We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The VERY BEST place to break your journey” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ecclefechan Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ecclefechan Hotel to your Saves list
Ecclefechan Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ecclefechan Hotel
High Street, Ecclefechan DG11 3DF, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Ecclefechan B&B and Inns
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The VERY BEST place to break your journey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Bar far and away the very best place to stay after a long drive. The hotel is welcoming, the food is excellent and the rooms are all very well appointed and comfortable. Cannot recommend highly enough!

Room Tip: The hotel only has excellent rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    18
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
34
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
highland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed here for one night on a stopover as going down South and it was the best thing we did. Joe, Mary and their family are the most amazing hosts. It was a laugh a minute from the time we arrived until the time we left. One word of warning however, if you don't have a sense of humour then perhaps you should try one of the impersonal chain hotels. We had a lovely refurbished room with a beautiful stone wall feature, lovely bedding, tea, coffee, biscuits. The bathroom was beautifully fitted, all mod cons. The food is delicious (Mary, your roast pork was superb). You order breakfast the day before which is no problem and for the first time ever I ate the whole lot, quality of food was first class. Joe and Mary are doing up the hotel bit by bit and when fully finished will be quite beautiful. We enjoyed our one night stay so much we decided we would book in on our way back home but alas the hotel was fully booked. We would have no hesitation in staying here again but next time will bring enough "bridies" for everyone. Thank you so much for such a warm welcome and your impromptu entertainment, we had such a good start to our holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Had a one night stopover on my way further north, and would recommend it to anyone. Conveniently situated two minutes off the motorway in the centre of town, a lovely stone built hotel and pub, with very comfortable and modern rooms. A warm and friendly welcome is guaranteed from the owners, and nothing is too much trouble to ensure your stay is comfortable. The evening meal was excellent quality, and great value. You can't beat home cooking. The breakfast was outstanding, and set me up for the day. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband booked this as a last minute get away on saturday morning, we arrived to a very warm welcome from paul. we were allocated a double room on the top floor which was very cosy.
Evening meal was great value for money and service was excellent nothing was to much trouble for the staff.
Great breakfast served up in the morning with the host joe in great humour with all guests.
would highly recommend this family run hotel and we hope to return again very soon

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stromness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We enjoyed the meal we had here especially the gammon steak my wife had, the best of our trip she said. this is real praise as we had a lot of good meals on our trip. Excellent value for money as well, with friendly service and relaxed enjoyable atmosphere in the bar. Would happily eat here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Great stopover from scotland. Newly renovated rooms, other areas are work in progress but no problem. Good bar, very good food from the bar. The host, Joe is a character, got the guitar out late at night, brilliant. will definately stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Great stop over at the Ecclefechan Hotel, on our way up to Arisaig for the weekend.
Sadly we arrived after the kitchen had closed but we spoke others who had eaten and they said the food was good and great value. The very accommodating staff made us a couple of sandwiches which we ate in the bar washed down with a couple of drinks.
Great find

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ecclefechan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecclefechan Hotel

Address: High Street, Ecclefechan DG11 3DF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Ecclefechan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ecclefechan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Ecclefechan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ecclefechan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.