We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice condos; Incredible beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caicos Beach Condominiums

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Caicos Beach Condominiums to your Saves list
Caicos Beach Condominiums
2.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Drake Court | Whitby, BWI, North Caicos   |  
Hotel amenities
Grawn
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very nice condos; Incredible beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Before writing my review I checked the other Trip Advisor reviews for these Condos. Wow. What a diversity of opinions. I have to weigh in on the side of this being a fabulous place. My friends and my 2 week stay at Caicos Beach was everything I expected it to be, but I think that’s because we did our research in advance, including learning about the island and talking to the manager there. We knew that North Caicos was an “out island”, that it was a little bit hard to get to (though the ferry ride was gorgeous), and that we were not going to Club Med. If that is what we’d wanted, we would have gone to Provo, which we visited on our way to North Caicos and were glad to get away from because it is definitely a mega-resort. Not North Caicos. We wanted a beautiful place with nothing to do but catch up with each other and read and beach walk, and we did that and a lot more. We actually found much more to do than we expected, but first about our condo and the condos in general. Having seen the pictures and talked to the manager, we knew this was an older property with only 10 condos, but we found it to be in good shape and on beautiful grounds and with an incredible beach. We had a reasonably sized and well furnished galley kitchen, the furniture was older but comfortable and the beds were very comfortable. While there, we were able to check out some of the other units, and all seemed nice, with some obviously having been updated more recently than others, but it was all the same to us. One great surprise was that we found great snorkeling on some rock outcroppings just off of the uninhabited beach to the west of the condos. Really nice fish quite close to shore, but the snorkeling spot we found later, Three Marys Cay, was unbelievably nice, though you probably shouldn’t go there at low tide unless you are a strong swimmer. The rental manager lives in one of the condos, and among many other helpful things, she arranged for a rental car to be dropped off and picked up for us at the condos, and it was no problem to extend our rental for another day when we wanted to do more exploring. Among the more interesting activities were visiting the various local grocery stores and finding that what one store didn’t have another one did, similar to shopping in the 1960’s. The best store for groceries was the one by the airport, but the one a short drive down the road from the condos was fine for the basics. There is also a “farm” that sells great produce near the village of Kew, with the farmers coming out of the fields to find out what you’d like and then heading back out to pick it for you. It’s a little hard to find, but just ask around. We did some eating out and the restaurant next door to the condos is quite good though pricey (but what are vacations for!), and other restaurants on the island were also good, though you have to remember that this is an island where almost everything is imported. A great side trip was a drive to Middle Caicos, which is a relatively short drive (and very bumpy over the hurricane-damaged causeway between the two islands) and where you can take a stunning walk if you enter the driveway of the Blue Horizon resort and park in the public spot above the beach. Also, we ate at Daniel’s Café in the Conch Bar area on Middle Caicos and the food was simple but incredibly good. All in all, this trip was the ideal getaway for our group, but I can understand why people who want a lot of faced-paced action would be better off on a more developed resort area. A helpful hint if you are thinking about visiting—because the hot water system there is an older solar powered system (which is apparently soon to be replaced), it’s a good idea to take your showers in the late afternoon or early evening when there is still plenty of hot water. Also, we brought plenty of bug spray as advised, but the sand flies were nowhere to be found and are apparently only an issue when it is quite still, and there was a nice breeze most of the time we were there.

