We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace & Quiet, beauty of Nature, simplicity,Local cuisine !!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pelican Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pelican Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   North Caicos Island, North Caicos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in North Caicos
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Peace & Quiet, beauty of Nature, simplicity,Local cuisine !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

A MOST Magical Getaway.... If you need a truly PEACEFUL, quiet place, with a simple but bright clean room,toothy towels and fragrant soap... right on one of the biggest and most beautiful beaches ever, this is the place for you ! And I didn't even mention the warm-hearted hospitality of Susan, Jacqui, and Clifford - they add a special warmth to it all. Susan's fabulous fresh-baked bread and her dinners, featuring local treats such as fresh fish, conch, lobster, and oh that Sweet Potato bread, well this is a destination you should not miss. I was in tears when we had to leave after 10 days ! There is car rental available, right from the hotel, and if you're a strong snorkeler/swimmer, the wildlife out on the reef is just amazing. Perfect for couples or families who want some quiet time together without the crowds...but wait ..this place is so fine I wish crowds would visit and appreciate all this island has to offer ! The water is so warm, clear and fine for swimming,too!

Room Tip: the "pool" and the "fitness center" pertain to the endless miles of beach !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    13
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Thank you Clifford and Susan at the Pelican for a wonderful getaway from the metropolis of Provo! We had a few incredible meals at the barracuda bar and it truly felt like the opposite of Providenciales. We toured through all of North and Middle over the past 10 days and ate at everywhere we found, which wasn't too many places! Miss B's was a great experience and deserves it's own review. Also another highlight was Blue Horizon in Middle Caicos Mudjin Harbor and the restaurant that over looks Dragon Cay. Anyway, the lower reviews are correct and if your looking for an island hotel and not a luxury resort in Provo than Pelican is the place! The beach is protected and was empty the entire time. We will be back!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

No computers, no TVs, no telephones, no radios, and no clocks -- and we loved every minute of it! We really enjoyed the peaceful surroundings of this location. Imagine, walking 1-2 miles along a sunny, beautiful beach, just you and your partner, while mesmerizing waves roll in along the beach and pelicans fly peacefully by. Or envision lying on the beach under palm trees, reading your favorite novel, and having the freedom to laugh out loud whenever you felt compelled. That's what this place offers - solitude, beauty and relaxation. The breakfasts and dinners were very good, too, as the owner is also a wonderful cook. It was also a great central spot for adventures to Middle Caicos. While Wi-Fi was available, we never used it. If you're high maintenance, a whiner, or someone who’s idea of fun is burying their head into a computer, then you should probably stay away from North Caicos as a whole, but if you’re a self-sufficient adult looking for a peaceful, romantic spot to share miles of secluded beaches with your partner at your own pace, then give North Caicos and the Pelican Beach Hotel a chance. You may be surprised at what you find or who you run into.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We just returned from a wonderful 2 weeks at Pelican Beach Hotel. Susan is a most gracious host and an amazing cook. Susan looked after all our arrangements - taxis to and from the dock on North Caicos and on Provo, jeep rental and snorkeling. Just ask and you shall receive. Marki at the Barracuda Beach Bar cooked us some delicious lunches and we enjoyed many great island drinks while Clifford entertained us with his stories. We started each day with a wonderful breakfast served by Jacki. Jacki also did a great job of looking after our room. If you are looking for glitz and glamor stay on Provo. If you're looking for a relaxed, friendly island experience, Pelican Beach is the place to be. We'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is a very laid back place to stay. It offers peace and quiet and a glimpse of the old Caribbean. This is the way life should be lived. Susan and Clifford run this place and do it quite well. They are lovely people who really care about their guests. The food and drinks on the premises are very good. The rooms are simple, but right on the beach. The lapping of the waves are music to the ears when you're falling asleep. This is a very low key resort. If you need luxury, stay in Provo as you won't find it here. However, you will find serenity at the Pelican Beach Hotel..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I can't understand how some people can complain about this resort. They definitely haven't researched where they are going. Whitby Beach is one of the best beaches in the world. You have a 7 mile stretch to walk on without seeing anyone. Suzie is a sweetie and an awesome cook. Anyone that complains should either keep to their fancy-smancy all-inclusives and stay off my island.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Such a stunning position for this lovely little family run hotel. The Barracuda Beach Bar is a wonderful place to watch the sun go down sipping a local cocktail. Marky makes the most amazing lobster with rice and peas, and Susan cooks wonderful food in the hotel restaurant. Breakfast is excellent with loads of choices. Our lovely room was metres from the beach and the lack of crime makes everything so much more relaxed. A friendly get away from it all place but not for those who are looking for night life/clubs/organised events! Watch for those dreaded sandflies tho, they are a real nuisance!
Thank you Susan and Clifford it was memorable

Room Tip: Room 1 was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pelican Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Beach Hotel

Address: North Caicos Island, North Caicos
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > North Caicos
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in North Caicos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pelican Beach Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Pelican Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Beach Hotel North Caicos, Turks And Caicos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.