We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Fantastic & pleasant place!!!!!"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Algonquin Lakeside Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Algonquin Lakeside Inn to your Saves list
Algonquin Lakeside Inn
4382 Hwy 60, RR1, Oxtongue Lake, Ontario P0A 1H0 , Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Oxtongue Lake
Surat, India
1 review
“"Fantastic & pleasant place!!!!!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I had a great experience on stay at Alogonquin. They have a very friendly staff always wanting to help their customers, this place has a great lake where you can spend awesome time with your friends or your loved ones. This is just the perfect place where one should go spend a quality time or for a small vacation. The atmosphere is just beautiful, you feel the atmost beauty of nature and the staff makes its more comfortable with the services provided. If you dont have a high budget and want to enjoy and have a splendid time. Awesome is the word for this place!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    87
    34
    26
    37
See reviews for
49
177
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I recieved this stay for christmas from my sister. So in May we decided that we would go. Every day I picked for reservations I was told they were booked. I booked it for a weekend that was not what we wanted but thats ok. The drive up there and home again was the best part. The Inn was NOT what we expected. When we got there, the man at the front office had no clue how to check us in. He had to call someone else from outside. We made it to our room. Lucky for us the toilet paper in the bathroom had been wet prior to us getting there and left to dry. They didn't feel the need to put a new roll in for us. The veiw was ALMOST nice accept for the construction on the bridge. Our offer from dealfind offered us $15 voucher for dinner which we never seen nor was it offered to us. We were told we had to make reservations for dinner. But we didn't bother because we were told through word of mouth that they don't call in the cook unless there are reservations. The room was musty smelling. Not a little either. I know that it is new owners BUT they need to take the time to make the place a little more inviting. They were cutting the grass there and didn't even take a moment to clean it off the outside furnature they have for each room. I had to wash the chairs off from the winter season. There was NEVEr anyone inside the office when you needed them. You had to page them on the phone and wait. Check out was just as disappointing. We left early, and were told to leave our key in a mailbox. There were no thank you for coming or hope you enjoy your stay. NOTHING! We planned on going to Algonquin Park on our way home Sunday but we had to use a day pass that was part of the deal and it had to be returned so we ended up going on Saturday instead. We did find 2 AMAZING places for dinner. The first was "The Cookhouse" on highyway 60. The other was "Bush Company Bar and Grill" just off of hwy 60 on hwy 35. We had our breckfast at the Algonquin Park, because we are ealry risers and the office / breckfast did not open till 9am.I can on and on but I think I have made my point. The picture on thier website shows and amazing quiet place. This is an old photo. There is an old Tripadvisor certificate at the front desk from a few years back. THAT belongs to the old owners. Its funny how you get treated like a nobody there, but when you credit card statement comes in they make sure they have taken thier fee for taxes and for us having to book in on a friday night. Maybe next time they can think about NEW TOILET PAPER with the $45 I got billed!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed there with the previous owners who were very nice and accommodating and were always updating the property.
Stayed there again a few weeks ago only to discover that there were new owners who did not really care about us as guests and treated us poorly also the rooms are very run down with bad beds, worn out flooring and lampshades that are falling apart & Canoes and kayaks were broken, bridge construction right across from the Inn, were told that it won`t be completed till next March !!.
The new owners seem to be taking the money out and putting nothing back.
The restaurant that is onsite use to be open for all to use be it guests or passing traffic but now it is open to guests only but you also have to make a reservation for dinner, if you don`t make a reservation don`t expect to eat, all meals are frozen and have to be reheated.
We will not be staying at the Algonquin Inn anymore, we have found a resort next door to the Inn (Parkway Cottages) where we can do all our own cooking and is secluded back from the Highway with a big beach.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

awesome place, the breakfast is good but could have better yogurt and juice. I was very well treated and the room is very cozy! I did kayak in the lake with my boyfriend and it was awesome experience!

Room Tip: all the rooms is nice. i got one in front of the lake. awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We went on a last minute get away and did not have any reservation, gladly this is one of our lists.
The room is very nice, clean,cozy with Jacuzzi (didn't get the chance to used), fireplace and balcony(lakeside view).They have restaurant on site, but reservation is required for Dinner time.. Breakfast is served everyday.

Owner is very nice and accommodating.

If anyone plan to stay for two night ,you can get 2 day pass to Algonquin Park @ $16( which is day pass price)

We plan to make reservation again for Fall 2013

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My wife and I went there last February and we both loved it! The jacuzzi was great! The beds were well-kept, the bathroom was in order. The fireplace kept as warm, and the food was close to perfection! We will keep coming back whenever we can :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We booked in over this past Easter long weekend... Suite 7S... Cozy, quaint, clean and quiet...

The entire place was booked, from what I could tell online, but the only time we heard or saw our neighbours, was when we were on our shared patio, overlooking Oxtongue Lake, basking in the warm spring sun! We exchanged stories of hikes and what we were doing that day...

Decor a tad outdated, but who cares! King bed was great, water HOT, jacuzzi and fireplace in perfect working order! No phone in room, which prompted me to turn off my Blackberry as well. Satellite TV swivelled so you could watch from the tub.

We didn't eat meals at the restaurant, as we had packed a cooler for ourselves... so I can't comment on that.

Purchased a 2 day park pass for half price from them.. which was a great little extra!

Very friendly and will accomodate your needs!

We will definitely be back, hopefully to take advantage of the canoes, kayaks and warm SUMMER sun!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Algonquin Lakeside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algonquin Lakeside Inn

Address: 4382 Hwy 60, RR1, Oxtongue Lake, Ontario P0A 1H0 , Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Oxtongue Lake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Oxtongue Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Algonquin Lakeside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin Lakeside Hotel Algonquin Park
Algonquin Lakeside Resort
Algonquin Lakeside Inn Oxtongue Lake, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Algonquin Lakeside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.