We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Showing Off Ontario” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parkway Cottage Resort & Trading Post

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oxtongue Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkway Cottage Resort & Trading Post
Save
You added Parkway Cottage Resort & Trading Post to your Saves list
4412 Highway 60 | Dwight- muskoka, Oxtongue Lake, Ontario P0A 1H0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oxtongue Lake
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hurdle Mills, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Showing Off Ontario”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

When you are looking for a home away from home this is the place to go! I had the opportunity to take some American friends to Algonquin Park and show them what Northern Ontario is all about and staying at Parkway enhanced that experience. The cottage was well equipped, clean and comfortable. The ability to use their kayaks and canoes as opposed to renting or bringing ours all the way from North Carolina is a great benefit. Their helpful hints about where to go to in the park and when were greatly appreciated by my friends who went out on their own. Colin, Brenda and James were very nice and we enjoyed talking with them all. We have already booked to go again next year with the same friends from North Carolina!

Room Tip: We rented the cabin that sleeps six and were quite comfortable. The beds were hard but after a day o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    11
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
14
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Goderich, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We last stayed at Parkway over seven years ago before the present owners took over. The place was rundown and overgrown but in a beautiful location and handy for Algonquin Park.
The new owners have built a new Lodge, replaced roofs, kitchens and beds etc.
The beach is a Gem as are the surroundings (they tell me that they have planted over 400 trees), it is relaxing and allowed us to chill out after a long trip.
The store and Trading Post sell just about everything you could want .
The only drawback was an untidy group of familys that had taken over the beach area and let their kids run wild.
The new owners are friendly and we were not told about the antics of previous guests but then we did not ask.
On the whole a relaxing, friendly resort. Good value for money.

Room Tip: It is quieter away from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

It's with sadness that our family will be moving on to another resort for next summer. We have been to Parkway for nearly 15 years as a family and have enjoyed the rustic cottages on a very quiet lake. Our concern is not one with the resort itself, but rather with the customer service of this resort over the last few years.

Both ourselves and other long-time guests feel the current owners complain about other guests and issues with the running of the resort too much. Upon check-in we were greeted with a complete rundown on all the problems with last weeks' guests. There was no "Hello! Welcome Back!" Just "Woe is us. Our life is so tough." Granted, running a resort is not for everyone, and I commend these folks for trying, but first impressions are everything.

As long-time customers, we appreciate how hard you work to keep the place looking great. Could you appreciate that we want to relax and enjoy ourselves and have paid good money to do so at your resort?
Again, it is not so much the cottages or the upkeep of the resort itself that has changed our minds, it is the feeling we get while we are there from the owners. I can only imagine the guests that checked in after us. I wonder what stories were told to them about us as guests? I would hope nothing as we have never been asked not to return, and in fact have been invited back every year.

We will be taking our money to another resort until we hear from our fellow cottagers and friends that things have changed. Perhaps if next summer's report from our vacationing friends from Parkway is better, maybe then we'll reconsider.

Such a shame.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkwaycottages, Owner at Parkway Cottage Resort & Trading Post, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Don't know about this one, I did tell a kid to stop using a $60.00 canoe paddle as a shovel but they were first timers and did'nt know better, but all the ones that have been coming for years have rebooked for next year. We had some twenty year olds in one of the cabins who left it in a mess and we charged them for the extra cleaning etc. But I can,t remember telling any of our regulars about it. We have put in two new kitchens replaced a patio type door and done a ton of maintenance this year and over the winter so the cottages are not run down or neglected. If it was a regular who wrote this why did'nt they say something or tell us they would not be returning instead of stabbing us in the back on tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

