We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New owners - Bad service, Limited or no food” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Algonquin Lakeside Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Algonquin Lakeside Inn to your Saves list
Algonquin Lakeside Inn
4382 Hwy 60, RR1, Oxtongue Lake, Ontario P0A 1H0 , Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Oxtongue Lake
Toronto, Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“New owners - Bad service, Limited or no food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed at The Algonquin Inn resort (The Algonquin Lakeside Inn ) in the fall of 2011. I had stayed there many times before, and enjoyed the place thoroughly.
Unfortunately there are new owners now, and I will never stay there again. Terrible service, limited or no food, and the hours of the main lodge are are not conducive to any kind of after dinner socializing. They wanted to close down the lounge area and services early.
There were mice in my room and I left a few days early because of that. I do not believe the new owners know very much about customer service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    87
    34
    26
    37
See reviews for
49
177
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Guelph
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We found this place through a Groupon and did our due diligence and research before booking and thought it looked fine. It was just going to be "base-camp" for our daily excursions in Algonquin Park which it is minutes from the West Gate entrance. Upon arriving it was exactly as we figured and weren't disappointed in person. We were in an "upgraded suite" so we had a fridge, fireplace, nice view, etc. Bed was extremely comfortable, fireplace threw off a ton of head, room furnishings were dated but nice enough, room was clean with no evidence of dust/bugs/etc. Wi-fi was signal appeared weak, but we never used it so can't comment exactly. We had a screened in porch that would be great in the summer time considering our room looked right out on to the water. Did not eat on site nor deal with staff other than check-in/check-out, however different person each time and very pleasant. The nearby construction is just a visual distraction, we couldn't hear anything. The snowmobiles shooting along the ice were noisier than anything else.
Overall it was quite nice, we would consider returning in the summer to see the difference in seasons.

Room Tip: Suite 8 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed a couple of days in the Algonquin Lakeside Inn. We got a pretty good online deal and didnt expect much due to the rather bad ratings online.
Well we didnt regret our stay in the end.
The Inn is really very near to the entry of the park. Rooms are aged but clean. Only annoying thing was that there was no frigde in the room. Big parking slots and you can buy cheap day passes for the park at the reception.
We didnt really use the area of the Inn so we cant say much about it.
For sleeping there and beeing next to the park for hiking its absolutely ok if you get a good price.
If you expect a nice hotel with a great beach and so on u will probably be dissapointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I love the place! it was overlooking the lake and the view was breath-taking! The room was clean, decent, and warm. We didnt have time to scrutinize the place like how the others did because we were busy sight-seeing. The bed is warm when we came back and thats all that matters. Will surely come back again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We bought a discount package thru Wag Jag or something like that for a two-night stay in an upgraded room (whirlpool, fireplace, porch), so we were looking forward to an 'average' motel stay - clean and warm. The suite decor and furnishings were old as was the mattress and carpet - the entire room needed a good airing out. The staff were accommodating. I'd think twice about eating at the on site restaurant during slow season! Be aware of the bridge construction immediately beside the motel!!! (looks like it c/b finished by the Fall of 2013).
The satellite tv worked, the outlets are overloaded (tv, satellite, fridge, microwave etc), the hot tub was filthy - had to go into Huntsville for bleach to run through the system before we entered, the wifi signal was weak and sporadic).
Front desk isn't staffed 24 hours. For those time, mgmt provides a few phone numbers for the guest to call.
Even with the discount deal, it wasn't worth it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

great location..DIRTY place to stay..mold in the bathroom and the bed was dirty. 1/2 inch of dust on the firplace chairs etc....wow. this is not a 5* at all..I would only recommend this maybe for guys to stay if they are snowmobiling..Construction just ouside your window.. 6 days a week...NO bar..they do NOT have a lic to serve..whoever is writing the review at a 5 need to have their eyes checked..would not recommend:(

Room Tip: none to report..sorry
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orangegummy1
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We used a DealFind voucher for our two-night stay. We weren't looking for any fancy, romantic getaway - we were snowshoeing in Algonquin and just needed a clean and warm place to sleep. The bed was old and the carpet was musty. We didn't encounter any rudeness or major problem, but I really had no desire to linger in the room and looked forward to checking out. We didn't eat at the restaurant - with so few guests, we didn't think the kitchen would have been stocked with many fresh choices. So we searched online and drove around for places to have meals. It was quiet though, because I think we only saw two other cars in the lot through the weekend. I felt sad for the owner there were so many vacancies on a weekend; but on the other hand, I wouldn't came back here even if there was a new, better DealFind deal next time.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Algonquin Lakeside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algonquin Lakeside Inn

Address: 4382 Hwy 60, RR1, Oxtongue Lake, Ontario P0A 1H0 , Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Oxtongue Lake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Oxtongue Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Algonquin Lakeside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin Lakeside Hotel Algonquin Park
Algonquin Lakeside Resort
Algonquin Lakeside Inn Oxtongue Lake, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Algonquin Lakeside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.