, and everyone very friendly. Once the Infinity pool goes in, (which Matt says is in the plans), this place is a 5 star easy.

Room Tip: Make sure your cottage has A/C. A few of them do not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vidor, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Stargazer July 12-16. Large, private three bedroom, three bathroom. There are A/C units in each of the bedrooms. Opening up all the windows and sliding doors kept the place nice during the day with the wind. Nice views from every window. No Internet or satellite service at this villa, but you can watch DVD's. I recommend bringing your own. There were a lot of books and a puzzle that took us three days to do. No screened in porch at Stargazer either, bit mostly wasn't a problem. Rented some kayaks one day and they brought them over to the boat launch for us. New managers Matt & Lindsey were great and very accommodating. Middle Caicos isn't for everyone but it's perfect for us. Highly recommend.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed at BH June 6 thru June 10 at the Sunrise Cottage. We arrived on North/Middle Caicos via the ferry and meet the Jeep Rental guy that Matt, the manager of BH, arranged for us. The drive took about 40 minutes and we stopped at a few grocery stores on North Caicos. I won't repeat what others have already stated, but you will have to frequent all stores; groceries are sparse and each place carries different items.

The cottage served our needs and, if there was only one issue; it would be the temperature of the water... we had no trouble with water pressure, just a fluctuation of really hot water to really cold water from time to time. Hey, small price to pay for the views. The cliffside is amazing and just looking out at Dragon Cay is awesome. At low tide, we journeyed out there and it was simply spectacular. And, having the private beach via the cave stairs on the property was absolute heaven. We literally spent hours there and all we needed was cold drinks, our ipods and a good book - heaven.

All of the staff was very friendly and we always felt safe and secure. Highly recommend driving down to Wild Cow Run and Bambarra(sp?) Beach. We highly enjoyed it as the first leg of our trip to the islands while wrapping up in Provo for a few nights before departing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna via USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Overall, we enjoyed our one week stay at Blue Horizon. While our cottage (Tropico) was adequate, we found the accommodations to be very basic and the unit could use a bit of fixing up. Everything was functional; however, the chipped tables, burnt counter top, broken blinds, broken/rusty window cranks could easily be fixed/updated. Wi-Fi worked most of the time, as did satellite TV. The kitchen offered all supplies needed to cook meals and we were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food which we ordered through the grocery service. This service was a great alternative to stopping in Provo. Also, the shops on Middle Caicos did not appear to have much of a selection – make sure you use the grocery service or get your supplies before heading over. We ate dinner three nights at the on-site restaurant, Mudjin Bar and Grill. Each meal was very good and the service by Dorothy and DC was friendly and welcoming.

I would recommend renting a car, at least for a few days, in order to explore the island. We rented a jeep for four days from Easy car rental (arranged through BR) which was waiting for us upon our arrival. However, I would not use Easy rental again. The jeep was falling apart and it could not be driven over 40 mph without stalling. We did utilize the bikes (although they could use a good tune up) and the kayaks offered by BH, both were an enjoyable alterative to sitting at the beach all day. One can charge meals, grocery service, transportation, etc. to your room; however, if you settle your bill with a Credit Card, BH will pass along the 6% charge they incur from the credit card company.

As previous reviewers have mentioned, the beaches are amazing with little, or no other people around. It is worth the journey if you are looking to get off the beaten path.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Horizon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Horizon Resort

Address: Mudjin Harbor, 33410, Middle Caicos
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Middle Caicos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Middle Caicos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Horizon Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Horizon Resort - Natural Beauty, Adventure and Tranquility. Located on Middle Caicos, Blue Horizon Resort's newly reinvented boutique eco-resort and wedding destination is unrivaled in the Caribbean. Set amidst stunning Mudjin Harbor and Dragon Cay, the scenery and tranquil turquoise waters are dramatic and unparalleled. Five fully equipped Caribbean style cottages and two larger villas are set perfectly into the landscape each with spectacular views. You will find your own private beach paradise at Blue Horizon Resort and all of our activities and excursions have been designed to compliment the natural settings without disturbing our fragile ecosystem. Concierge services are available and include tour arrangements, groceries and any special requests. Enjoy fishing, kayaking, caving and snorkeling. Or, simply relax and take pleasure in the serene beauty of your surroundings. Whether its adventure, romance or tranquility you seek this small intimate resort and friendly personal service will ensure a truly memorable escape. Our restaurant, Mudjin Bar & Grill, offers the best view in all of Turks and Caicos - Patio and indoor dining available - Serving Lunch Daily and Dinner by reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Blue Horizon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Hotel Middle Caicos
Blue Horizon Resort Middle Caicos, Turks And Caicos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Horizon Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.