We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb imaginative use of open cast earthworks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Northumberlandia

Northumberlandia
Cramlington, England
44 (0)1925 852005
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Superb imaginative use of open cast earthworks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This attraction lived up to to it's press reports, with easy walks around the giant figure of Northumberlandia and interesting views of the open cast site and the Cheviot Hills in the background! The car park is free and entrance fee at the visitors discretion.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    85
    35
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Not sign posted at all so difficult to find and when you do get there not really worth the effort. We were excited to think there was a big new visitor attraction in the area but even on a hot summers day it was pretty boring as an adult and we say a lot of bored looking kids being dragged around. Most annoyingly is the lack of picnic space/area to enjoy the landscape. There are lots of signs asking you to stay off the grass, but not many places to rest, only the odd small bench (especially if you are older). Overall a big disappointment

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberlandia, Owner at Northumberlandia, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Hello Katie,

Sorry you didn't enjoy Northumberlandia. You may not be aware that the park opened ahead of schedule as people were keen to make the most of attraction as soon as possible. This meant that certain things were not in place.

The attraction is also free and run by a charity, the Land Trust, and in order to keep it free and ensure the park can be managed for future generations we'll only add amenities when they can be funded sustainably.

The good news is that through a mixture of grant funding and donations Brown Tourism Signs are now being fitted and work will soon start on a visitor centre/cafe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anlaby, Hull
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful landscaping of a former open cast coal site!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We visited on our way to Melrose in the Scottish Borders. Fortunately, my husband knew the location having visited the site in it's former days, as the signposting is almost non existant. It was worth the trip. Although the site is advertised as being a free attraction, be prepared to 'donate' to the collectors at entrance - would be far better charging a small fee per person towards the upkeep of the site. Loads of open space for the kids to run around - though also lots of open water so little people need a close watch. Worth a visit and would love to see it from the air.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Once found it is beautiful and something for Cramlington to be proud of.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

If you have any trouble find it it, check for the Snowy Owl pub at NE23 8AU on your sat nav. Once there, there is a small car park further a long and plenty of pace to park.

Anyway... as someone born and raised in Cramlington, it took me a few months to finally drive up and see it and I was blown away.

Although as others have said... no sign posts? They haven't made a great effort in telling even the locals where it is, except on the news and the website. Otherwise you may not realise it was there.

Once found...

The forest walk into Northumberlandia is beautiful as you move through a small forest path and you walk out into this massive, open field. Welcomed by long grass, a white stone and a view through two massive hills. Beyond which is Northumberlandia and her entire body spread out across the field with two lakes around her.

What you then have are winding white paths, which move around the entire attraction, and then up and over her body. Some taking you quite high up onto her face, her chest, her knees and her hands.

It can be quite a hike and some paths are actually quite easy to fall on (I unfortunately saw a lady fall over walking back down from the head) so take walking boots.

What did surprise me though, were the signs suggesting not to walk on the grass. I appreciate this is technically art and should be prevented from any damage but this is art which should be enjoyed by rolling on the grass and having picnics around it.

Aside from that one little niggle, I think this is absolutely breath taking to see.

Its also interesting that you get a clear view of the open-cast-mine right next door and its quite beautiful and nice to see the contrast and to see where she came from.

Also, the nearest food appears to be either the Snowy Owl pub or the Garden Center further away (which they advertise on a sign). I would recommend the pub as its literally a walk away.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“unusual experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This monumental piece of artwork is a bit mind blowing. It is worth buying a king sized postcard of the site at the entrance before you start wandering. The card has an aerial photo of the "Lady of the North" and explains what and where you are. You get the picture eventually, but it is some trec. Glad i experienced it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Northumberlandia also viewed

 
Northumberland, England
 

Been to Northumberlandia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northumberlandia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.