We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth stopping for” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glencoe Mountain Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glencoe Village
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glencoe Mountain Resort
Save
You added Glencoe Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Kingshouse, Glencoe Village PH49 4HZ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Dundee, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Well worth stopping for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I travel up the west coast a couple of times a year and have done for quite a few years now. Passing Glencoe, it's usually about time for a rest and a friend suggested that we stop here. Excellent choice. Normally, I travel in summer when the cafe is usually very quiet and a relaxed place to enjoy a particularly fine bacon roll and cup of tea (with proper condiments like HP sauce and Heinz ketchup, not little packets of cheap crap) and one of the finest cafe views anywhere. Last visit was in the middle of winter and the place was packed with skiers. Anyone questioning the size of the car park should visit in the ski season, I struggled to find a place to park. Service was slow because someone in front of me was struggling with the concept of paying and was insisting on counting out all his small change and holding everyone else up. the staff were flustered, but still keeping up the pleasantries whilst dealing quickly and as efficiently as possible. Certainly holding up better than I would have.
I've never had a proper meal here but when I've seen people eating, the food looks good. the bacon rolls and cups of tea are as good as anywhere else and better than most, the place has a very cosy, slightly run down, bothy type atmosphere and the views from the big window are awesome. Slightly expensive, but not as over-priced as some, and I expect the prices reflect the location and seasonality. Still represents value for money if you factor in the ambiance.
I always stop here, hungry or not, just to chill and soak up the vibe (man), which probably says it all.

Room Tip: It's a bit off the road, so watch for it and stop for a cup of tea just for the break. If there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    4
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
4
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Some freinds and myself where cycling the west highland way for charity and needed some accommodation in Glencoe. I was pleased to find the hobbit houses at the Glencoe mountain village at a reasonable price with good facilities. After a days cycling we where met by freindly and helpfull staff, hot and clean showers and toilet area there was also cold beer and hot food on offer. The cabins where clean, comfortable and warm.
A great place to stay with great views as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

£60 for a hobbit with beds like a shelf, really unpleasant food (a veggie burger made of compressed peas and carrots - basic Bird's Eyes muck; an insult) and having walked to the shower then found out they cost a £1.
Other than the Kingshouse Hotel and wild camping there's nothing in this part of Glencoe so it's a captive audience.
Hopefully this place will improve very soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meldrum44, Owner at Glencoe Mountain Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thanks for the review but not sure that you are reviewing the correct place as our peak season price for a unit is £50 not £60 so it maybe that you have placed your review in the wrong place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stopped of while walking the West Highland Way and before catching the bus from the bottom of the road to Glencoe. Well worth stopping here to refuel and enjoy the amazing views from the cafe onto the mountains. We visited in the afternoon and it was fairly quiet, but started to get more busy. Definitely recommend the carrot cake!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We love Glencoe Mountain Resort and have visited for years in wintertime so any review we write is likely to be biased. I think therefor, a pros and cons list is the most informative way of passing our experiences to others:

The below is based on 2 weekends in the hobbit houses over the last 3 months and a visit for lunch/a beer post hillwalk.

Pros: Hobbit houses comfortable and clean. Electrical outlets, modern electric heater and comfortable matresses. Cafe open til a reasonable time (see website) and staff friendly and helpful. Menu limited but on the 3 occasions we visited this summer, there were different interesting options on the specials board. (I always think bizarrely) the level of competition for food quality in Glencoe is very very very low. With a bit more locally sourced produce (ie venison, some seafood, handcut chips) they could easily become the place to visit for dinner. 1.8 miles (Google maps) along West Highland Way (no need to walk on A82) to King's House Hotel which has a great back bar - we walked this at closing time in July with torches with no problems. Right on the West Highland Way. Numerous low level and Munro walks in close proximity including 2 Munros which can be climbed from your Hobbit Hut door. The view from the cafe must be the best indoor view south of Fort William - it never fails to mesmerise me. Plentiful parking ;-)

Cons: Cafe still feels like a Cafe. With a few photos of winter/summer sports, a better selection of wines, malts and some draught beers (bottled beer selection is improving), louder music and lower lighting, it might feel a bit more like a pub/grub venue in the evening. Showers cost £1 and aren't great - situated in containers at end of row of hobbit huts. Toilets in separate area in main building - clean but feel like public toilets rather than campsite ones. I gather the toilets are due refurbishment although - based on the space available - I can't see how they'll manage to have a toilet/shower combi which is clearly desirable. The landscaping isn't great but is functional particularly when it's tipping down with rain and - given that it is at 300m altitude - you can see how it might be difficult to grow plants here.

