We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food on way to Edinburgh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ecclefechan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ecclefechan Hotel to your Saves list
Ecclefechan Hotel
High Street, Ecclefechan DG11 3DF, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Ecclefechan B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great food on way to Edinburgh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We called in here based on the fact that it was roughly half way to our destination, we were hungry and who could ignore the awesome name of the town..???
We weren't expecting how pretty Ecclefechan is to start off with - it is a really lovely place to visit and we may have to book in a stop in the future, to perhaps stay here - lovely feel to the town.
The hotel served a reasonably sized menu with decent prices and none of us could pass up on the Fechan burger - served with chips. The whole meal was really quite good and would rival any big town burger offering.
The staff were really pleasant and co-owner Steve had a nice chat with us which was a nice country touch.
Would defiinitely recommend stopping in here for some food as you pass by - it only is a minute off the highway.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    25
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
45
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is our fourth stay at this hotel and the quality & friendly hosts (Joe, Mary, Steve and Denise) made us feel welcome as always. The food is first class. The comfortable rooms were spotless.
We will be back at the end of May.
Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night only, and really enjoyed our stay. The hosts are incredibly warm and friendly and there is a real family vibe about the place. The charm of the hotel and hosts is what keeps people going back, I'm sure. We had an early start the following day so could only stay in the bar area for a couple of drinks, however after speaking to a guy at breakfast it would appear there was much fun had by all!!! We would recommend this hotel to anyone, and we will use the hotel again if we are ever needing a halfway house.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stopped in Ecclefechan to seek out the famous tart and stumbled across the Ecclefechan Hotel. We had a brilliant friendly welcome and the tart was excellent too! Highly recommended as a stopover on a long journey as not far from the motorway at all

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DARWEN
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Currently being refurbished. Rooms clean
And comfortable with basic amenities. Generous choice of food at breakfast.Staff friendly and helpful.Surrounding area of historical interest starting with Thomas Carlyles cottage situated in the village.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed here overnight on my way to Ayr . Good rooms good bar grub and good company with the locals . Excellent night out and a full breakfast too which is served with a smile and a joke from your friendly waiter.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

we have stayed here quite often over the last 5/6 years and decided to have our wedding reception there as joe and mary are two of the best hosts one could ever meet, the rooms are superb and comfortable, the food is magnificant and cooked fresh, such an easygoing and home away from home house.
night time is an experience never forgotten as joe being an entertainer and funny man i defy anybody not to laugh and have a brilliant time as he takes out the guitar,accordion whatever and even sings. the musical barman, the locals are such a friendly lot and make newcomers so welcome you would'nt want to leave, we know we did'nt.
if you are thinking of getting married in gretna green for a romantic and historical day then i reccomend this hotel as a venue as they will bend over backwards to make your special day even more special.
we are going back in may for a weekend, one of many we will be spending there this year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ecclefechan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecclefechan Hotel

Address: High Street, Ecclefechan DG11 3DF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Ecclefechan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ecclefechan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ecclefechan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ecclefechan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.