We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kirkconnel Hall Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kirkconnel Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kirkconnel Hall Hotel
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Ecclefechan Lockerbie | Near Gretna, Ecclefechan DG11 3JH, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Ecclefechan B&B and Inns
Didmarton
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Definitely a quirky hotel, but spotlessly clean and was made to feel most welcome. We ate a meal in the dining room in the evening and also had the continental breakfast in the morning the food was delicious.
We did find our room was a little chilly, but the duvet worked really well to keep us warm overnight. Would we use this hotel again?...... in a heartbeat!! It was lovely!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you very kindly for the kind review, we are disappointed to note that you were a little chilly through the night! We hope that won't deter you from staying with us again in the future, and if you do let us know and we will supply another blanket for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    18
    10
    5
    5
See reviews for
17
43
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

John and his wife were the perfect hosts in their lovely charming hotel. John's wife cooked our delicious dinner and breakfast. What an efficient lady as she prepared wonderful meals for our group of eighteen. One is treated as though you are a very special guest in their home.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are absolutely exquisite while others are clean but quite utilitarian.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
What a lovely review you have forwarded to us, that is much appreciated & we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay & the quality of our service. We hope you will vist us again in the not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Myself & my husband stayed here 3 nights through booking.com whilst we were house hunting in the area. The hotel is very quirky as john the owner is a collector of many beautiful & odd pieces! The room and public areas were spotlessy clean and even though a continental breakfast tea and toast were as much as you wanted nothing was too much trouble. John was an amazing host and even sorted out a solicitor for us, it was like being in his home rather than a hotel. The steak pie for dinner was outstanding!! We will definately reccomened this hotel and now we will be 'nearly' neighbours will be popping in for a cuppa with john!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review & the kettle is primed & ready for your return!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night on our way from Hampshire to Morayshire. What a lovely place, very welcoming and nothing too much trouble. We ate in the hotels restaurant and we were not disappointed, the food was freshly cooked and of an excellent standard. Would very much recommend the Kirkconnel Hall Hotel to anybody. It is a little eccentric but very interesting.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us & we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

After reading reviews on line I was expecting the worst but it wasn't as bad as I'd imagined. John was very welcoming and friendly.
The room could do with freshening up, there were some odd stains on the carpet and the wallpaper was lifting in the bathroom, nothing that wouldn't take much fixing.
I was a bit concerned that their 5 year old granddaughter was wandering around and joined us in the bar at nearly 9pm.
Overall, it wasn't a bad stay but I expected a bit more for the money. I'd paid £90 and would have liked a more substantial breakfast and a fresher decor for that price.
If you don't mind the eccentricities (such as the reception room, a Fox stole in the dining room) then you're in for a reasonable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Hello,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel & bringing 1 or 2 minor issues to our attention which you encountered during your stay with us, we sincerely hope that they did not detract from your visit to the Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, and will not deter you from returning again in the future.

Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mossley Lancashire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed on the way back from the Isle of Mull and couldn't have had a warmer welcome after 6 hours in car. Nothing is too much trouble for the owners - so accomodating. Rooms are light, clean and spacious but it is the ambience and relaxing atmosphere that really make this place special. Food is excellent, home cooked and great value for money and the bar is well stocked with pub rather than hotel prices!
Our dog had graet fun with both Louis and Felicity!!
We cant wait to come and visit again - well done John for creating a unique but refreshing product in this market of corporate bland hotel chains!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnSargeant, General Manager at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind & complimentary review, it does mean a great deal to us that our patrons enjoy their stay & our hospitality.
We hope you will visit us again in the near future.

John & Babs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We needed to arrange a last minute trip to Scotland and after searching found this hotel.
We booked one night on their own website.
However the following morning they cancelled our booking because the room was not available as it had been rented out by phone.
No help to find another room in the same area and not even a phone call to cancel just an email.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
As explained on the intitial email to you, a telephone call was attempted as is our policy & when this failed we immediately contacted you by email within 24 hours of your booking being processed and over 72 hours prior to your arrival.

A full refund was immediately processed and this was highlighted on the correspondence to you, both emails also stated to contact us if you required any further assistance and you chose not too.

As you can clearly see from our other reviews, we have had excellent feedback from all aspects of our customer service and on this occasion we apologised to you profusely for the error and I offer our apologies to you again.

I hope you enjoy your trip to Dumfries & Galloway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kirkconnel Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkconnel Hall Hotel

Address: Ecclefechan Lockerbie | Near Gretna, Ecclefechan DG11 3JH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Ecclefechan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ecclefechan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kirkconnel Hall Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Kirkconnel Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.