if you dont mind feeling unwanted or a burden then this is the place for you, owners have become very rude and unappreciated of paying customers, they spent most of there time complaing about other guests and what they did or did not do during there stay. customer service is not present at this resort. besides the new cottage #3 they build the rest are old rundown and expensive for the area, you can get better cottages across the lake with cleaner beaches and more to do for kids without having to always look over your shoulder to see if the owners are going to roar at you for doing nothing wrong.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkwaycottages, Owner at Parkway Cottage Resort & Trading Post, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Once again I am at a loss with this one, We have had no regulars in from Toronto recently, it would seem that this and the previouse complaint were written by the same person. Once again if there was a problem why not say while they were here or when they left.
When the four twenty year olds that left a cottage in a mess were charged for the cleaning etc they did threaten us, maybe this is their revenge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed in cottage 4 and appreciated having a bedroom with a double and single beds for 3 children, as well as a bedroom for parents. We had an extra teenager along who was very comfortable on the futon in the living room. The price was reasonable and all the amenities we expect in a cottage were available. The swimming is excellent, sandy beach very pleasant and we made good use of the canoes and kayaks. Part way through the week 2 beach umbrellas appeared which provided some much-needed shade. We would have chosen a cottage on the beach except we were 6 people and needed one more bed. Cottage 4 is probably the oldest of all the cottages and from speaking to the owners, I understand it will be replaced soon. We were happy enough as we had enough space and kitchen equipment (just). We would have been comfortable in cottage 3 as well, which is larger, but we wanted one more bed. Although it was hot during the day, it cooled down very comfortably at night and we were able to sleep. A fan was also provided. Ice cream is available at the store; the large tub is a very good value!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stumbled upon this cozy cottage by accident. Canada Day Weekend, we called all over the area for a last minute reservation. Found Parkway Cottages as a recommendation from a nearby motel. 100.00 a night bought us a clean one room cottage. It had a full size fridge. A microwave, sink, propane stove, and a bbq on the deck.. Sleeping area, had a queen size bed, A small table and chairs for eating,and alot of windows. There is no aircondtioning, and no tv, and no oven.. We didn't need air contioning, The day was in the 90's , it cooled down to a two blanket night. Very cool. The bathroom consists of a stand up shower, small sink , and toilet. Everything was very clean, and tidy.The owners request quiet , and quiet it was. A short walk down the only road leads to a beach, on Oxtongue Lake. They supply free canoes, kayaks, and pedal boats. A fire pit is for use by all visitors. A nice gathering place to meet other guests. I had the chance to peak inside a two bedroom cottage. It was very spacious, and slept 5 people comfortably.,at 150.00 night. The owners run a gas station, general store at the front of the property. This property is a good value for your money. It is also the closest property to the West gate of Algonquin Park.

Room Tip: The two bedroom cottages are right on the lake. They appear to be the best value. 150.00 a night. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

This group of lovely little cottages is located only a few miles from the West Gate entrance of Algonquin Provincial Park. We stayed here on a photo tour of the area just as the spectacular leaves were changing colours. There are 8 cottages in all, some situated on a small lake with a private sandy beach, others spread among the trees. The cottages all have different configurations ranging from studios with 1 double bed to 1 bedroom, 2 bedroom and 3 bedroom cottages. All of the cottages are kept immaculately clean and all have fully equipped kitchens, bathrooms, bed linens, kitchen towels, hand and dish soap, bathroom amenities, AM-FM radio, deck furniture, gas barbeque, electric heat and blankets. The 3 bedroom cottage has satellite TV and a DVD player, Gas Fireplace and a Gas Stove. Along the beach there are canoes, kayaks and paddle boats available for guest use. There is an automobile gas bar, a small gift shop and a small grocery store at the Trading Post located on site.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parkway Cottage Resort & Trading Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkway Cottage Resort & Trading Post

Address: 4412 Highway 60 | Dwight- muskoka, Oxtongue Lake, Ontario P0A 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Oxtongue Lake
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oxtongue Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parkway Resort borders Algonquin Provincial Park with 8 one, two & three bedroom lakeside housekeeping accommodations, along with it's own Trading Post & store. Parkway Cottage Resort is located 6 minutes fro Algonquin Parks west gate and 30 minutes from Huntsville Ontario. We are Situated on the beautiful Oxtongue Lake off of hwy 60 and set in a wooded 7 acres. The lake shore cottages offer a wonderful view and we are the closest housekeeping resort west of the Park. NOW WITH FREE WI-FI IN REC HALL. 2014 Rates Cottage 1 $104.00 Daily $655.00 Weekly Cottage 2 $104.00 Daily $655.00 Weekly Lodge 3 $200.00 Daily $1,260 weekly Cottage 4 $146.00 Daily $925.00 Weekly Cottage 5 $135.00 Daily $816.00 Weekly Cottage 6 $146.00 Daily $925.00 Weekly Cottage 7 $146.00 Daily $925.00 Weekly Cottage 8 $146.00 Daily $925.00 Weekly ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Parkway Cottage Resort & Trading Post Oxtongue Lake, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkway Cottage Resort & Trading Post, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.