Room Tip: Talk to manager in advance because there are different room configurations. Also get info from her...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tcijack, Owner at Caicos Beach Condominiums, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Thank you for your candid and absolutely spot-on review. I am so glad that you "get it" in that this experience is not Miami Beach, or even Provo. This is all about peace and quiet, and stunning natural beauty. From all of us that love this place so much, we really appreciate sharing your perspective and insights, as some of the previous ones are obviously from folks who misunderstood what they were getting into. Yours is a very fair and accurate portrayal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    2
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saugerties, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Just returned from N. Caicos and this property for Christmas break. The condo was not comfortable...no amenities. The pool was still not functioning, the kitchen was full of ants and there is nothing to do on this island. It is so expensive to get here from the airport with the taxi and ferry prices. We brought food and stopped at the IGA on Provo but quickly ran out of food and had to spend $100-$150 per meal at the Silver Palm (WHERE THE FOOD IS GREAT BUT TOO EXPENSIVE). You would think a quiet island would be desirable but this one is deserted! You can't spend 12-14 hours per day sitting or walking on the beach. Think twice.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tcijack, Owner at Caicos Beach Condominiums, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Very sorry that the experience was not what you were anticipating. It is very true that there is nothing to do, except swim, walk, dive, sight see, read, and slip away into a truly beautiful setting with virtually no other people around. It is not Provo or Miami. Taxi from the airport is about $40, and the ferry (a beautiful, 30 minute transfer) is $25 per person. Many people find that a small price to pay for such tranquillity, and we would recommend that if you are looking for a lot of things to do, perhaps Provo would be a better fit for you. Knowing that you were staying on the lsland helps with shopping beforehand, so yes, please plan your stay according to your budget so if you don't want to eat out for every meal you will not have to...and there are stores on the Island where you can get the basics. There are three grocery stores, a liquor store (with beer and wine), and a farm where fresh produce is grown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Please have a good look at the other reviews and check out the date they were posted and also the number of reviews this person has posted to be sure to make up your mind about it!!!!!!

We stayed there for 9 nights. The pool wasn't working (didnt bother me though). Our appartment was kind of old (30 yrs), and the decoration is not boutique-like or stylish. However: the appartment was clean, everyhing like shower etc worked. We had booked a full kitchen, and we were disappointed when we got an appartment with only a tiny kitchenette. There are nicer decorated appartments but we didnt get one.

It was hard for me to rate it between 2 and 3 points. Its overall ok for the price considering its Turks and Caicos, but it wasnt really nice either.

Premises was kind of half empty.

Let me give you a short list of pros and cons:
PRO:
-beach is empty
-basically no mass tourism here
-quiet
-friendly
-safe (we left the door unlocked)

CONS:
- beach full of sandflies, we had to sleep at night with the windows closed and use tons of OFF
- no full kitchen, kitchenette was very basic
- the place is OLD
- nothing to do on the island. NOTHING
- no fresh food available (we checked almost every store, all they have is canned or dried goods. Only stuff available like onions. No fruit, no bananas, nothing!
- you have to get a car if you want to get around. There is NO village etc nearby. You could walk to the next tiny grocery store though, about 1,5 miles.
-restaurants on the island are generally closed. You have to call in advance to be sure they open for you. We didnt try that
- one restaurant on the premise, Silver Palm, same true as above
-A/C? I dont need one, we didnt book one, there wasnt one.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tcijack, Owner at Caicos Beach Condominiums, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Sorry that the Caicos Beach experience was not what you had hoped it would be. As owners, our biggest concern is communicating that this is an out-island experience, and will not be like staying in Miami, or Provo, or anywhere else there is a lot of commercialism. It is the reason we ask to be contacted in advance, to advise you of the transportation and to recommend that you shop at the grocery store in Provo if you really plan on a lot of cooking. North Caicos is deserted for a reason, and the charm of that is the unhurried, uncrowded, melt away type of feeling is the reason some people, including us, go there year after year. You are right when you say there is nothing to do - except snorkel, beach walk, swim, fish, dive, sight see, and drink pina colada's. The sand flies are a hazard when the Tradewinds don't blow, which is seldom, as most times throughout the year the breeze keeps them away. We do also have units that have full kitchens, so another accommodation may have been more appropriate. So please, if you want all the hustle and bustle of a busy resort destination, this may not be your best choice. If you want to totally relax, we believe it is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Re-posting my review from 2009, with some modifications: After one week at Provo, we had planned and booked 3 nights at North Caicos and the Caicos Beach Condominiums (formerly known as Ocean Beach Hotel Condominiums). Based on other reviews (from 2008 and earlier), we had expected a clean and cozy place to stay. The location is like a dream-come-through, but I am sorry to tell you that the hurricanes during the Fall of 2008 seriously had damaged the property, and the rooms were smelly, dusty and felt straight through rotten. Beds were terrible, bugs all over, and just a small AC that could not deal with the heat. The pool was defect / empty, and we were probably the only guests that had stayed there for the past month or two. No food available on the island, except from Miss Bee´s restaurant 5 miles away. There are a couple of small drugstores on the island, but food and drinks are very expensive. We stayed for only one night (instead of the three planned nights) and headed back to Provo as soon as we could, after exploring North and Middle Caicos with a rental car for a few hours. Beaches are totally deserted, so you are all by your self if that is what you want. North and Middle Caicos has friendly locals, and the islands are great for a one-day exploration with a rental car (75 USD). Caicos Beach Condominus is probably a +25 year old property, which was pretty much worn down. Needs total refurbishment before we eventually go back there.

