We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pictoresque beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bambara Beach

Bambara Beach
Middle Caicos
Improve this listing
Type: Beaches
Attraction Details
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Pictoresque beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Bambarra Beach was the last point of visit in our day trip through North and Middle Caicos. I have loved so much the story, saying that in 1842 a ship with slaves, bount to Cuba, was distroyed in stormy conditions but its cargo of 193 Africans - captured to be sold as scaves, miraculosly survied, that I wanted badly to see this place. They say that the 193 Africans were originally from Bambarra - a large African trib from the areas that today belongs to Mali and Ivory Coast.

By getting there you'll be rewarded with a sea of a thousand shades and nuances of blue, warm soft sand, cool shade from casuarina trees and funny Tiki huts. By the way, I have enjoyed much the easy driving through the sleepy village of Bamberra.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    13
    5
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leland, Iowa
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Lots of Garbage and Mosquitoes”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

There are some incredibly beautiful beaches on Middle and North Caicos. This is not one of them. It's very difficult to get to and requires driving over some incredibly sketchy roads. Personally, I actually like that kind of adventure. Unfortunately, there was no payoff at the end. When we pulled up to the beach, there was garbage everywhere. When we got out of the car, we immediately got swarmed by clouds of mosquitoes. We tried to get some photos, but the mosquitoes were so bad, we ended up sprinting back to the car. Save yourself some time and aggravation by visiting some of the other great Caicos beaches. Avoid this one!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Rocks Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“beautiful and deserted”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Gorgeous open beach with little to no people. the water here was also a bit calmer than other beaches. If you're exploring Middle Caicos, this is a must see.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The beach is rather short but it's nice to walk along. If there is limited time I'd spend it all at Mudjin harbor. That area is spectacular. I was surprised at how unkept it seemed at this beach. The trashcan was overflowing. Not sure what the little thatched houses are about but they are scenic.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Legitimately breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Perhaps one of the most breathtaking, secluded beaches on the planet. I've never seen ocean water this color of turquoise, and it just stretched on and on into the horizon. My favorite beach on the island, even better than Mudjin Harbor in my opinion.

Google "Amy's Ultimate Guide to Middle Caicos" and she has great directions to the beach.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bambara Beach also viewed

Middle Caicos, Turks and Caicos
North Caicos, Turks and Caicos
 
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 

Been to Bambara Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bambara Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bambara Beach to your Saves list