We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing welcome and friendly atmosphere.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ecclefechan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ecclefechan Hotel to your Saves list
Ecclefechan Hotel
High Street, Ecclefechan DG11 3DF, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Ecclefechan B&B and Inns
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An amazing welcome and friendly atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed one night in a very nice room which had been newly refurbished. the welcome we recieved was warm and friendly. A large number of the owners family were staying because of the village gala the next day. All of them were friendly and pleasant making us feel very much at home. The next day we wanted to stay to see the gala and once again we were encouraged to stay in the hotel as long as we liked even though they were busy.
it is clear that the refurbishment of the hotel is still in progress but the rooms and our food were fine. The gala was the smallest procession i had ever seen but that was not the responsibility of the hotel! overall we had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    25
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
45
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

A wonderful and so friendly hotel .Excellent room and food -we will be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley South Yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed here for one night on our way up to Stirling. Although the hotel is undergoing a major refurbishment do not let this put you off. The bedrooms are lovely and finished to a high standard the showers have a constant supply of hot water with fantastic pressure.
Mary cooks a lovely evening meal for a very reasonable price and breakfast is plentiful and tasty.
Even Joe's jokes are not too bad!!
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and if ever were passing through again would certainly concider a stop over.

Thank you
Debi, Ian & Tony

Room Tip: All rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed at the Ecclefechan Hotel as a one night stopover on a long distance bike ride from Land's End to John O'Groats. We stumbled upon it quite by chance as it is seemingly off the beaten track and in something of a geographical no man's land just beyond Gretna Green. However, finding it was truly serendipitous as we received an incredibly warm welcome and superb value for money. Jo, the owner, was delightful and accommodating of cycling needs, giving us a shed to lock up our bikes in and offering to swap our breakfast costs for a free dinner, as we were leaving too early in the morning to get the fry up that is usually available. The other staff were also incredibly personable, helpful and genuine - taking a real interest in guests and regulars in the bar alike. The family who own the hotel are in the process of refurbishing it, so there is evidence of building going on as mentioned in the other reviews, but the rooms are still clean, comfortable and we felt that the building materials were simply a sign of how much the family are investing in the hotel, rather than a cause for concern.

Overall - the town of Ecclefechan is small but a brilliant stopover (cycling tip the A76 just beyond it is suprisingly quiet and very fast for getting to Kilmarnock) and we feel that it is the unsung hero town of the border region. 'Fechan brilliant! (sorry, too tempting).

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms that has recently been refurbished if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Although the room we stayed in here was okay, and had been pretty well refurbished, with a decent bathroom, the overall experience was not one I will be keen to repeat.
The first impression of the exterior of this hotel from the front is very poor, and the car park and rear entrance are really grotty, with an old wrecked car the main feature.
Also there seemed to be no use made of the reception, and we were not asked to sign in, neither were we given a hotel receipt.
The breakfast, however, was of an excellent quality, with lovely bacon, and very well cooked.
Our problem was with the public areas, which were so run-down that we would not have felt comfortable using the bar, or eating in the evening in the dining room.
The view from our room was so awful that it is almost a joke. It featured the hotel's septic tank and a pile of disused urinals.
In summary, if you are just getting your head down for the night, then this place is just about okay, but we will be looking for somewhere else for our next trip to Scotland.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

Made very welcome by Joe,Mary and Steve who I knew as I stayed in the village for a year while working in the area a few years ago. Refurbishment of the hotel is ongoing and the rooms have been done to a very high standard as is the bar where refurbishment is ongoing and when finished will add to the character of the building. There is always a wood fire burning in the bar where Joe will keep you entertained during your stay. I recommend Marys full breakfast which will set you up for the day and meals are available during the day. I recommend the "Fechan" hotel as a base to stay as it is situated ideally for exploring the Dumfries and Galloway area which is very picturesque with interesting places to visit and is also right off the M74 which will get you to Glasgow or Edinburgh within just over an hour or so.

Room Tip: Best rooms to the front with a view of village
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

We only stayed the one night while passing through on a road trip, as the hotel has an excellent location close to the M6.
Joe, Mary and their family are such warm welcoming people that we felt like we'd known them for years and wished we could have stayed longer. The room was immaculate and we had a very peaceful nights sleep. Joe's friendly nature made us feel very at home and Mary's cooking was wonderful.
We'll definitely be going back at some point and taking friends. We've been recommending the Ecclefechan to everyone!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ecclefechan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecclefechan Hotel

Address: High Street, Ecclefechan DG11 3DF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Ecclefechan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ecclefechan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ecclefechan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ecclefechan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.