Room Tip: Ask for a Hobbit Hut as close as possible to the toilets. If the weather is poor, a middle of the ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I have mixed feelings about our stay. We stayed for three nights. Our group had 8 people - four kids stayed in a tent and four of us stayed in a hobbit hut.
The goods: The view is amazing! The food in the cafe is very good, and the price is reasonable. Try the haggis. It was our first taste of haggis, and it was really tasty. The showers were clean, and there was a drying room for our wet gear. The kids had fun climbing up the hill behind the cafe. The hobbit huts were fun to stay in. The pool table in the cafe kept the kids busy in the evening, and the cafe was a comfortable place to hang out and read a book after a day of hiking. It is about 20 minutes from Glencoe and surrounded by great places to hike.
The less goods: The hobbit hut and tent areas are right on the edge of the parking lot, so you are looking at the amazing view over a big black-topped area and everyone's vehicles. As someone else mentioned, these areas feel like an afterthought stuck on the side of the parking area. Some of the people working at the cafe were nice, but a few of them were unsmiling, unwelcoming, and unfriendly. The hobbit huts got really warm/stuffy at night, but we were afraid to open the door/window because of all of the midges (I don't know if screens could be put on the window, but that would help get some fresh air in there). For some reason, it bothered me to have to pay for a shower after spending money for the hobbit hut and the tent site - but maybe this is common practice in this area and not a fair complaint. It is about a 20 minute drive into Glencoe if you want to be closer to other activities/eating places.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meldrum44, Owner at Glencoe Mountain Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to give feedback on your visit. I'm delighted that you enjoyed the food in the cafe and the stunning views. I cannot disagree with the fact that the site is an unusual layout at the side of the large car park that is necessary during the ski season. Constraints of planning and other restrictions meant it was the only viable option for providing much needed accommodation in the area. The development is also very new so much of the landscaping carried out hasn't time to bed in and the grass and trees planted need time to mature. As for some of the staff being unfriendly I'm really disappointed to hear that and can only offer my apologies. We are widely known as the friendliest ski resort in Scotland so I am really disappointed if we didn't get it right during your visit. I will ensure all the staff read your review and we will provide additional customer service training to ensure you get the service you deserve if you choose to visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

The views are amazing and make this site worth the visit. The camping pods looked like good fun but the caravan/motor home facilities look like an afterthought and literally thrown down on the edge of the car park. The shower block is nice and clean and the cafe worth a visit for breakfast. At £15 a night you are paying for what you get. No chemical waste point that we could find but each hook-up had water. There were people camping over in the carpark in motor homes and were using the same facilities but don't know that they had paid anything for the privilege, no warden etc that we saw during the night stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meldrum44, Owner at Glencoe Mountain Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thanks for the feedback on your stay, glad you enjoyed the wonderful views. As you probably spotted our whole campsite is quite new and the landscaping work we did including planting of hundreds of trees between the camper van bays will take time to mature. The camper van bays are also just of the car park to ensure easy access in the winter when the area is often covered in deep snow. Our peak season for campers is the winter when we are skiing so the site was designed with this in mind. As for people pitching up and not paying unfortunately it is a problem that we encounter occasionally but generally we find people are very honest and will book in with us. I'm sorry if our cafe staff didn't make it clear where the waste disposal area was, we will need to look at marking that more clearly for future visitors. Thanks again for the feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glencoe Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glencoe Mountain Resort

Address: Kingshouse, Glencoe Village PH49 4HZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Glencoe Village
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Glencoe Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Glencoe Mountain Resort Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glencoe Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.