NOTE: This was originally posted in 2009, based upon our trip to T&C in July that year. Someone has tried to have this review removed by claiming the property is a different one. A change of name does not change the fact that the property is worn down.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tcijack, Owner at Caicos Beach Condominiums, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, and we are sorry it is not as positive as we all would have hoped. The areas of structural concern have been addressed and for the most corrected, and we certainly would not allow the rooms to be in such a condition as you mentioned. Always a concern for us is the understanding that this is an out island experience, and will not provide the hurried and hustled conditions so often found on most Islands. It is truly not for everyone, and there are some adjustments needed to make the experience pleasant. It is so important that potential guests contact us prior to arrival so we can lead them through ingredients for a wonderful, pleasant, and relaxing experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

My college daughter and I scheduled a week's getaway with friends at this wonderful getaway and all of us were completely satisfied. We shared two condos and I really recommend this approach for a small group of family, colleagues, friends. There is both private and public space this way and an ease of gathering that makes for a relaxing companionable vacation. The kitchens accommodated several cooks and we wandered in and out of each other's places to eat, read, nap, etc. Not that we were indoors much, since the gorgeous beach is right outside the door, past the pool which we used for laps on the days the ocean was a bit choppy. None of us are night life folks, so the restful area with its lack of tacky vacation-type things common in other resort areas was just what we wanted.

We had no problems of any kind during the stay. The caretakers were friendly and accommodating, and we were well advised about things like car rental (we went out for a day) and shopping before taking the ferry. Even the plane trip was not prohibitively long. People on the islands (called, charmingly, "Belongers") speak English and were all helpful and warm to us. I found this totally unlike Jamaica, for example, which was a bit

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sycamore, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

Caicos Beach Condominiums sits on one of the prettiest spots I've ever visited. Beautiful white sand beach, wonderful accommodations and a totally relaxing atmosphere await you here. The units are beautifully decorated and fully equipped with everything you need to enjoy the island. The snorkeling is unsurpassed and the weather was superb! Can't wait to return to this island paradise again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

i’ve been looking for a place like this for years..a place of beauty, sun, warm water, beaches to walk on. nothing else to do. And no high rise resorts flanking the beach just down the way.. I found it on north caicos at the north caicos beach condominiums. 7 miles of the softest white sand, warm clear water to swim or bobble in for as long as you like…fatigue pulls you out of the water, not cold. Nooks and crannies all over the place for reading or snoozing, exploring or just taking in the beauty. A fresh water pool if you want that, or for laps…

the condominiums themselves are lovely. Clean, cozy, comfortable..simply appointed, but with character…perfectly set up for both privacy and evening hanging out….well stocked kitchen..we cooked almost all our own meals..just for fun as there is a delicious restaurant and bar just next door…and the managers are friendly helpful, and very available to help with whatever extras you might need…fresh fish, arranging boating expeditions, trips to the store for more milk and eggs…a clean set of towels.

If you are looking for a bar scene or lots of meeting and greeting , this isn’t the place for you..but if you want a get away from it all, and are happy making your own entertainment, and want to experience a remote island and undeveloped beach, this is a find…I will definitely be returning. And don’t tell anyone but your best friends about it.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Caicos Beach Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caicos Beach Condominiums

Address: Drake Court | Whitby, BWI, North Caicos
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > North Caicos
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in North Caicos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Caicos Beach Condominiums 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beachfront, eco-friendly ten unit condominium is located on seven miles of spectacular and secluded beach. Accommodations range from single rooms with bath to two story suites with fully equipped kitchens and bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Caicos Beach Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caicos Beach Condominiums North Caicos, Turks And Caicos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caicos Beach Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.